Reversible Bubble Pants

I’ve been doing so much sewing lately to get ready for the little girl we expect next March.   Since a second, very in depth ultrasound (thanks to my “advanced maternal age”, such a lovely phrase, don’t yo think? no? me neither) confirmed that indeed she is a she, I’ve begun sewing girly stuff! (Thankfully all of the important stuff they were looking at in the ultrasound seem just fine!) She does seem to be a modest one though and really made the doctor work to determine her gender, first crossing her legs and later by covering her privates with her hand. But back to the sewing…

I posted that I’d be focusing on cloth diaper accommodating pants, and that’s exactly what I’ve been doing. These first couple I’m going to show you I just love. They are Reversible Bubble Pants from the book Growing Up Sew Liberated. (This is the same book that gave me the pattern for the baby nightgowns.)If these won’t cover a fluffy bottom and still leave room for mobility I don’t know what would!

On the left are the 6 – 12 month side, 0 – 6 months on the right. Right now they seem huge, but babies grow so quickly. I plan to make at least one more pair in the 12 – 18 month size, and then may make second pairs in each size as well after that.

Both pairs of pants  were made from cast-off knit clothing. This pair is in especially pre-loved fabric. I had a wonderful art teacher in high school who made a big difference in my life. My senior year she had a shirt that was made from fabric almost identical to the outer fabric on this pair of pants. A couple of years after graduation I found a dress in a thrift store that reminded me of her and I couldn’t help buying it. I’ve never been one to wear dresses often, but on the fairly rare occasions that I did this was my go to dress for about 6 years after that. When I pulled it out of my closet a week ago I could see it was really hopelessly out of date in style (I’ve worn it perhaps twice in the past 10 years) and had picked up a stain or two along the way. I just had never gotten rid of it due to the sentimental nature of the dress. Cutting it up to make pants for my baby though was easy! I can’t wait to see my daughter in this fabric, and have some more left over that will doubtless become other things for her to wear. (The lining fabric was from a t-shirt. I couldn’t avoid a bit of the printing on the front of the shirt which you may notice at the top of the waist band in the photo. It won’t be visible when worn though, and although these are reversible pants with all seams hidden between the two layers, I’d always want the special fabric on the outside anyway!)

And here is the rear view… Yep, plenty of room for a well padded little tookis!

Thanks for reading!

Here’s where I’m linking up:

Sunday:

I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

jembellish clothes upcycling page

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little BirdsC.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Sarahndipities The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

Tasteful TuesdayNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin,

Jembellish Clothes Upcycling Project, Tuesday Baby Link Up

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableSomeday CraftsLil’ Luna,

Whimsy Wednesday, Whatcha Work Up Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour ProjectsThreading My Way,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Artsy Mama2805,

Just Winging It

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

32 Comments

  1. Nina said,

    October 29, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    These are so cute, Karen! You’re so creative 🙂

  2. Maysem said,

    October 29, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    Aw.. how cute are those! Baby is going to love wearing the things mama makes her:)

  3. ReStitch Me said,

    October 30, 2012 at 7:25 am

    So sweet! Do you have a name picked out yet? 🙂

  4. October 30, 2012 at 10:42 am

    Those pants are adorable, and I love how you’ve used sentimental fabric. 🙂

    • November 2, 2012 at 8:07 am

      Thanks, Melissa! I love reusing fabric that means something to me. I’m especially looking forward to remaking things for my son out of fabric that was well loved by him. At 2 1/2 years old now he’s staring to form attachments to pieces of clothing so soon I’ll be reusing those things as he outgrows them. I have made him some things from cast-off clothing from other family members. I tell him where the fabric came from and now he always tells me about it when I put him into his “Uncle Kevin pajamas”. It’s so cute that that is what he calls them because he know part of them used to be my brother’s shirt. My brother lives in Japan now so it makes it even more special as we don’t see him very often.

      • November 2, 2012 at 12:43 pm

        That’s adorable that he calls them “Uncle Kevin pajamas.” I made my daughter a wool soaker from one of my husbands sweaters, and some nursing pads for me. Fae doesn’t know where the fabric came from yet, but I look forward to when I can teach her those things.

  5. thegrantlife said,

    October 30, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    So cute!! The fabric is beautiful!

