Salsa Verde!

My husband loves salsa verde… on just about everything. I used to use it just every once in a while, but with this pregnancy has come a craving for the stuff. We’ve lately going through it to the tune of about a jar a week it seems. Time to start making it myself, methinks.

I had made this in the past but with a difficult pregnancy followed by two years of extreme sleep deprivation and off into the land of prego again I’ve lost a lot of my DIY habits in favor of convenience. But really, this is not all that hard, tastes better and is SO much cheaper. After almost 3 1/3 years though, I found I had to look up the recipe.

I used this one from Eating Richly with only a few minor adjustments. I omitted the sugar, ground pepper and used only 1/2 of the jalapeño.

Combine all of the following ingredients in a food processor or blender.

Tomatillo

Tomatillo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If you are unfamiliar with tomatillos, they look like green tomatoes with a papery husk. The recipe calls for 4 medium to large. I found only mostly small ones at the store so I used 8.

Remove and discard the husk and wash the tomatillos.

Slice in half and place on a lined a baking tray.

Place tray under the broiler until the skins are nicely charred.

Chop 1/2 an onion.

1/2 cup of loosely packed cilantro. I used more; I really like cilantro.

I  don’t like things really spicy so I only used half of the jalapeño, discarding the seeds of course.  Always taste test your individual pepper as levels of hotness from one jalapeño to the next can vary significantly.

Add the juice of one lime,

and salt to taste.

Ready. Set.

Go!

One recipe makes enough to fill two smallish jars. This was the second day in a row I made some as I saw that my initial batch wasn’t going to last long at all. This stuff is addictive! I think the next time I make it I will double or triple the recipe at the outset as it is basically the same amount of work, and then I have some to squirrel away in the freezer.

Here’s where I’m linking up:

Here’s where I’m linking up:

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

What I Wore Sundayjembellish clothes upcycling page

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little Birds,  C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Sarahndipities The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin,

Heart and Soul Blog Hop

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally Sustainable,  Lil’ LunaSomeday CraftsWhimsy

WednesdayWhatcha Work Up Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805,

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

27 Comments

  1. October 26, 2012 at 9:17 am

    Yum!

  2. mamacravings said,

    October 26, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Yumm!! That just seems necessary!

  3. Gail said,

    October 26, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    I also love everything salsa verde! I only made it for the first time a few weeks ago and was surprised at how easy it was. I’m going to try your recipe next time since you love it so much.
    Saw you at Simply Delicious link party — my first!

    • October 26, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      I’m a real wimp when it comes to spiciness so if you like some heat please adjust accordingly! Enjoy!

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  4. LubbyGirl said,

    October 26, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    We love salsa verde!! Now I gotta copy this and try it out.

    • October 26, 2012 at 9:16 pm

      I’d love to hear how you like it. 🙂

      • LubbyGirl said,

        October 27, 2012 at 6:41 am

        I copied the recipe into a Word document so we can try it out. Maybe today when we go grocery shopping I can remember to pick up the ingredients. 🙂

      • October 29, 2012 at 4:47 pm

        I hope you enjoy it! We sure do. 🙂

  5. thegrantlife said,

    October 27, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    LOVE salsa verde. Never realized it was that easy to make! I pinned this so I can try it soon! 🙂

  6. Nina said,

    October 29, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Looks good, and great photos! My husband much prefers homemade salsa any day over store bought as well. But like yourself, pregnancy and parenthood has also made me reach for convenience than home made sometimes 🙂

    • October 29, 2012 at 10:12 am

      At first I felt like such a slacker as going for convenience happened in many, many areas of my life, but really being a mom is first priority and I’ll slowly reclaim my old ways one by one as I’m able… like now with the homemade salsa. I had never thought of making it up in larger batches and freezing it before. It really makes it so much more doable. I hope you are feeling well, or at least relatively so! I think of you fairly often.

  7. Maysem said,

    October 29, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Oh my I LOVE salsa verde too!! I literally just finished the last of my jar.. and was planning on buying another jar tomorrow. I think I’ll go shopping for these ingredients and give this a try instead. Thanks for sharing the recipe Karen!! Pinning it:)

  8. Rachel said,

    October 30, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    There is nothing to I love more than tomatillos – I have GOT to try this recipe!!

  9. Peggy Banks said,

    October 31, 2012 at 1:01 pm

    Just stopping by to invite you to My Wednesday Linky party. http://diycraftyprojects.com/2012/10/whatcha-work-up-wednesday-linky-party-6.html

  10. lisa said,

    November 2, 2012 at 7:48 am

    This looks great! There’s a little restaurant we go to that has the best salsa verde. I never thought of making my own!

    • November 2, 2012 at 8:02 am

      Give it a try, it’s really so easy. And fresh made is so much better than jarred. You can have the restaurant experience at home. 🙂

  11. November 2, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    I am going to have to try this!! We had all kinds of different salsa verde in Costa Rica. Good stuff!!

    • November 2, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      Is eating salsa with your meal less common where you are? I bet you are exposed to all sorts of interesting dishes that the locals make.

  12. Maysem said,

    December 3, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    I made the recipe today! Yum!! It is addictive like you said… Susu and I couldn’t stop eating but we ran out of tortilla chips…aaaah! I think we may be having taco night today… I love using salsa verde in my taco:D

    • December 3, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      Thanks for letting me know! This made my day 🙂 we’ve just run out but the doctor put me on bed rest this weekend so I guess it’s back to the jar for us for a while. If I had known this was coming I would have gotten more put up in the freezer. I can’t believe we already ate up all the batches I made before!

  13. Chickypea.com said,

    December 15, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Mmm, delicious. You make it look so easy. I will have to save this for the summer time.

  14. May 21, 2013 at 8:01 am

    […] Salsa Verde […]


Leave a Reply

