“mi elefante” mochila- Toddler Backpack

This week I made a toddler-sized backpack for Eli. It was a super fun project for me and I already have an idea for a second one I want to make. I’m kicking myself for somehow losing track of the tutorial I used to make this. I thought I had pinned it, but when I went back to find it to add the link to this post it wasn’t there. A very similar tutorial can be found here however.

I used a well loved pair of linen pants whose seam had split irrepairably for the body of the bag, and the shirt that I gave my husband the first Christmas after we had met for the straps and front pockets.

I embroidered the words “mi elefante” and added a patch with an embroidered elephant to the front.

After I had sewn the front and the back of the bag together I found that I had accidentally used the wrong side of the back fabric piece. The linen is the same on either side, but as this fabric used to be a pair of pants there was the seam from the inside of the pant leg already sewn into the material.

I decided instead of picking it apart and sewing it together again to embellish the seam with embroidery floss. I liked the effect.

I didn’t have any fabric pens that would show up on this fabric so I wrote out the words “mi elefante” on paper in the size I wanted them to be and then just embroidered it on keeping the letter shapes and sizes as close to the original as possible. There are a couple of letters that appear a little bit wonky to me, but overall I think it worked out okay.

Here you can see the two front pockets a little better. The next backpack I make will use the back pockets from these same pants. They button shut. I may end up going back in on this one to add some sort of closure for these pockets as well.

I wish I had a photo of Eli wearing this as it’s really cute on him. But he is napping, and it will be dark out by the time he wakes up.  I want to get this posted today so the chair gets to be the model this time around.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Update:

Eli woke up a bit earlier than expected, and the days seem to be getting a bit longer. He went out to play in the flower pots and I snapped a few pictures. 🙂 Here are the least blurry ones.

Thanks for reading!

I’ve been featured!

Photobucket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog, A Round Tuit

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeA Pinch Of Joy,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet homeCraft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities Just Winging ItEverything Under the Moon,

The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately ArtisticWhatever WednesdayTrendy Tots

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love Creations,

Between U & Me,  Anything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805

15 Comments

  1. ReStitch Me said,

    March 3, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    I love this! I will have to make one of these for my granddaughter. The embroidery is perfect too!

    • March 3, 2012 at 5:00 pm

      Thanks! They are super fast to stitch up. I’d love to see the one you make for your granddaughter when you are done.

  2. Caroline said,

    March 4, 2012 at 1:20 am

    Very cute! I like the idea of reusing old clothes as well.

  3. March 4, 2012 at 6:45 am

    […] Comments « “mi elefante” mochila- Toddler Backpack […]

  4. Elena said,

    March 5, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    That is darling! What a great idea to repurpose old pants!
    ~Elena
    http://acasarella.blogspot.com/

  5. March 6, 2012 at 3:21 am

    This is too cute! I would love for you to stop by and Link up at my Link Party via: http://www.ourdelightfulhome.blogspot.com

    Mrs. Delightful
    http://www.ourdelightfulhome.blogspot.com

  6. March 7, 2012 at 12:26 am

    Cute idea! Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

    • March 7, 2012 at 7:05 am

      Thank you, Beth! I just visited your blog and really am hungry after reading your pancake day post. I tried to leave you a comment there but couldn’t get past the word verification.

  7. March 7, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Cute!!! Love the elephant patch!

  8. Jill said,

    March 8, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    Great backpack and wonderful upcycle! I made both my girls bags like these -and they love them! Great job on yours!

    Thanks for linking to a Round Tuit!
    Hope you have a fabulous week!
    Jill @ Creating my way to Success
    http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

  9. Melanie said,

    March 9, 2012 at 7:42 am

    It looks so great on him! Excellent job! Thanks for sharing at Things I’ve Done Thursday! http://www.bearrabbitbear.com

  10. Natasha said,

    March 9, 2012 at 11:03 am

    love the embroidered words

    Thanks for linking up to Serenity Saturday.
    Can’t wait to see what you link up tomorrow

    Natasha xxx

    http://www.serenityyou.blogspot.com

  11. March 12, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    going to feature this adorable back pack tonight on Trash 2 Treasure Tuesday! Feel free to grab a “featured button”. 🙂

  12. May 5, 2012 at 4:44 am

    […] “mi elefante” mochila- Toddler Backpack (folkhaven.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a comment