Pregnancy Update

The little one continues to grow steadily and is VERY active. Today we are at 27 weeks. I began bleeding a little bit on Friday though and the doctor directed me to go to the hospital. There monitoring showed that thankfully there are no contractions. I stayed overnight for continued monitoring as a precaution. I am now home again, but on bedrest. Previously I had been on restricted activity, such as no heavy lifting, because of a marginal placenta previa. I had hoped it had moved by this point, but since I began bleeding that would seem not to be the case. I am now allowed to get up to use the bathroom, but shouldn’t even sit at the table to eat.

Being monitored for contractions.

Being monitored for contractions.

I was on bedrest for a month with Eli’s pregnancy as well until the partial placenta previa migrated to a safer location. It was much earlier in the pregnancy though. I’m finding it much more difficult this time around in that I now have a toddler to take care of, and it is happening right in the thick of all of the Christmas preparations. I had so many projects on my sewing list between gifts I wanted to make and clothes the Eli needs now and the baby will be needing soon enough.

Yesterday I was up more than I should have been. Today, I’ve been doing a bit better, and tomorrow I’m sure I’ll do better still. It is hard to stop your life on a dime, when you weren’t expecting to need to do so just yet. When I have been up it has been to get some things organized so that I can have work to do with my hands as I rest, and to put things Eli needs where he can have more independant access to them, such as the pack of diapers down on the floor instead of up on the shelf. He has been great at fetching things for me that I need and being as helpful as a little boy can be. My husband has taken on the lion’s share of all there is to be done as well as his regular work. I am so glad he works from home these days. My sisters-in-law have also been wonderful: Jacki has been taking Eli back and forth to school, running out to the craft store and produce market for me, and coming to take Eli out to play; and Susan, who is an incredible cook, has sent over yummy food that we have just to heat up. At a time when I am tempted into a funk over this unwelcome development, I find I don’t have to look too far to see how truly blessed I am. Of course the most important blessing of all is that right now this baby inside me is still doing just fine.

Eli slept the entire time I was being admitted and checked out.

Eli slept the entire time I was being admitted and checked out.

I’m not sure how much blogging I’ll be getting done over the the duration of Operation Bedbound. On one hand I have more time now, and now that I’m slowly figuring out my husband’s old laptop it looks like I will still have computer access. On the other, I have to see how streamlined I can make the process of photgraphing and downloading pictures, etc. Not that my photography tends to be spectacular anyway, but for now I may have to be content with flash photography with the bedspread as a background. Then there is the issue of all of the projects I had slated to accomplish and share here being mainly things that require the use of the sewing machine. That, of course, remains a big no-no.

My plan thus far is to do something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time but haven’t had the right circumstances… learn to knit and crochet! Using YouTube I’ve already learned to cast on and begin knitting. I’m about 1/3 of the way through my first washcloth! Not exactly blog-worthy eye candy, but I’m very happy about it. I hope to quickly learn other stitches and how to read patterns. Then it’ll be off to the land of all cuteness, knitted baby clothes! I’m also planning to try my hand at crocheting this baby hat. Jacki gave me this lovely crochet hook that is the perfect size for the project this morning.

My first knitting project and new crochet hook.

My first knitting project and new crochet hook.

My other focus will be sewing felt food for Eli. He will be getting a play kitchen for Christmas and will need some food to prepare in it. I think it will be a lot of fun to wade through the many felt food tutorials I’ve pinned and sew away. Maybe I’ll be able to work out and share a few tutorials of my own.

My apologies to the many people who have commented on other posts here at Folk Havenover the past few days for not responding. I read them all, and appreciated them. Now that I can use this laptop I hope to keep on top of these things a bit better again.

22 Comments

  1. December 3, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Just relax!!!!! I’m exhausted from just reading this. I think the key word in bedrest is Rest! 🙂

    • December 5, 2012 at 2:34 pm

      The rest is great for the first few hours… then the boredom, restlessness and feelings of guilt at being inactive while your husband tries to do everything sets in. If I can keep my hand busy, it helps to keep my body still and the feelings of going stark raving mad from boredom at bay. Now that I have things within reach I’m doing much better at this bedrest thing. 🙂

      • December 6, 2012 at 10:58 pm

        I can see that…I’d probably feel the same way. Except for maybe the guilt part 🙂

      • December 6, 2012 at 10:59 pm

        I mean you are growing another human being, after all. I wouldn’t consider that not doing anything…That’s a full time job right there, in my book.

      • December 7, 2012 at 1:25 am

        🙂

  2. December 3, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    xxoo

  3. ReStitch Me said,

    December 4, 2012 at 6:14 am

    Thanks for the update Karen! Please continue to take care! 🙂

  4. December 4, 2012 at 7:55 am

    Love and prayers coming your way! 🙂

  5. faerylandmom said,

    December 4, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    It’s good to know that you and Baby are both doing okay. My prayers that your bedrest time is full and lovely, and that you are able to get the rest you need.

  6. LubbyGirl said,

    December 4, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    The main thing right now is to take care of yourself! And what a cool thing, learning to knit and crochet – something I’d love to learn also. I have a feeling you’ll turn out a great little baby hat.

  7. thegrantlife said,

    December 4, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    I wish you the best Karen! Ill be thinking of you and your family. 🙂

  8. December 6, 2012 at 5:27 am

    You better take care of yourself!! Thank goodness for knitting and other sit down crafts!

  9. Maysem said,

    December 6, 2012 at 7:30 am

    Rest well Karen.. that’s all that matters! I’m so impressed with you teaching yourself how to knit while on bed rest… but of course you would! Take care of yourself and that little one that is soon to come. You’ll be in my prayers. 🙂

  10. Linne said,

    December 7, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    You are in my prayers, as well. Hope things go well from here on in.
    ~ Linne

  11. Inder said,

    December 8, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    I’ve been thinking about you! Bedrest must be so tedious, but the important thing is keeping that little baby happy and healthy and keeping you healthy if not super-thrilled. Hang in there! Can I recommend hand work – some felt christmas ornaments perhaps? 🙂 xxoo Inder

    • December 9, 2012 at 3:39 am

      Thanks for thinking of me. Yea, it is tedious, but I keep telling myself that I won’t really remember all of this so much once the baby is here! I loved your felt ornaments, and they are fun! I’ve made those in years past for my nieces and nephew. Today I made felt tomato slices, and tomorrow I’ll try to get done the hamburger patty and bun. I’ve also done fried eggs and bow tie pasta so far. Eli will be doing a lot of “cooking” soon. 🙂

  12. December 9, 2012 at 12:01 am

    You could make a whole bunch of something really cute and sell them on Etsy or ebay….

    • December 9, 2012 at 3:35 am

      Yea, if this continues beyond Christmas I might do something like that. Right now I’m sewing up the felt food as fast as I can to give to my son with the play kitchen he’ll be getting. Also getting a hang of knitting/crocheting to make baby clothes, but I don’t know if I’m going to be able to learn well enough via YouTube to really make a go of that as sometimes I kinda need a more personal, hands on demonstration to really get it. We’ll see.

  13. December 18, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    Wow – as if Christmas isn’t enough to worry with already!! You poor thing. I hope you’re up and completely free soon!

    • December 18, 2012 at 2:18 pm

      Thanks, Rachel! Actually, I got released from bed rest last week and I need to post a new update, but I’ve been so busy trying to get all of our last minute Christmas preparations done I just haven’t been able to do it yet!

  14. January 15, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    […] when I was on bed rest I posted that I’d be spending some of my time sewing felt play food for Eli. Here is what I […]


Leave a Reply

