We Said Goodbye… Hello!

Some of you may remember a post here on Folk Haven last April called The Long Goodbye. My mother, who has suffered from progressing dementia for many, many years had just entered hospice care. Even though she was still with us physically she was fading fast and mentally seemed like she had already gone. We were told that we’d probably have about a month or so with her before she’d pass on. We began to make final arrangements, and my brother and his wife flew in from Japan for a couple of weeks. When I posted our family’s update about this situation I received so many kind and caring comments that meant so very much to me.

With my mother as we celebrate her birthday.

Eight months later not only is my mother still with us, but she’s WITH us. We celebrated her 81st birthday with her last Saturday. Whereas in March and April there were times I’d visit when I felt certain she didn’t even know who I was, or if she did she was so disconnected that she just didn’t want to be bothered, now she converses, looks forward to visits, and shows interest in what is going on around her. Of course, she really likes to see Eli and always asks before we come “You’re bringing the baby, right?!” She also remembers that I am pregnant and is looking forward to meeting grandchild number two.

Here she is showing an interest in Eli as he plays with his play dough at the restaurant.

I know people don’t usually enter hospice care to get better, but in her case that is what happened. In fact, as of this month hospice is no longer involved in her care as she no longer qualifies for their assistance!

Although she is doing so much better it isn’t as if her dementia has been cured by any stretch of the imagination, it’s just as though we’ve gone back to how she was a year ago this time (although she seems happier now than she was then!), and her most recent steep decline has been erased. I honestly don’t know how such a thing is possible. There have been no miracle medications or treatments added. We were praying for her peace and comfort through the last difficult transition, not for a cure. Whatever the cause may have been it is a blessing to be granted however much more time this gives us.

12 Comments

  1. November 15, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    Great news!

  2. dawn aldrich said,

    November 15, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    How wonderful! God’s miracle of time. Enjoy every minute with her.

  3. November 15, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    Your post gives me hope. Thanks for sharing.

    • November 15, 2012 at 5:01 pm

      I’m glad! I’m actually over at your blog now reading your latest about your mother treating your daughter to lunch.

  4. blackpaws said,

    November 15, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    That’s lovely!

  5. Maysem said,

    November 15, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    That’s wonderful news Karen! I’m so happy for you and your family. May she continue to be with you to see the new baby and long after that. πŸ™‚

  6. Misa said,

    November 16, 2012 at 2:09 am

    Love the pix of you and your mom… she looks so happy πŸ™‚ We called her and song “happy birthday” for her but I wish we could have been with you guys!
    I’m glad that you’re doing genki too. BTW, I really like your hair style! Beatiful!!

  7. ReStitch Me said,

    November 16, 2012 at 9:26 am

    What happy, happy news! Seriously, going through something so similar with my own mom, your post made me so very happy for you. πŸ™‚

  8. faerylandmom said,

    November 16, 2012 at 4:21 pm

    What a beautiful gift you’ve been given. πŸ™‚

  9. randalin said,

    November 17, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    This is such an amazing story! I’m so happy for your family πŸ™‚

  10. Nina said,

    November 17, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    I’m so happy for you and your Mom! I’m curious too to know what could have caused the shift. Either way, it’s good to hear that it’s an improvement.

  11. Inder said,

    November 25, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Ah. This is so nice to hear! Praying that she continues to enjoy life and gets to meet the new baby! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

