Pregnancy Update- 35 Weeks

It looks like the end may be in sight a little earlier than I thought it would be. Saturday morning as we were on our way to Lowe’s to pick out the new bathroom vanity to replace the one damaged in the flood I began having contractions. I had started having what I assumed were Braxton Hicks contractions a couple of days earlier, but these ones were coming regularly every two minutes. So after a call to the doctor it was back to the hospital. Once laying down there they slowed to every ten minutes but remained regular. I was given a shot to stop them and checked to see if I had dilated (I hadn’t), before being sent home on bed rest.

On Monday I went in to see my OB and the monitor showed I was still having contractions, although I wasn’t feeling them, and had signs on a “irritable uterus”. An exam showed I had dilated a small amount over the past couple of days and that the cervix is soft. I was told that it was a few days too late to get the steriod shot to speed up lung development, and that at this point if I go into labor they won’t try to stop it. I am not on strict bed rest, as in I could go and sit on the couch if I wanted to (not that we have one in the hotel) and I can get up to do what needs doing in the bathroom.

Since then I’ve found that the contractions come back if I get up to do much of anything. Today has been the most intense day so far contraction-wise and I am now feeling pelvic pressure that is new. I’d really like little Zoe to stay inside a few more weeks, both for her own development and because I’d prefer to have a home to bring her home to, but I suppose if she begins her life post-hospital discharge in a hotel room it won’t be the end of the world and will make for a more interesting personal story in the long run.

Of course, it is entirely possible she will hang out where she’s supposed to be for a good long time still regardless of the contractions I’m experiencing now, but it seems to me that perhaps little Miss Zoe is itching to see the world!

12 Comments

  1. LubbyGirl said,

    January 30, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    praying that whatever the outcome of this, little Zoe will be healthy and the birth process will be OK!!

  2. January 31, 2013 at 3:39 am

    Praying everyone comes through just fine!

  3. Maysem said,

    January 31, 2013 at 9:05 am

    A resting Karen is a resting Zoe… so rest up and hopefully Zoe will hang on a little longer. I think she’s just anxious to meet her family. After all, with a mommy that’s makes amazing and adorable things, she wants in on the party too! 😉

  4. caringdoula said,

    January 31, 2013 at 11:09 am

    You never know, some women have contractions like that for weeks before the baby comes, but I am sure no matter when she comes it will all be wonderful!

  5. Linne said,

    January 31, 2013 at 7:06 pm

    You are in my thoughts and prayers, too. Looking forward to the updates, but I hope she stays put for a bit (for her sake). Still, they seem to do what they need to do, don’t they? Take care. ~ Linne

  6. February 1, 2013 at 2:30 am

    Hang in there and good luck! Both my babies were born early – one at 35 weeks and one at 36 – and both are big, healthy kids now. I’d never heard the term irritable uterus before – what uterus wouldnt be irritable after 35 weeks of pregnancy, eh? 🙂

  7. Heather said,

    February 2, 2013 at 4:26 pm

    best wishes…may everything work out well! thank you for visiting…

  8. Nina said,

    February 4, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    Oooh, hoping that the remainder of your pregnancy goes well, Karen. I’m in the same boat and am doing my best to keep these babies in as long as possible (even though the irritable side of me wishes this pregnancy was over and done with).

    Definitely rest on your side and take it easy, with no lifting and even regular chores. I’m making it a mission to be a lazy sloth and only doing the bare minimum 🙂

  9. Inder said,

    February 7, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Hope you’re hanging in there, mama! No Zoe yet? Thinking of you.

    • February 7, 2013 at 5:35 pm

      Thanks Inder. No Zoe yet although last night I was beginning to wonder with contractions lasting 4-6 minutes each! Today they’ve calmed down a bit though, and it looks like tomorrow we can move back home! Now the main challenge will be to ignore the nesting urge and desire to get everything back in place while remaining on bed rest!

      • Inder said,

        February 7, 2013 at 5:43 pm

        I’m sure it must be a pain for you, but that’s wonderful news for Zoe! Every week counts right now. Time for some more felt food? In another week or two, you can nest your heart out!

      • February 7, 2013 at 6:15 pm

        I actually have the felt supplies with me in the hotel, but I’ve had the flu as well and find I just want to sleep whenever the coughing/contractions/Eli will let me. It’s true that the first few weeks the baby will really not need much but me and a few things at the ready. There will be plenty of time to resettle the house the way I want it soon enough. And I have had some wonderful offers of help where I’ll just need to sit back and direct traffic. Not to mention an incredible husband who has been doing so very much through out all of this and doubtless will continue to do so once we are home again. It’ll all be fine…I just sometimes get impatient and have to remind myself. 🙂


Leave a Reply

