Happy Chicken Quilt

Every Christmas I give my mother-in-law something handmade. This year I gave her the Lovebirds Wreath. The first year I came into the family I gave her this folksy Happy Chicken Quilt.

It is sewn from a combination of new quilting fabrics and material from old clothing. One thing I just love about making things is that when I look at them years later I can remember so vividly where I was as I was working on the item. I sewed much of this in the Caribou Coffee  shop where I first met my husband back in Illinois.

It’s just a fun little quilt. I don’t know how easy it is to tell from the pictures, but the quilting lines double as rays of streaming sunlight, accented by golden glass beads.

I used a snap for the chicken’s eye.

Here is a detail of the embroidered feet.

This detail and the little appliqued flowers and circles scattered over the ground came from one of my favorite dresses.

To accompany the gift I had made this little Sculpey clay ornament of a rooster, hen and chicks on wire that Susan displays along with the quilt.

It’s been a long time since I dabbled in making little folk pictorial quilts. They were a lot of fun, and I miss making them. Maybe I need to re-evaluate my project to-do list and see if I shouldn’t fit quilting back into my life somehow.

So many things I want to try… so little time…

How do you prioritize your sewing/crafting to-do list?

Thanks for reading!

Karen

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFrench Country Cottage,

The Charm of HomeThe Grant LifeAt the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge,

Stuff and NonsenseOne Art Mama, 2805

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

Sunday:

LambAround,  Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo Toes,

Petite HermineMy 1929 Charmer Blog

Monday:

{aka}/ designGet Outta My Head PleaseMad in Crafts, Skip to My Lou,

The Gunny SackSew Can Do, Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeDittle Dattle,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet homeCraft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities Just Winging ItEverything Under the Moon

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch Boutique, Shwin and Shwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Sweet Peas & Bumble BeesMom On TimeoutSomeday CraftsPassionately Artistic

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageFun to CraftHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsA Glimpse Inside,

Between U & MeHappy Hour ProjectsAnything Goes Linky Party,

39 Comments

  1. ReStitch Me said,

    December 30, 2011 at 5:28 am

    Love,love,love the quilt! I have always been a sucker for folk art. Very nice and your Mom-in-law is lucky to have such a talented daughter-in-law!

  2. bloggymom said,

    December 30, 2011 at 7:40 am

    Cute quilt. I am meeting lots of wonderful quilters lately.

    • December 30, 2011 at 7:58 am

      Thanks for dropping by! I enjoyed seeing the quilt-in-progress on your blog. 🙂

  3. December 30, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Absolutely DARLING!!! XO, Aimee from ItsOverflowing.com

  4. maria said,

    December 30, 2011 at 8:19 am

    I’m in love with the “little Sculpey clay ornament”. When I was in the States I did my kitchen in roosters. I brought a few special pieces with me to Jamaica. Did you make that yourself? Oh, and the snowflakes drifting across your blog is so calming and beautiful. Have a lovely day, Maria

    • December 30, 2011 at 8:27 am

      I did make it. It was actually incredibly easy and fun to do. I like the snowflakes too. I think they will stop fairly soon, it’s just a little thing WordPress offered for over the holidays. I grew up in the New York and Illinois, so I’ve enjoyed having a bit of Christmas snow on my blog ’cause there is none outside my Southern CA window!

  5. Christine said,

    December 30, 2011 at 11:42 am

    That is so adorable, Karen. I love it!..Christine

    • December 30, 2011 at 12:34 pm

      Thanks, Christine!

    • December 31, 2011 at 3:31 pm

      Thanks, Christine! I sure enjoyed seeing your little angel when I dropped by your blog! Enjoy that baby 🙂 but you don’t need me to tell you that!

  6. angie said,

    December 30, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    my mom the chicken collector would love this and I think it is super cute as well
    come see me at http://shopannies.blogspot.com

  7. buggalcrafts said,

    December 30, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    I WISH I could sew – don’t tell me how easy it is – it is one of the few crafty things I simply can not do. And I don’t think my fabric glueing skills are up to this! If it can’t be glued, then forget about it. I LOVE chickens and this is such a special gift. I know it was much LOVED!

    • December 30, 2011 at 7:48 pm

      Thanks for your sweet comment! She does really love the quilt, and tells me every year when we visit. I think we all have certain things that just remain eternally too difficult, no matter how easy other people find them. Me… I hope to one day learn to knit, but haven’t had much success yet.

