Felt Play Food

Back when I was on bed rest I posted that I’d be spending some of my time sewing felt play food for Eli. Here is what I managed to accomplish in that time. Since being released I haven’t made any more but I hope to as time goes on as this is a lot of fun, for both of us. There is already a wealth of tutorials already available on the web so this is just more of a “show and tell” post. Scroll down to the bottom for links to tutorials if you also want to get started making felt food but need additional guidance or inspiration.bow tie pasta 2

First up is the whole grain bow tie pasta. Super simple to make! The pans and utensils were found uber cheap at Ikea. I think the cooking utensils (maybe 6 or so?) were $5, and the pots and pans set, including pot, strainer, lid, frying pan and sauce pan (perhaps something more but we aren’t living at home now so I can’t check) was $10.bow tie past 1

Fresh tomatoes. felt tomatos

Sliced tomatoes.Sliced tomatos

A hamburger to put the tomatoes on. Have you ever seen this Pink Panther scene where Steve Martin plays a Frenchman trying to learn to pronounce the word “hamburger” like an American? Eli cracks me up because he has a unique way of pronouncing “hamburger” as well and always reminds me of this scene. He asks for hamburgers often, but what he really wants is a hamburger bun slathered in ketchup, and perhaps a little mustard. He does use the felt version of the hamburger patty on the bun though.

felt hamburger patty

Would you like one egg…felt fried egg

or two?two felt fried eggs

That’s all I got thus far. I’ll share more if/when it gets made.  🙂

Tutorial Links:

Felt Lettuce Leaves

Felt Corn on the Cob

Huge List of Tutorial Links (Apartment Therapy)

 
Here’s where I’m linking up:

Sunday:

I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo Toesjembellish clothes upcycling page,

Blissful and Domestic,

Monday:

Skip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can DoKeeping It Simple An Original Belle,

I Should be Mopping the FloorThe Dedicated House ,

A Round Tuit,  C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Sarahndipities The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

Not Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot GiraffeKammy’s Korner,

Home Stories A to Z,  Crafty Confessions, Homemade Tuesday,  Today’s Assignment,

Antiprocrastination TuesdayTake-a-Look Tuesday,  Nifty Thrifty Tuesday,

The Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and SchwinHeart and Soul Blog Hop

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally Sustainable,  Lil’ LunaSomeday CraftsWhimsy

WednesdayWhatcha Work Up Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projects

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Naptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding FabulousDiana Rambles,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Artsy Mama,

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My HandsHello Weekend,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

12 Comments

  1. Linne said,

    January 15, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    Love those toys! I needed the reminder, too: I offered to make some for the grandkids, then got busy and never did it. Guess I’d better get going!
    Glad you are off the bedrest; hope all is well with you now. Thinking of you. ~ Linne

  2. January 16, 2013 at 6:43 am

    These great! They almost look real. LOL
    Have a great week.

  3. Maysem said,

    January 16, 2013 at 8:10 am

    Those are adorable! I love felt food and could never tire of them!! I’m sure Eli enjoys playing with them… what kid wouldn’t.. big or small! I know I would. 😀

  4. bbeingcool said,

    January 16, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    Oh these are so cute! I LOVE the eggs! You are so clever!

  5. Lynn Graham said,

    January 17, 2013 at 8:50 am

    So cute! You are so talented!

    Hopping by. I blog @ Getting Healthy with Essential Oils

  6. January 17, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    These are adorable!! I love it! I am hosting a new Pinterest Power Party and would love to have you share this if you get a chance!!

    http://www.thetaylor-house.com/2013/01/17/pinterest-power-party-2.html

    Chrissy

  7. January 18, 2013 at 5:03 am

    Brilliant!

  8. Roxana White said,

    January 18, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    Fabulous job! It looks so real. Pinning because I know i have friends that will love this!

  9. Inder said,

    January 23, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    I love those tomato slices so much!! And the burger! Ooh, Joe would love that. I want to make more felt food!

  10. January 23, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    Adorable!! Way better than the cheaply made plastic food we have around here.

  11. Katherine said,

    February 5, 2013 at 8:41 am

    What a great use of bed rest time! Fabulous job. 🙂

  12. 312east5th said,

    February 7, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    seriously the pasta is the best idea ever! way to go mama.


Leave a comment