Easy Fix for Toddler Pants That Won’t Stay Up

I’ve been doing a lot of mending lately, most of it makes for pretty dull blog fodder, but it has to be done. I’ll share this particular fix though, because for how very simple and seemingly uninspired it is I actually spent a couple of days trying to figure out how to attack the problem of toddler pants that constantly migrate south.Eli received this pair of pants as a gift over a year ago and I have been awaiting the day when he would finally grow into them. Lengthwise they are now perfect, but they are just a smidge too wide to actually stay up. Even the best looking pair of pants fail to look their best when slipping below the derriere in public.

I had found this excellent and easy tutorial for fixing this problem, but since these pants unbutton I couldn’t run a complete circle of elastic all the way around the inside of the  waist.

Instead I just attached a small length of elastic to each side. It is whipstitched on each end by hand and will be super easy to remove when Eli grows a bit wider.

Simple, huh? So why did it take me a few days to figure it out?? Sigh… But now he’s wearing the pants, and actually objects to removing them, so it’s all good.

7 Comments

  1. Nina said,

    October 5, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Very creative! I love adjustable pants for this very reason.

  2. thegrantlife said,

    October 6, 2012 at 7:26 am

    Thats an awesome idea Karen! Ryley has the same problem.. shes so tall and skinny everything falls off her little tush. 🙂

    • October 13, 2012 at 9:17 am

      I have a friend who just told me she has to use cloth diapers on her toddler just to keep his pants up! I had to stop using cloth diapers because they wouldn’t fit under Eli’s pants and he couldn’t move.

  3. ReStitch Me said,

    October 8, 2012 at 10:19 am

    Clever! Sometimes the simplest fixes are the best! Hope you are feeling well these days! 🙂

  4. Maysem said,

    October 8, 2012 at 8:13 pm

    Great idea!! I just don’t understand why companies just don’t save us the hassle and automatically add adjustable elastic to all kids clothes. I try to avoid buying kids pants or skirts that don’t come with adjustable elastic. Heck, I think adjustable elastic should be added to adult clothes too;)

    • October 13, 2012 at 9:14 am

      I agree! I think that button hole elastic should come with everything, especially for kids.


Leave a Reply

