Beaded Christmas Tree Ornaments Tutorial

These Christmas tree ornaments are quick to make and require just  a few materials. It is a project that could be easily done by older children as well.

You will need:

glass beads (one brand calls them “glass E beads” and another “seed beads 6/0”, I just bought the larger of the two sizes offered at Michael’s)

needle nose pliers

wire (20 gauge)

Step 1:

Cut off a length of wire that will be a bit longer than you need to make the coil of your finished Christmas tree plus a few twists at the beginning and the end.

Step 2:

Using the needle nose pliers make a little curlicue that will be both the decoration at the top of the tree and the hanger attachment.

Step 3:

Begin stringing the beads along the wire. You could do it in a repeating pattern of colors or randomly as I did.

Step 4:

You are now ready to begin coiling your tree shape when you have about 2/3 of the wire filled.

Just begin to twist it with your fingers in gradually larger circles. You don’t need to fiddle with it a lot at this point; just determine how much larger you are going to want to make your tree. You will adjust the coils to be more aesthetically pleasing at the end.

Step 5:

Once you’ve reached your ornaments desired size cut off the extra wire, leaving just a bit to bend into a curlicue to hold the beads on the wire.

Step 6:

Now begin adjusting your coils. Are you aiming for the perfect shape or a touch of whimsy?

Step 7:

Repeat the process to make as many trees in as many color combinations as you would like.

Step 8:

Add the style hanger of your choice. I chose to use candle wick yarn for a simple hanger as I felt my usual beaded hanger would detract from the tree ornament itself.

Step 9:

Hang up your ornaments! You may find that any photo sessions you may wish to have with your new ornaments are more easily had without inquisitive 2 year olds in the room.

Sticks are always fascinating of course.

“Boingy, boingy!”

It might get a bit misshapen but the ornament does hold up fairly well to toddler abuse.

I was featured!!

Domesblissity

Here’s where I’m linking up:

Christmas Craft Linky Party, Tea Rose Home,

Sunday:

I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

jembellish clothes upcycling pageBlissful and Domestic,

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little Birds,  C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Sarahndipities The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

Not Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerHome Stories A to Z,  Crafty Confessions,

Homemade Tuesday, Today’s Assignment,

Antiprocrastination TuesdayTake-a-Look Tuesday,  Nifty Thrifty Tuesday,

The Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and SchwinHeart and Soul Blog Hop

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally Sustainable,  Lil’ LunaSomeday CraftsWhimsy

WednesdayWhatcha Work Up Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projects

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Naptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Artsy Mama

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

39 Comments

  1. November 18, 2012 at 6:14 pm

    These are so cute!

  2. Linne said,

    November 18, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    I love these. When my sons were still at home, everything on our tree was handmade except for the icicles. I’m glad to see others doing the same. If you don’t have a craft store nearby, in Canada the Dollarama (dollar store) usually has beads.

    • November 19, 2012 at 7:28 am

      I never thought of checking for beads at the dollar stores, but even though here there are plenty of craft stores it would be a lot cheaper. I’ll look next time we go.

      • Linne said,

        November 26, 2012 at 6:54 pm

        Sometimes you can be lucky at a thrift store or garage sale, but you just have to keep your eyes open. Mum found a whole loom at a second-hand store once, a big one for $100! I have often found knitting needles, yarn and other fibreworking materials. It’s good to let friends who garage sale shop regularly know what you are looking for; I have one friend here whose daughter makes a good living buying at garage sales and auctions, then re-selling on Kijiji; she doesn’t craft herself, so anything craft-related goes to her Mum for nothing. Her mum shares with me (-; You wouldn’t believe the fabric finds!! My friend makes dolls of all sorts, so odd bits of fabric suit her perfectly.

        I forgot to mention, too; I’m pretty sure that ‘E’ beads and seed beads are different sizes, but not by much, as I recall. Happy hunting, Karen!

  3. HGK said,

    November 19, 2012 at 3:09 am

    Cute! I guess you could also make them together with older kids, letting them string the beads… we just might be making these soon. Thanks!

    Liefs, Audrey
    http://hetkabinet.blogspot.com

    • November 20, 2012 at 8:48 am

      Enjoy it! And thank you for your visit… 🙂

    • Linne said,

      November 26, 2012 at 6:55 pm

      you could use a heavier wire and larger beads (maybe smallish wooden beads) for younger kids; then do the bending yourself.

  4. Gretchen said,

    November 19, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Cute! I need projects older kids can do; I’m pinning this so I don’t forget.

  5. Erin said,

    November 19, 2012 at 8:47 am

    These are so fun!

  6. Lisa said,

    November 19, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Love this idea… and we have all the stuff! Pinning it! New follower!

  7. November 19, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Fun! I think I have to raid whatever old bead stash I still have at my parents house to make this with my three year old!
    I just love homemade ornaments, as a kid our tree was full of crafty things me and my sister made, and store-bought decorations just don’t have the same memories in them 🙂

    • November 19, 2012 at 10:04 pm

      That’s totally what inspires me to make ornaments (other than the fact that it is just a lot of fun!). Having memories tied to the experience of making them, or the materials used, or making something really unique to commemorate something from the past year… It all becomes so much more meaningful to me. 🙂

  8. ReStitch Me said,

    November 19, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    These are so fun! They would make great gift tie-on’s for an extra special gift presentation. 🙂

  9. Maysem said,

    November 19, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    I’m so loving all of your ornament ideas Karen!!

  10. rosyragpatch said,

    November 20, 2012 at 10:39 am

    These are lovely – such a good idea.

  11. November 21, 2012 at 7:35 am

    Love this idea so much!

  12. Yoni Sim said,

    November 22, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    another “to do” for Christmas crafts, thanks for sharing 🙂

  13. Kelli said,

    November 24, 2012 at 12:44 am

    These are just beautiful! I shared them on my Some Kind of Wonderful party! Thanks for sharing with us!

  14. thegunnysack said,

    November 24, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Great idea! Thanks for sharing!

  15. Trish @ Mom On Timeout said,

    November 27, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    These are so totally awesome – love them! Pinned! Thanks so much for sharing at Mom On Timeout!

  16. November 28, 2012 at 1:28 am

    Hi Karen! These are so cute. I’m thinking I might try some of these with pipe cleaners and larger beads. What a great idea! I’m featuring this at Thriving on Thursday this week. So much for linking up!

    Anne xx

  17. Tara Yelman said,

    November 29, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    In started out looking at you latest post about garland and wound up on this crafty idea! thanks for sharing!

  18. November 30, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    Ali would LOVE to make these! We’ll have to try it.

  19. December 12, 2012 at 5:05 am

    […] Beaded Christmas Tree Ornaments Tutorial (folkhaven.wordpress.com) […]

  20. noriecreates said,

    January 2, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    My kids will love this next year! Great idea!


Leave a comment