Nesting Robin & Painted Chair

When we visited my husband’s aunt in Washington D.C., (You got me, it was a few years back. I honestly don’t know how I will keep up with this blog between my widely spaced current projects once my old material dries up!) I was delighted by this robin who had built her nest right above Aunt Beneva’s front door!  

Once home I was inspired to paint a nest with eggs with acrylics in my sketchbook. I got the nice crisp edges all around with the use of blue painter’s tape. I wasn’t sure if it would peel off without harming the paper, but it worked just fine.

I had this old chair a neighbor had tried to throw away that I had already repainted a brownish black.

I took this photo wondering how the nest with eggs would look painted on the seat of the chair.

I decided to go for it.

I was tutoring back then and thought the little girls might like to sit on the chair while we worked, but they were so preoccupied with not sitting on the eggs it proved to be a bit much of a distraction.

They obviously knew a bit more about such things than I did at their age. My mom came home one afternoon to find six year old me sobbing in my room. When she asked me what was wrong I pulled back the covers of my bed to reveal a pike of broken and oozing eggs. “But I sat on them so very gently!” I wailed. My mother in her wisdom waited until she was could escape back to the car in the driveway to laugh until she cried. (I learned that part of the story quite a bit later on.)

I couldn’t get the edges around the eggs to be as smooth as I wanted as I was painting over a painted surface, but I was still basically pleased with the outcome.  The chair now belongs to my mother-in-law.

Thanks for reading!

Karen

Related articles

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeC.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities Just Winging ItEverything Under the Moon,

The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkiethe space between,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately ArtisticWhatever WednesdayTrendy Tots

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love Creations,

Between U & Me,  Anything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

14 Comments

  1. Michele said,

    April 27, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    What a captivating project! Thanks for sharing it with us.

  2. Maysem said,

    April 28, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    Aww.. what a sweet story:) How is your mom doing? Have you been able to visit her?

    You did do a fabulous job on the chair.. the idea of a nest full of eggs is too cute of an idea! I truly wish I knew how to paint. I could only cheat with stencils, but of course it won’t be anywhere nearly as beautiful as your work:) You have given me some ideas for my kitchen chairs… thanks for the wonderful inspiration!

    • April 29, 2012 at 5:10 am

      Thanks for your kind words. I can’t wait to see what you do with your kitchen chairs!

      My mom has had a couple of days of increased clarity during visits. That means she might greet us and smile a few times during the visit. I’ve been able to go see her once or twice a week the past couple of weeks. My brother and his wife are visiting from Japan and are visiting her much more often so I also get many updates. Thank you for asking.

  3. May 1, 2012 at 7:38 am

    What a creative idea! I love anything with a bird theme. :0)

  4. etcetorize said,

    May 1, 2012 at 9:51 am

    What a lovely project. I love the pics of the robin, so beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing at Etcetorize~

  5. six sisters said,

    May 1, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Looks beautiful. Love your post! Thanks for being a part of our “Strut Your Stuff Saturday.” Hope to see you again real soon!! -The Sisters

  6. Kelley said,

    May 2, 2012 at 8:46 am

    Such a beautiful chair Karen! You are such a great artist! And I had to double take the bird.. it doesnt look real. So beautiful though.

  7. Sherry said,

    May 2, 2012 at 9:16 am

    This is beautiful! Thank you for joining me at Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  8. Virginia said,

    May 2, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    Beautiful! Love the chair!

  9. May 3, 2012 at 7:20 am

    You should be very please with you results, so very cute. I wouldn’t even attempt to paint. You are a talented artist. I love the story of how you sat on the birds eggs to help hatch, and your Mom not sharing how she reacted until many years later! Precious, and so is your chair. On I so love that deer, looks so much better than before pic! Thanks for sharing your creative inspiration over at Sunday’s Best!

  10. May 3, 2012 at 7:54 am

    Sorry,don’t know how I got the sentence in there about the deer, must of been a blank out moment. It happens when you get older!

    • May 3, 2012 at 8:00 am

      Considering you go and leave such thoughtful comments to everyone who enters your link party (at least I assume you do as you never fail to comment on my entries) I can more than understand how an unrelated sentence could get mixed in there. Seriously, your thoughtfulness in commenting is both admired and appreciated. 🙂

  11. July 9, 2012 at 7:02 am

    […] with a little birdie. The idea of the bird was inspired by the ever so talented Karen from Folkhaven. She had hand painted a nest of eggs on an old wooden chair. Free hand! I instantaneously fell in […]

  12. September 1, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    […] with a little birdie. The idea of the bird was inspired by the ever so talented Karen from Folkhaven. She had hand painted a nest of eggs on an old wooden chair. Free hand! I instantaneously fell in […]


Leave a comment