Snowman Ornament from Lightbulb

I have made these snowman ornaments for a few years now. They are a great way to reuse old lightbulbs. Now we only use the compact flourescent twisty bulbs so I had to ask a neighbor for this one.  They also can be made with smaller bulbs from inside ovens and refrigerators, etc.

Here’s how to make it:

Take a lightbulb and stick it into a glob of play dough. Paint it with acrylic white paint. I didn’t have any regular white paint left so I used this pearly paint. It takes a couple of coats. This time I left the paint a little bit gloppy to give it more of a snowball texture.

To make a stocking cap cut the ankle portion off of an old sock.

Sew in the sides tapering toward the tip of the hat. Trim off the excess material.

Make a pompom. You can use yarn, embroidery thread, or thinly cut strands on knit material. I used knit so I sewed them together and then onto the tip of the cap.

  

String glass beads for your hanger and attach the strand in a loop near the pompom on the hat.

 

Using a glue gun attach the hat to the snowman’s head covering up the screw-in part of the bulb.

Choose an item for the nose and affix with a glue gun. I used a button this time. In the past I’ve made a carrot nose with polymer clay.

Using a Sharpie, draw in the eyes and mouth.

Here is another ornament from years past. He has a hat sewn from felt and  embroidered and beaded with snowflakes. I gave it a ribbon band  and trimmed it with cotton around the brim.

I’ve been featured!

Here’s where I am linking up (Please see my Linky List for active links.)

HookingupwithHoHSomewhat SimpleThriftyThurs Thrifty Thursday Week 51Catch a Glimpse ButtonbuttonFeathered Nest Fridayhttp://www.thegrantlife.com/search/label/financial%20fridaykojodesignsMaking LemonadeThe Shabby Nest

2805SortaCrunchyNet

14 Comments

  1. Melanie said,

    December 2, 2011 at 11:19 am

    I love snowmen! Thanks so much for linking up to Things I’ve Done Thursday!!

    Melanie
    Sew Rugged @ bear rabbit bear
    bearrabbitbear.blogspot.com

  2. Ann said,

    December 2, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Oh your snowmen are so adorable!! I don’t know if I have any bulbs left or not.
    Will check!

  3. December 2, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    Love that his hate is made from an old sock…genius! And, reusing old lightbulbs. Fantastic idea!

  4. ReStitch Me said,

    December 2, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    How fun!!! Clever of you to stand the bulb in playdoh to paint it! What creative ideas do you think people will come up with for the new spiral lightbulbs?!!

    • December 2, 2011 at 9:04 pm

      Actually, I’ve been thinking on what could be made with the spiral bulbs, but no good ideas here as of yet. I’m sure someone will come up with some great idea eventually though!

      Thank you for your kind comment 🙂

  5. Susanne said,

    December 3, 2011 at 8:01 am

    Such a great ide, and the snowmans are so cute. I’ve been making more tradisional ornaments of my lightbulbs, but think I need to try your version as well 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!
    Wish you a good weekend!

  6. December 4, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    These are just too cute! I never would’ve thought to re-use a lightbulb in this way. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for stopping by my blog today.

  7. Sherry said,

    December 4, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    Very cute! Thank you for joining me at Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  8. Maysem said,

    December 6, 2011 at 9:02 am

    What an adorable idea! Pinning it!

  9. Leslie said,

    December 6, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    What a fantastic idea! I love the button nose…it reminds me of the song! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog the other day!

  10. December 7, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    So cute! You are being featured this week at Taking A Timeout Thursday! Thank you so much for sharing!

  11. November 8, 2012 at 5:04 am

    […] Snowman Ornament From Lightbulb […]


Leave a comment