Very Belated Pregnancy Update

I received so many kind comments when I posted I’d been put on bed rest due to placenta previa. Thank you… it really helped to connect with people virtually, especially when prevented from getting out to see people face to face! During my time down I did get some felt play food made for Eli, learned how to knit a simple wash cloth, tried my hand at a crochet project that I’ve since abandoned as unworthy of further time investment. 

It’s now been two weeks since I was cleared for normal activity after an ultrasound showed that the placenta has indeed moved up and out of the way. I’ve just been so swamped trying to make up for lost time in Christmas prep that I hadn’t yet gotten around to updating my new status on this blog.

We have finally agreed upon our wee one’s first name, but the middle name is still to be determined. From here on out she will be known as Zoe. The name means “abundant life” and is one I have always liked. It seems rather appropriate in this case as while I had thought Eli was very in the womb, this one is already running laps around even him!

I am so thankful that this pregnancy is no longer as high risk as it was, Zoe is doing very well, I am out of bed (!) and my family is able to celebrate Christmas with the extended family. Life is good indeed!

12 Comments

  1. Maysem said,

    December 24, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    I’m so happy to hear you are in the clear with the pregnancy… and I pray it will continue to be that way. I love the name Zoe.. it is adorable… and the meaning makes so much more special.

    • December 24, 2012 at 7:48 pm

      Thank you, Maysem! Only about 2 more months to go 🙂

      It was funny because we saw Zoe’s face on the ultrasound… just the usual medical 2D kind… and had recently been considering the name Alexa. My husband looked at her and said ” She does NOT look like an Alexa, she looks like a Zoe, which was a name I’d pushed for early on but he hadn’t seemed all that thrilled with. The funny thing is that to be honest the ultrasound picture (which I wish we had brought with us to AZ and I could have posted it here) like most ultrasound photos, if one is truly honest, just looks rather Martian-like. But I am really happy she’s to be a Zoe!

  2. Courtney Shepard said,

    December 24, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    I love the name Zoe! Jason and my nephew’s daughter ( our great niece) has the same name. Vicki’s son’s daughter….to clear things up a bit. But, anyways, so glad to hear you are doing good! I enjoy the pictures of the family you send and that we see on your blog, Take care dear sister and we wish you a Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and much love and health.

    • December 29, 2012 at 8:24 pm

      I didn’t know Josh had a daughter named Zoe! (The last time I saw him he was only 4 years old. I guess I’m not the only one who grows older LOL) Thank you for your well wishes and holiday greetings. I hope you have a wonderful New Year all year long!

  3. ReStitch Me said,

    December 26, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Zoe is a lovely name! I’m so glad you are up and about! 🙂

  4. Nina said,

    December 27, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Glad to hear this, Karen! I never even knew the placenta can move around, but thankfully yours did. Wishing you a healthy and complication-free pregnancy moving forward!

    • December 27, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      Thanks Nina! It’s actually that the placenta was attached to a lower part of the uterus so it covered the cervix. As the uterus expands, if one is lucky and the point of attachment is high enough, the placenta is pulled up and away from the cervix and it is no longer a placenta previa. Thankfully, this is what happened in my case!

  5. Misa said,

    December 27, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    So happy that your baby Zoe-chan is doing well and you’re ok too! I never knew another Zoe… actually it’s my first time to hear the name, very cute name!! I hope you had/are having good and restful family holidays in Arizona 🙂

  6. faerylandmom said,

    December 28, 2012 at 7:09 am

    Wonderful news! God bless you. 🙂

  7. randalin said,

    December 28, 2012 at 10:40 am

    Awesome update! I’m so happy for you and LOVE the name Zoe 🙂


Leave a Reply

