Little Fox Sweater

Things are starting to get a bit chilly here so I thought I’d make up a new little sweater for Zoe. I know it is super trendy right now but I can’t help loving the fox and owl motifs I see out there these days. So stinkin’ cute!

IMG_1779

I decided to repurpose this old cashmere sweater that I had felted in the wash for a diaper project that never came to be. It is super soft! (My husband says that if Zoe won’t wear it I can change it into a pillow case for him.)IMG_1723

After perusing Etsy for a little inspiration I made this little fox applique from other wool sweater scraps.

IMG_1736

For the pattern I used this DIY Peasant Dress freebie from Once Upon a Sewing Machine. Zoe has 3 other tunics in her closet made from this pattern… simple, fast and easy (and it goes up to 4T!)

IMG_1767

The sweater cam together quickly and I added a little embroidery around the neck, passing the embroidery thread just through the top layer of stitches in the knit fabric. You can’t see the stitches on the inside.

IMG_1818

I like that while it is 18M to 2T size it will fit her for a really long time first as a sweater dress and later as a shirt.

IMG_1825

IMG_1840

If she wears it at all that is… She begs me to take it off almost as soon as it is on, making a photo shoot, already made challenging by a squirmy toddler on an overcast rainy day almost impossible. She reacts like this to new clothing quite often though, so I’ll not give up hope she will wear her fox sweater too soon.

IMG_1760

8 Comments

  1. Maysem said,

    October 15, 2014 at 9:48 am

    First of all I have to say that Zoey keeps on getting cuter and cuter… I just want to eat her!! 😛 Second, I LOVE her new sweater dress and especially the little fox applique!! I’m a big fan of dresses that can continue to be used as tops. Perfection as always Karen!

  2. Donna said,

    October 15, 2014 at 10:17 am

    What a cutie pie! A great upcycle for a soft sweater. Hopefully Zoey will want to wear her sweater more and more.

  3. Inder said,

    October 15, 2014 at 11:08 am

    This is DARLING!! And Zoey is such a cutie! My naked toddler should unite with your naked toddler – they could take over the world!

    • October 15, 2014 at 11:22 am

      Inder, I have thought many times about how much fun I think our kids would have if they were to get together!

  4. faerylandmom said,

    October 15, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    Cutest. Sweater. Ever.

  5. eljay1980 said,

    October 17, 2014 at 12:28 am

    Reblogged this on ..:: El-Jay ::.. and commented:
    This is so cute 🙂


Leave a Reply

