Pregnancy Update – 39 Weeks

39 Weeks

For all of her hurry to be out in the world a few weeks ago it now seems that this little girl has decided she is very content to stay where she is. (I, however, have been growing a little less content with this arrangement as time goes on.)

Zoe continues to be an active baby. Sometimes, especially in the evening, it looks like I have a couple of squirrels chasing each other around and around inside my belly. I feel like I am literally about to pop.

I had really hoped she would come last week as I am uncomfortable with the doctor I’m pretty much stuck with due to our insurance situation. Last week she was away on vacation, so I did a lot of walking and tried to encourage things along. The doctor’s vacation came to an end yesterday so now I’m just hoping that when it happens it is at night on a day that my doctor is not the one on call. I do feel better about the whole situation than I did a couple of weeks ago though as we have hired a doula to be there for the birth. I met with her a couple of weekends ago and she seems like a perfect fit for our situation.

So now we just hurry up and wait. The birth plan is written and copied. The bags are all packed and sitting by the door. Zoe’s car seat is installed. My brother and his wife are now visiting ready to take care of Eli when we have to leave for the hospital. They are also spending gobs of time with him now affording me a lot of pre-labor rest. I actually napped over 4 hours over the course of the other day! My husband’s siblings are also at the ready to help out with the little feller. He’ll be having such a good time that maybe he won’t even notice that I’m gone for a couple of days.

Sitting in my very cluttered work space.

Sitting in my very cluttered work space. Not a whole lot happening here these days other than the occasional sitting. Β πŸ™‚

16 Comments

  1. dawn aldrich said,

    February 26, 2013 at 7:11 am

    You look great Karen. Praying for a healthy delivery for all of you. Please say hello to Kevin for us.

    Dawn & Pete

  2. Inder said,

    February 26, 2013 at 11:48 am

    Now you are allowed to nest to your heart’s content!!! Stay active, mama! It will happen! Can’t wait to meet Zoe.

    • February 27, 2013 at 10:53 am

      Nesting is pretty much accomplished by this point! We can’t wait to meet Zoe either, but wait it seems we shall. I’m beginning to wonder if she has taken my telling Eli he’s getting a little sister for his birthday a bit literally as Eli’s birthday is just 2 days after her due date.

      • Inder said,

        February 27, 2013 at 10:56 am

        Joe was like this – I had all kinds of warning signs for pre-term labor, and was on partial bedrest starting at 34 weeks, only to have him show up right on his due date! Ugh. Those last weeks were extra hard because I wasn’t expecting to have to be pregnant that long! (Maggie is such a sweetheart, and surprised me by showing up 2 weeks early, while I was still feeling pretty good!)

      • February 27, 2013 at 11:03 am

        How considerate of Maggie! I’ve had to make a mental switch so as not to drive myself crazy. I thought it would be no problem getting labor going during the 38th week as prior to that getting up to use the restroom brought on contractions, and ones that weren’t particularly light! Since we’ve now missed the point where my doctor would be away on vacation I’ve just settled into the fact that she’ll just come when she is good and ready. Eli was 4 days over and those 4 days seemed like an eternity at the time, but I’ve since heard the story of my husband’s aunt who went 6 WEEKS over, until she went for a second opinion and was spirited away for an immediate emergency c-section! I can’t even fathom being 6 weeks over so I’ll just keep reminding myself that it could be a lot worse no matter how uncomfortable I may be getting.

  3. Linne said,

    February 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    Rest while you can! Remember how busy it will be soon (but fun, too)!
    Glad Zoe’s settled down a bit; also good to hear you have a doula. I’ve seen what a difference they make and still wish there had been that option when I had mine. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers and seeing a delivery with the right staff for you. ~ Linne

    • February 27, 2013 at 10:54 am

      Thanks, Linne! I appreciate it! And yes, I’m fully aware of the luxury this added bit of rest is and am savoring every moment of it!

  4. faerylandmom said,

    February 27, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    I love this. So much. πŸ™‚ Praying that all goes well. God is so good…that little girl will be so ready when she comes!

  5. Kelley said,

    February 27, 2013 at 5:00 pm

    SO exciting! Ill be thinking of you and your babes! Cant wait to see pictures!
    PS.. happy birthday to Eli! πŸ™‚

  6. Maysem said,

    February 27, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    You look so adorable! Try to enjoy the resting while you can. Praying for a safe delivery… I can’t wait to meet baby Zoe!

  7. Nina said,

    February 28, 2013 at 8:10 am

    Looking great, Karen! I gave birth to my son at 39 weeks so it’s really any day now for you πŸ™‚ Good luck!

    • February 28, 2013 at 8:54 am

      Thanks Nina! How are you doing these days? Have you found anything that works for you to combat the itching? I think of you and your babies often.

  8. Stacy said,

    February 28, 2013 at 10:08 am

    Nice to meet you, Karen. Enjoy your moment – it will last you a lifetime! ❀

  9. mom2athruz said,

    March 1, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    Wow! I have been busy with life and haven’t checked my blogs! Congrats on your soon coming little one! I love her name, as we have a Zoe. πŸ™‚

  10. Inder said,

    March 12, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Been thinking of you! Please update soon! πŸ™‚

    • March 13, 2013 at 10:31 am

      Just did! Zoe joined us on Saturday.. stop by to see a brief post with her picture. πŸ™‚ Thanks for thinking of us.


Leave a Reply

