Baby Nightgown

As much as I was going to hold off on sewing for a little girl until we received confirmation at the 20 week ultrasound, I just couldn’t resist. I remember when Eli was an infant we couldn’t have enough of these baby nightgowns. They make those middle of the night diaper changes go so much more smoothly as you just have to hoist them up, and don’t have to completely undress the little one. I recycled fabric for this nightgown from an adult night shirt and the ribbing from an old tank top, so other than the elastic at the bottom it was pretty much cost free.

Growing Up Sew Liberated by Meg McElwee

The pattern is the Baby Sleep Sack from the book Growing Up Sew Liberated by Meg McElwee. There are so many projects in this book that I want toΒ make, and I know I’ll be making more of these baby nightgowns!

Have you made anything from this book? If so I’d love to hear about it in the comment section. Any links to relevant posts you’ve written are encouraged.

18 Comments

  1. achoate8622 said,

    October 1, 2012 at 11:44 am

    Very very nice! I wish I would of had the energy to make those for my little ones!

  2. ReStitch Me said,

    October 1, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    So cute! I, too, loved this style of baby pj’s. πŸ™‚

  3. October 1, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    We had baby nightgowns like that for our kids, except with drawstrings instead of elastic. They were hand-me-downs, so soft from being washed a gazillion times. Some had long sleeves with pocket “mittens” at the end that we could unfold over a newborn’s hand, to keep them from scratching their face.

    • October 1, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      I love the pocket mittens… They don’t get lost! I was thinking about how I’d alter the pattern a bit next time to include them in the sleeves.

  4. October 1, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    Lovely! I was given a dozen of these little nighties (hand me downs) before my son was born. So nice for changing in the first few weeks. These ones had the hand covers too. That would be such an easy variation on that pattern.

  5. nefermiw said,

    October 2, 2012 at 12:52 am

    Looks great! Hope it fits when your little one is born.
    My daughter was 57 cm and 4.56 kg when born so I almost couldn’t use anything that we had bought for her.
    Of course your adorable night gown is not absolutely length specific which is an added bonus so it can be used for longer even though a new born grows oh so fast.
    I think it’s difficult to find books with more than one or two patterns that you want to make for babies. Hope you get to have time to have fun sewing lots for the baby and Eli. πŸ™‚

    • October 2, 2012 at 7:54 am

      Wow! What a huge newborn! Eli was large too (8lb. 8 oz.), but no where near that big! This pattern is for a very non-specific 0-6 months, but is quite a bit larger than the newborn gowns I have saved from when Eli was new so I think I won’t be able to use it for a while even if this baby is as big as Eli was. I can also make a few the next size up… but I think by the time they’d fit the weather may be a bit too warm so I don’t want to make up many that might end up going unused. One thing I really like about this book is that it has patterns gender neutral clothing through size 5 and toys that will interest a child up to age 7 or so.

  6. Inder said,

    October 2, 2012 at 10:03 am

    I have made this nightgown for a friend’s baby, and the t-shirt for Maggie. I’m learning that the 0-6 mo size is roughly 3-6 mo in retail baby stuff. But with a nightgown, it doesn’t matter if it’s baggy, so it will probably fit fine almost from the get-go. You definitely don’t need to worry that your baby will be too big from it at birth, unless you have a 12 pound baby, in which case, all I can do is wish you the best! πŸ™‚

    Because nights are cool here even in the summer, I think these are perfect even in warm weather. I usually cosleep/bedshare with my babies, but it’s nice to have something with sleeves, since I never cover their top half with a blanket.

    • October 2, 2012 at 12:15 pm

      If I have a 12 pounder the unused nightgowns will be the last of my worries, I think!

      I really liked the little envelope tees you made for Maggie. You always choose the most wonderful fabric. Someday I’ll order something from Spoonflower, but it’s hard to justify now as I’m drowning in fabric I already own.

      Around here in August and September it is so warm I think anything long sleeved would be too much… especially if I don’t want a fan blowing directly on the baby. I just don’t know where this baby will be growth wise at that point. Eli was already in many 12 month items of clothing at 6 months, but perhaps this one won’t be at the farther extreme of the growth bell curve.

      • Inder said,

        October 2, 2012 at 12:34 pm

        Yeah, Oakland nights tend to be cool year round with only a couple warm nights a year (tops), so I don’t have to worry about that as much.

        I know the feeling – Joe jumped up in the percentiles right away and was a huge baby, I hardly got any use out of the smaller sizes. Maggie is a much more petite-to-average sized baby, and is just now ready for 3-6 month clothes now at 3 months. Because of this, many of my hand-me-downs from Joe are not going to be seasonally appropriate for her.

        You could do long sleeves, but not hem them, and just lop them off if it’s too warm. The fabric waste would be really minimal. Hey, look at you, sewing from patterns!!

      • October 2, 2012 at 1:19 pm

        That’s a great idea about just shortening the sleeves if needed. And yea, the whole pattern thing is giving me quite the feeling of accomplishment, small as it may seem to others!

  7. Nina said,

    October 2, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    That looks so professional! You know, I have a ton of sleep sacks and was just going to use those for the twins, but now that I see what you have here, I think these might work better. The sleep sack, for however convenient one zipper is, still isn’t as convenient as simply pulling the nightgown up. I’ll have to find me some of these!

    • October 2, 2012 at 7:57 pm

      I really liked them with Eli because he reacted so much to having the air hit his chest when we unzipped him to change him at night as a newborn. Those ones we just bought, but usually second hand at thrift stores or I’d tell you where to find them. Are you planning on finding out the gender(s) or will you just plan to buy everything gender neutral?

  8. Maysem said,

    October 3, 2012 at 8:13 am

    That’s adorable! I think making nightgowns is okay… you have to prepare somehow don’t you;) Those nightgowns are handy for the middle of the night… huh, it never occurred to me that that may be the reason why they are open at the bottom:P

  9. faerylandmom said,

    October 3, 2012 at 8:20 am

    I loved those nightgowns for my babies! This one is adorable – nicely done!

  10. Rachel said,

    October 4, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    That’s adorable!! So cute.


Leave a Reply

