Hello And Goodbye Shirt

This shirt I made for Eli last year. I’m glad it will fit him this summer. It is the first shirt I ever made and I was feeling pretty intimidated by the idea of adding sleeves at the time.

The images are just Clorox bleach gel pen drawn on black knit material. I attached them with Heat & Bond and then stitched around them with thread that matched the fabric of the collar and around the arms.

The picture on the back of the shirt I copied from a drawing a four year old neighbor had made for me.

Once Eli starts making representational drawings I think I will have quite a bit of fun turning his designs into shirts! (I also like this idea of turning children’s drawings into softies.)

Thanks for reading!

Karen

I was featured!

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

Threading My Way

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeC.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful RisingSarahndipities ,

Everything Under the MoonThe Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkiethe space between,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchLil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately ArtisticWhatever WednesdayTrendy Tots

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805Pencilled Daydream

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

12 Comments

  1. Jodi said,

    May 12, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    What a great idea. I love the thought of using the bleach pen to create this artwork. Very clever. Jodi @ http://www.meaningfulmama.com

  2. May 13, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    I love your shirts, Karen!

  3. Maysem said,

    May 14, 2012 at 8:58 am

    I’m loving all your shirts Karen!! You should be selling them in your Etsy!

    • May 14, 2012 at 7:47 pm

      Thanks for the compliment. I’m always afraid they aren’t quite good enough, as any little imperfections that others might not even notice are glaringly obvious to me! Still, once I catch up with my list of things needed for Eli’s wardrobe (he’s just outgrown much of what he has) maybe I will. I should have worked out all the bugs in the pattern and process by then. 🙂

  4. May 16, 2012 at 6:15 am

    wow, I love this idea!

  5. Lauren said,

    May 16, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    Eek! How cute is that?! I’d love for you to share over at my link party.

  6. six sisters said,

    May 16, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    These shirts are so cute!! We are so happy that you linked up to our “Strut Your Stuff Saturday” and we hope you see you back next week!! -The Sisters

  7. worldnosh said,

    May 19, 2012 at 12:05 am

    These are too cute!

  8. Pam said,

    October 27, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    Great job on the appliques! They look fabulous.

    • October 29, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      Thank you. It was a lot of fun to make this shirt. I really look forward to when he is making more representational artwork of his own so I can make appliques based on his creations.


Leave a comment