Big Butt Baby Pants

IMG_8784 In preparing for little Zoe’s arrival I’ve sewn up some of Made by Rae’s Big Butt Baby Pants. They are hopefully roomier and will make fitting the fluffy-bummed cloth diapered baby into clothing a little bit easier. I’ve liked this pattern for a long time and have enjoyed seeing the many versions of the pants made up by other people. I’ll warn you that a person could conceivably die of cuteness seeing Inder Love Folk Art’s owl version of these pants seen here, or these here (especially the red ones with the mushrooms and woodland animals on the butt). These pants look so much better with an adorable baby wearing them!

Green and Blue Big Butt Baby Pants

I tried to take the lazy woman’s approach by using sleeves off of old shirts and I think I actually created more difficulties for myself than if I had just followed the pattern exactly like a good girl. Live and learn… I know I’ll be making more of these (and at least I didn’t have to hem.) I actually even bought a few fat quarters of fabric that I thought would be cute for these pants. (If you follow this blog you know that I almost always use only reclaimed fabric. I’m cheap frugal like that.) The blue above is one of them and the rest still are waiting to be sewn up.

Striped Big Butt Baby Pants I plan on embellishing some onesies to go with these pants, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’d better not wait much longer as I’m now at 31 weeks and I know the rest of the pregnancy will go by quickly as I try to get everything done!

Here’s where I’m linking up:

Sunday:

I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo Toesjembellish clothes upcycling page,

Blissful and Domestic,

Monday:

Skip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can DoKeeping It Simple An Original Belle,

I Should be Mopping the FloorThe Dedicated House ,

A Round Tuit,  C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Sarahndipities The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

Not Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot GiraffeKammy’s Korner,

Home Stories A to Z,  Crafty Confessions, Homemade Tuesday,  Today’s Assignment,

Antiprocrastination TuesdayTake-a-Look Tuesday,  Nifty Thrifty Tuesday,

The Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and SchwinHeart and Soul Blog Hop

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally Sustainable,  Lil’ LunaSomeday CraftsWhimsy

WednesdayWhatcha Work Up Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projects

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Naptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding FabulousDiana Rambles,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Artsy Mama,

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My HandsHello Weekend,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

8 Comments

  1. Maysem said,

    January 3, 2013 at 10:04 pm

    I actually think using the sleeves is such a cool touch… gives you very unique pair of pants! I’m especially loving the men’s shirt sleeve pants:D

  2. January 4, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    I love this blog so much! Thank you for all you are doing! Abbe` Alice Kaye

  3. faerylandmom said,

    January 5, 2013 at 7:00 am

    Adorable. 🙂

  4. Nina said,

    January 6, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    You would think that all pants would have big butts, considering all the diapering that goes into them! Most we’ve bought are pretty good but there have definitely been some clothes where I wonder why they made it that way!

  5. January 7, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    So cute! And I love the name for your baby girl! 🙂

  6. Christie said,

    January 11, 2013 at 9:31 am

    Really cute pants! I wanted to stop by and tell you thanks for your comment about all you went through! I appreciated your kind words:)

  7. January 11, 2013 at 12:52 pm

    But the shirt sleeve pants are so cute!!! Even if they were harder..

  8. Inder said,

    January 23, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    Oh my goodness – shirt sleeve legs! SO FREAKING ADORABLE! Thank you for the shout-out, by the way. 🙂 I am such an enabler, getting you to buy new patterns! Mmm. Time for another pair for Maggie …


Leave a Reply