  6. katesurfs said,

    October 31, 2012 at 5:07 am

    These are so cute!!! Oh, sewing for girls is a blast! I hadn’t touched my sewing machine in years, and now that I have two girls, I can’t make enough dresses/ cute things, etc. My second girl was also into hiding her private parts 🙂 We decided to keep it a secret anyway, as the technician was having trouble because she was crossing her legs. Even after she was born and we lifted her leg (she was in the water) to take a peak, she gave out a cry of protest like, ‘Hey, don’t look there!’.

    • October 31, 2012 at 7:57 am

      It’s so amazing how they manage to show a little personality so very early on!

      • katesurfs said,

        November 1, 2012 at 4:05 am

        It is strange how you can ‘feel’ their personality even before they’re born. My older daughter was constantly kicking and hiccuping, and now we call her motor mouth (she never stops thinking either, I can tell). #2 would do a few little stretches a day in my tummy and now that we know her, she’s the most chilled out baby! Just incredible to watch it all unfold!

  7. October 31, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    Great work! Very cute, and I love that you upcycled a sentimental piece, perfect way to keep the good memories going. And props to you for already sewing up a storm for your little one. Something about being pregnant made me want to sew everything I could too!

    • October 31, 2012 at 4:19 pm

      I figure I need to get any sewing done now because once the baby comes, between having a newborn and a toddler I’m not sure how much sewing will get done during her first year or so! Thank you so much for your visit and comment. 🙂

  8. Piracetam said,

    October 31, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Wetting Habits: I think of Linc as an average to heavy wetter. I was using pockets for awhile stuffed with a microfiber insert and a Thirsties hemp insert and I was golden. Then at around 6 months Linc started leaking out of his nighttime diapers. That’s when I switched over to fitted diapers with a PUL cover and I haven’t turned back since. I wouldn’t say he’s a super heavy wetter though because I can use just about any fitted diaper with a good cover (I prefer Thirsties, Blueberry, & Swaddlebees) and he won’t leak. It doesn’t have to be a super thick fitted diaper to keep his pee contained for 12-13 hours at night. During the day he’s pretty good in almost any waterproof diaper as long as I change him every 2 hours.

  9. October 31, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    I can’t believe how soft and cozy these look! So exciting!

    • November 2, 2012 at 8:08 am

      I know, I almost wish I could make a pair in my size! (Except I don’t much relish the idea of having to wear a diaper just to keep them up!)

  10. emily said,

    November 1, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    super cute! They look perfect for bloth diapers!! Although some of the newer clother diapers aren’t much bigger than disposables. I found most clothes still fit fine… :o) Comfy clothes are great for little ones! Thanks for linking up to Tasteful Tuesdays at Nap-Time Creations!
    http://www.nap-timecreations.com/

  11. November 2, 2012 at 11:57 am

    SOOO cute! Definitely room for some squirming. 🙂

  12. Inder said,

    November 2, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Super super cute! I love them! And I’m so excited for you, having a little girl. ❤

  13. November 3, 2012 at 9:19 am

    Cute! Great refashion idea. Thanks for sharing.
    Donna @ onceuponasewingmachine.com

  14. November 3, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    I am inviting you to come and share this in my Show Your Stuff blog hop, the party runs from Thursday evening until Tuesday: http://juliejewels1.blogspot.com/

  15. sewexhausted said,

    November 8, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    These are very cute!! I sewed for all of my girls but alas they are all practically grown up now. I miss making matching dresses and summer clothes for three girls! Congrats to you!

  16. Sarah said,

    November 8, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I wish I could sew! This are really cute 🙂

  17. November 13, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Those are perfect for cloth diaper bums! I don’t sew so I just use a size up to accomodate for the bum bulk, but these are great because the legs will be the right size for baby too. I like how you’ve upcycled pre-loved clothes, so sweet for your baby!

  18. elana said,

    June 25, 2014 at 6:41 am

    Quick question: I’m trying to sew these pants for a friend and I’ve gotten to the step where I sew the waistband and add the elastic. Only I don’t understand where to thread the elastic…normally I would fold a waistband over but this one is already sewn and then turned right-side out so there is no place to thread it?

    • June 25, 2014 at 7:58 am

      It was a long time ago now, but I think what I did was after sewing the casing I used my seam ripper to open up one of the vertical seams in the casing. Then after threading the elastic and sewing it together I stitched the small hole shut by hand. That is actually how I end up doing the elastic of all of the pants I sew because I find it easier to thread the elastic without it twisting through a vertical slit than through a horizontal opening at the bottom of the casing. Hope that helps!


Leave a Reply

