Candle Wick Yarn

I just uncovered a bag of Candle Wick Yarn I bought while thrift shopping over Christmas week. I’d squirreled it away in a corner of my sewing area and promptly forgotten about it. I was thrilled to discover it anew a couple of days ago. The price tag reads $2.99 but it may have been a half-price buy. I don’t remember now.

I plan to use it for embroidering. In fact I just used some of the chocolate brown to make this elephant patch for Eli’s backpack.

But there is a lot of yarn here. Perhaps one day I will attempt some candlemaking? Maysem of Ode to Inspiration recently wrote a post about some candles she made that made it sound like a lot of fun. The yarn comes as three strands that I understand are then braided together in different ways depending on how one wants the candle to burn. I always thought it would be fun to make dipped candles. I can imagine doing that with Eli when he is quite a bit older and we are homeschooling, maybe during a unit on the pioneer days.

How would you use a bag of candle wick yarn?

Thanks for reading!

Karen

Here’s where Im linking up.

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeDittle Dattle,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet homeCraft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities Just Winging ItEverything Under the Moon,

The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately ArtisticWhatever WednesdayTrendy Tots

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love Creations,

Between U & Me,  Anything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805

18 Comments

  1. Maysem said,

    March 4, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Wow Karen! I feel so special:D Thanks for the shout out! I’m not familiar with candle wick yarn. Is it the same texture as a regular wick or is it actually more like embroidery thread? In the picture it appears like it would have the feel of embroidery thread. I love how you used it for embroidery..LOVE the elephant patch! I would probably do the same…use it as for embroidery but also experiment with it for candles. How many different ways can a candle burn? Now that’s new to me too! So I would experiment with that…braid them all the different ways just to see the difference:P That would be fun to do with Eli!

    • March 5, 2012 at 7:48 am

      It definitely feels like embroidery thread, but each strand is a little thicker than one strand of the “real” stuff.

      As for how many ways a candle burns… from what I read people braid it different ways so that the wick will curl down as it burns, or they want there to be more capillary action pulling more molten wax up to the flame affecting the speed of the burn and the brightness. SOme people braid it with a flammable metal such as lead so that the end of the wick disappears as it burns. This produces toxic vapors though so I wouldn’t recommend it. I’m sure there is a more to it, but I just did a cursory preliminary read.

    • March 5, 2012 at 7:51 am

      I’ve been meaning to ask you, how do you change the little picture that appears when you leave a comment? I’ve got the default quilt square looking thing and I’d like to customize it but have no idea how. You are also on WordPress, maybe you remember how you did it?

      • Maysem said,

        March 5, 2012 at 6:49 pm

        Just go to “Users” and from there “My Profile”. Once on that page, you will see a box on the upper right hand side. That’s where you will be able to upload an image. It will direct you to the Gravatar website where you upload your images. If you don’t have your account set up for Gravatar already, it will direct you on how to do it. If you want to change the default avatar for your commenters (for those that don’t have one already), go to “Settings” and then “Discussion”. If you have questions, just let me know:D

      • March 5, 2012 at 8:34 pm

        Thanks so much! I appreciate you taking the time to explain it to me. 🙂

  2. Ann said,

    March 5, 2012 at 7:36 am

    What a lucky find! Definitely shows that it pays to shop your stash…

  3. Charlene said,

    March 5, 2012 at 8:16 am

    I have several gifted (given to me — not IQ wise lol) framed wall hangings made with candlewick thread on heavy muslin — dating maybe to the nineties or earlier. They worked the pattern with French knots. Apparently candlewicking thread makes a smooth and thicker knot than regular embroidery thread.

    • March 5, 2012 at 9:01 am

      Good to know. 🙂 I really look forward to using it, and maybe it is the excuse I need to get a little more serious about learning embroidery techniques instead of my current approach of just drawing with thread. Thanks for your comment.

  4. Rebecca F Hopkins said,

    March 7, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Charlene is right. Candlewick yarn is used for making designs on muslin (or any other plain fabric) using french knots. In early American times, ladies used what was available, candle wick cord simply in the natural color. Candlewicking did gain a big, though brief popularity in the mid 1980’s to early 90’s and the yarn was available in many colors–most especially good ole country blue and rose.

    • March 7, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Thanks for filling in some more background! It’s amazing what beautiful things people can make when they are making do with the materials at hand… especially in the early American period. Some of the old quilts out there made with nothing but scraps are nothing short of wonderful.

  5. March 7, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    It is like Christmas in near-spring! Great use of the thread and I liked your idea of candle making to teach about Pioneer Days…fun! Thanks for sharing at the Rock ‘N Share!

  6. March 8, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    Wow you really scored on that bag of Candlewick yarn, and what a price. Wow loved hearing about the history of it, didn’t know. I would use it for any type of needlework. I love needlework but haven’t done any in a while. Very lucky find. Thanks for sharing your creative inspiration at Sunday’s Best.

  7. Janet P said,

    March 8, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I have used candlewicking yarn often, but not in anything that I have to wash, or will need to later on down the road. That is, the colored ones. They bleed terribly and I haven’t found a way to keep that from happening, even pre-washing them before use. They still bleed. So, definitely use them in anything that won’t need to be washed. Congratulations on the score though as they have the prettiest, brightest colors.

    • March 9, 2012 at 7:52 am

      Thank you so much for the heads-up! I’d much rather know now than after the first wash of something I put a lot of time and effort into.

  8. Natasha said,

    March 9, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Thanks for linking up to Serenity Saturday.
    Can’t wait to see what you link up tomorrow

    Natasha xxx

    http://www.serenityyou.blogspot.com

  9. June 25, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    […] I also have another branch cut and scored for a second fishing pole. I just need to braid the candle wick yarn string and drill a hole in another […]

  10. November 18, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    […] the style hanger of your choice. I chose to use candle wick yarn for a simple hanger as I felt my usual beaded hanger would detract from the tree ornament […]


Leave a comment