Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow (or Soon After)

Zoe’s hair is finally starting to come in. She now has a downy little five o’clock shadow over her adorable noggin. My neighbors are almost all hispanic and birth babies with heads full of gorgeous thick locks. One neighbor peered at Zoe this past weekend in passing and asked me why I had cut off her hair. I said I hadn’t. Oh, it fell out? Uh, no, it’s just starting to come in.

I told my husband about this amusing exchange this evening as I watched Eli play in the tub. After Jeff walked out of the bathroom, Eli said, “You know, Mom, everyone has to get their hair cut sometime.” I agreed that that was true and asked if he had noticed today that a neighbor child had gotten her hair cut. He had.

“You know, Mom, youneed to get your hair cut sometime.” Eyes averted, fiddling with his bath toy.

“Do you think I should get my hair cut short?”

“Yes.”

“Daddy likes my hair long.”

“Oh.” Eyes still averted.

“Do you think I should get my hair in front cut short, but leave the back long?”

“Uh, yeah!” He finally looks at me, his eyes happy, hopeful.

Sigh… It’s not the first time he has asked me to get my hair cut in recent months. But this time I could tell that it is pretty important to him that I do so.

You see, I have wanted to have hair that was all long and that I could just braid back for many years, but each time I tried to grow out my bangs I could never get past the interminable awkward stage and would cut them again in frustration. Then I got pregnant again. And sick. So sick. For the first four months I did well just to get out of bed and wasn’t much seen by the public at large. That’s a great time to get a head start through a painfully awkward stage of hair growth. Pregnancy got a bit better, but with a couple of periods of bed rest and just being big and tired I still wasn’t seen much by the public at large, so I continued to let it grow.

And now, four months into my young daughter’s life, it is finally almost long enough to be caught back as I always wanted to do. I like having long hair, but I hate having to spend any time on it. I especially want to pull it out of the way of Zoe’s fingers or I may soon be almost as bald as she is.

But my son wants me to get it cut. I have to agree that I do think it looks better shorter. I’m just now a bit invested in the past year’s worth of growth, of finally getting beyond the stage where mirror experiences felt similar to those I had back in junior high, waiting for growth to bring things into proper proportions.

I told Jeff about my conversation with Eli. He said that perhaps Eli is prophetic, perhaps it is really the voice of God. So I guess I really do look better with bangs. In the eyes of my family at the very least.

The Experiment is over. The bangs shall return very shortly.

I never knew when I decided to have children that within 3 years my son’s opinion would be influencing my personal style.

14 Comments

  1. July 30, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    🙂

  2. Linne said,

    July 30, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Nice that Zoe’s hair is coming in. I wonder why Eli wants your hair cut? Interesting, eh? I let both my sons’ hair grow until they asked for it to be cut (the elder was 9 or 10, the younger 4 or 5; the elder asked first and the younger wanted to look like his brother, so it happened within days of each other). I loved their beautiful hair, down past their waists. It was hard to cut it, but we felt it was their hair and their decision. I feel the same about mine, so mine is as long as it will grow (a few bits to my waist, the rest a few inches shorter). I wish it were thick and long, but apparently that’s not going to happen 😉 I think one reason I like mine long is that I had to have it fairly short (to my jawline, sometimes to my collar) most of the time when I was young and I never liked it. Good thing you like bangs, too, eh? If it were me, I’d try wearing it pulled back in a braid for a few weeks at least, just to enjoy it that way. But that’s me . . . Will we see a picture of that sweet baby down one of these days? Glad you are all doing well. ~ Linne

    • August 1, 2013 at 9:09 am

      That must have been such an adjustment to go from seeing your kids with hair so long all their lives to two with short hair. They must have looked so different from how you were used to seeing them!

  3. Maysem said,

    July 30, 2013 at 10:37 pm

    Growing up I’ve always had bangs… up until senior of high school when I finally decided to grow my bangs out. Since then I’ve had no bangs or long sweep bangs…however there was one year that I decided to go full blown bangs but grew them out again. When growing them out I would just pull them to the side (both sides) with cute clips. I find it quite cute that Eli has an opinion about mommy’s hair and that you value it. 🙂

    • August 1, 2013 at 9:07 am

      I’ve tried clipping it back but it always just escapes. Maybe I just didn’t buy the right kind of clips or maybe it’s the texture of my hair? Probably the former. So it seems you prefer to have your hair grown out as well, or do you just like to change it upmevery now and then and right now you have it all grown out?

  4. Inder said,

    July 31, 2013 at 11:05 am

    I love bangs, but I hate having to get my hair cut regularly enough to keep them looking good. It’s such a struggle! Now I’ve grown out my bangs, like you, and all I can think is that I prefer them and want to cut them again. What a waste! Eli is too funny, he clearly has strong views – I am not sure Joe has ever in his life noticed any hair but his own.

    • August 1, 2013 at 8:42 am

      Yea, it’s the having to get them trimmed regularly that I was hoping to do away with. I usually keep putting it off until they drive me nuts and I cut them myself in desperation some morning. My self cut often doesn’t turn out too great so then I have to go somewhere to get it done feeling like a sheepish little kid that got ahold of scissors and cut her own hair. Which is what it is, except I no longer have the excuse of age. You’d think I’d learn, but somehow I manage to cut it fairly well myself every so often so I keep thinking this time will be one of those times. Silly… And yea, Eli often surprises us on the things he will have strong views on. He keeps things interesting.

  5. July 31, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Oh, but long straight hair is so wonderfully easy!

    Don’t give in too soon. It’s your hair. So much of what’s yours is the kids’. They get your time and effort; surely you can conserve some of that time & effort by choosing low-maintenance hair? 😀

    • August 1, 2013 at 8:36 am

      Your comment has given me pause. Your hair is actually pretty much what I was eventually aiming for. I will most likely still get it cut if only because I already told Eli I would. But, hmmm…. Still waffling a little, I guess.

  6. Nina said,

    August 4, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    Hilarious Karen! He’s like your personal stylist lol. I’m a long-hair kind of gal, although I did just chop six inches off today. But my hair gets so long that even chopping six inches off still makes my hair long!

  7. August 8, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    Too funny! I don’t think my kids would notice whether I had bangs or not.

  8. August 8, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Isn’t that funny — how what our children say makes it right there into the deepest parts of our soul? I’m sure whatever you do with your hair will be approved by your little guy. Maybe he remembers your hair another way. Maybe he’s heard you talking about haircuts, and wants you to have that special time. My kids get that way. If I mention something for them, and casually say I haven’t done that for myself they pick right up on it, and want me to do it. It’s their way of caring about me. 🙂

  9. deedeemallon said,

    August 27, 2013 at 10:51 am

    this is too funny! kids definitely have their opinions. I’m glad my two boys did not take on the role of Wardrobe Police with me… so glad!

    • August 28, 2013 at 7:23 am

      I definitely won’t be letting him dictate what my appearance will be overall or on a reoccurent basis. This was somehow different. I think it’s because he remembered how I used to look before the pregnancy that basically took me away from him with how sick I got.


Leave a Reply

