Herbal Cough Remedy: Bougainvillea Tea

I wrote this post a long time ago but it never actually got published. As it is now cold and flu season perhaps someone out there may find it useful. 

**********************************************************************************

My friend and neighbor Blanca introduced me to a traditional Mexican folk remedy for the sore throat and cough that is plaguing our household. ‘Cause when a toddler gets sick, everyone gets sick!

(Before I go any further, I am not a doctor nor do I have any medical training. If you choose to brew and drink this tea for yourself you do so at your own risk. This post has most definitely not been evaluated or recommended by the FDA. Do your own research. Use your own judgement.)

Bougainvillea

Bougainvillea (Photo credit: dullhunk)

Anyway, here in Southern California we are blessed with an abundance of Bougainvillea vines. I plucked these from some growing up a telephone pole next to where we parked the car while out and about on Sunday.  I just love the bright colors of this plant!

Ingredients: Bouganvillea Bracts and Cinnamon Sticks

Steep together until the bougainvillea has lost it’s bright color.

Strain into your cup.

Add honey to taste.

Your finished brew. Yummm!

I found this delightfully soothing to my sore throat. The taste was most pleasant as well.

One source, (now buried somewhere in my Google history, sorry) mentioned that this can cause liver or kidney damage if consumed in large quantities. I’m glad I saw the warning as it tastes so good I might have been tempted to do so!  For myself, used medicinally (and when I’m not currently  pregnant) I’m not concerned… Tylenol will also do a number on your liver in an overdose.

Here’s where I’m linking up:

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

What I Wore Sundayjembellish clothes upcycling page

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little Birds,  C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Sarahndipities The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin,

Heart and Soul Blog Hop

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally Sustainable,  Lil’ LunaSomeday CraftsWhimsy

WednesdayWhatcha Work Up Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805,

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

2 Comments

  1. Elisa said,

    November 7, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    Stopping over from Your Green Resource. I really have to try this; my grandmothers always had Bougainvilleas in their yards, but I never saw them make tea from it.

  2. Elise said,

    November 7, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    I’ll have to remember this next time I’m sick! Would love it if you linked up on my blog hop http://www.w-t-fab.com/search/label/bloghop. Also let me know if you’d like to follow each other!


Leave a comment