  8. Pat said,

    December 31, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Happy New Year. I hope yours is full of joy, peace, love and creativity!

  9. December 31, 2011 at 11:57 am

    […] Happy Chicken Quilt (folkhaven.wordpress.com) […]

  10. Christine said,

    December 31, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Thank you so much for your lovely comment about my grandbaby. I hope you are having a fun New Year’s celebration…Christine

  11. Maysem said,

    January 1, 2012 at 7:54 am

    That is a beautiful quilt! I love love folksy crafts. The details are amazing (so creative with the snap for the eye!), and I love that you included old clothing into it. I’m sure your MIL loved it…who wouldn’t?! Does she know the Caribou story…that just makes it the more special:)

    I agree with you about being so much to do and so little time. I have a huge to do list which includes wanting to learn new things. It is really hard to prioritize!

    Hope you had a wonderful New Year’s celebration and enjoy the first day of the new year!

  12. January 1, 2012 at 11:29 am

    I l,ove this quilt! So cute:)I would LOVE for you to link up at my party going on right now!

    http://kim-toomuchtimeonmyhands.blogspot.com/2011/12/get-schooled-saturday-4.html

  13. January 1, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Thank you for your comment on my snowflake branch. Let’s just say it took A LOT less time to make than your amazing quilt 🙂 I love your question, “How do you prioritize…?” My list is always long and my time seems so short. I’ll be anxious for any more thoughts on the subject.

  14. Bonnie said,

    January 1, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Very cute! Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog! I hope you’ll become a follower so we can keep in touch! 🙂

    -Bonnie @ Revolutionaries
    http://bonniegetchell.blogspot.com

  15. Honey said,

    January 2, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    Cute quilt!
    Thank you for for sharing at Potpourri Friday. I wish you a healthy, prosperous and sparkling New Year!

    • January 2, 2012 at 9:40 pm

      Thanks for the compliment, the well wishes and for hosting a great linky party! May 2012 bring you many blessings!

  16. Sandy Ang said,

    January 3, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Seeing your project really makes me want to learn to quilt. Happy New Year !

    • January 3, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      Doing a fun little quilt is a great way to learn without becoming overwhelmed by a months-long project that takes over the house. Thank you for your comment. A wonderful New Year to you too!

  17. slyneedle said,

    January 3, 2012 at 3:37 pm

    I really like your Chicken Quilt. What a sweet gift to give.

    Have a wonderful 2012.

    –Denise at Sly Needle

    • January 3, 2012 at 4:10 pm

      Thank you, Denise! I enjoyed following the link to your blog. You are quite the seamstress!

  18. January 4, 2012 at 5:15 am

    Wish I knew how to do that! It’s darling!

    • January 4, 2012 at 2:29 pm

      Thanks, Kammy! Actually, there really aren’t any rules. It’s like drawing with cloth. Just put down what strikes your fancy and stitch away. I think that’s why I enjoy this sort of project so much. There are plenty of tutorials out there for needle turned applique to get you started.

  19. Sherry said,

    January 4, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    That’s super cute! Thank you for joining me at Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  20. amy said,

    January 4, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    I’m always so impressed by handmade quilting projects. I do so many different kinds of art but quilting totally intimidates me. You did a great job on this! Thanks for sharing at Shine On Fridays!!

  21. Betty said,

    January 5, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Love this! But then again, I have a thing for chickens. I especially love the sculpey chickens . Too cute!

    • January 5, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      Thanks, Betty! Are you one of those people who collects chicken related decor? It’s funny how chicken stuff runs the gamut from cute, to funny, to even elegant. I hope to one day have a small flock to get fresh eggs from. I don’t think the condo association would look kindly upon that as long as we live here though. So I get my chicken fix this way!

  22. Courtney said,

    January 5, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    SUPER CUTE- THANKS FOR LINKING UP AT FEATHERED NEST FRIDAY 🙂

  23. January 6, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    What an adorable quilt! I love that the chickens are textured!

    • January 6, 2012 at 10:18 pm

      That was my favorite corduroy shirt for a long time. I was so sad when it wore out, but now it lives on in little pieces in many different projects.

  24. Linda said,

    February 5, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    Beautiful little quilt. Nicely done.

    • February 5, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      Thank you very much! I stopped by your blog and really enjoyed your post about the word cloud. I tried leaving you a comment there but couldn’t get past the Captcha.


Leave a Reply

