Eli Contemplates the Baby

ruby love

Photo license CreativeCommons noncommercial use.

When I first became pregnant I didn’t talk too much about the coming baby with Eli. I didn’t want him to begin feeling resentful of his coming sibling for the loss of nursing or the fact that I wasn’t doing much of anything with him anymore. Eli was simply told that Mama was sick. I did explain a couple of times that he couldn’t leap on my stomach when I was laying down because there was a baby in there now, and my husband and I would occasionally discuss the coming baby in his presence but that was about it.

Now however, I’m feeling much better, my belly’s starting to pop, we are nearing the pregnancy halfway point and baby talk has increased exponentially. Eli is becoming quite fascinated and excited about the whole thing. At least a couple of times a day he tries to peer in my belly button to catch a glimpse of the baby.

He also frequently commands “Baby out!” complete with a sweeping hand motion like a magician pulling a rabbit out of a hat. I explain to him that we have a long time more to wait and show with my hands that my belly will have to get bigger, and bigger, and BIGGER before the baby inside is big enough to be born. This always produces a round of giggles on his part. He thinks I’m joking… just wait, if this one is anything like he was I’ll be waddling around with what looks like an impossibly large Β beach ball strapped to my front before we’re done.

I’m not sure if he’s excited about the baby coming for the sake of having a sibling or because he’s been told that when the baby comes Mama’s milk will come back as well. I don’t know if he will still want to nurse by that point but right now he’s pretty keen on the idea. He’s already designated which side will be for the baby and which side will be his. As he is a polite young man, he did assign the baby’s before his own.

Because for so long I stayed home to rest while he went out to play or run errands with his Daddy now Eli asks a number of times before leaving the house “Mama too?” He loves it when we are all together. Yesterday after the usual “Mama too?” as we were preparing for a fun trip to the Barnes & Noble he asked “Baby too?” I assured him we wouldn’t be leaving the baby behind.

I asked him if he thought the baby would be a boy or a girl and with no hesitation he proclaimed her a girl. When asked what he thought her name should be he answered “Baby.”

16 Comments

  1. Maysem said,

    September 23, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    That’s so adorable how Eli is responding to the baby:) I hope it continues to be that way after the baby is born. I was the opposite with my little brother… my mother told me that I kept telling her that I don’t want the baby and wanted to have him shipped off. Then once he was born, she said I couldn’t stay away from him. My brother and I did grow up close and we still are… but I wouldn’t mind having him shipped off at times;)

    I have to agree with Eli… “Baby” is just the perfect name! πŸ˜›

    • September 23, 2012 at 7:54 pm

      Yea, I hope his positive anticipation continues, especially after the baby is born and he finds he has to share so much of our attention! But I think he will be a good big brother, and I think he will really appreciate having a playmate at home once the baby gets old enough!

  2. September 23, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Congratulations! It’s so cute how he’s so aware of the baby already.

    Humnoy is only 18 months and definitely notices my belly now. He does get pretty aggressive when his dad and I swoon over the ultrasound pictures. We try to involve him but he crumples it up and flings it. :-/

  3. September 24, 2012 at 9:38 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I am so out of the loop. So exciting about the baby. And so cute about Eli. I remember loving little family outings too so can totally relate to his reaction. It’s so heartfelt!!

  4. Inder said,

    September 24, 2012 at 8:27 pm

    Joe seemed pretty oblivious to the baby in my belly when I was pregnant, even though I talked it up a lot, so I was delighted when Maggie was born and he made it clear he totally got it all along – “Baby come out of mama’s tummy! Joey come out of Mama’s tummy too! Mama was soooo happy.” Yes, love, I was so happy when you came out of my tummy. ❀

    • September 24, 2012 at 8:32 pm

      Oh, I love that “Mama was soooo happy”! I’ve been leaving comments on your posts but they disappear when I hit publish (grrrr!) It’s not just your blog though, I think Blogger doesn’t like me. Anyway, just wanted you to know I’m loving reading about Joe and Maggie, and all those handmade baby clothes. πŸ™‚

      • Inder said,

        September 24, 2012 at 8:33 pm

        Oh no! Lost comments? That’s not acceptable. I’ll check my spam filter – sometimes it catches things it shouldn’t.

  5. Misa said,

    September 25, 2012 at 4:58 pm

    Eli is soooo adorable! I love that he named your little girl (maybe) “Baby” πŸ™‚
    We showed our pictures with you guys to Chris and Nancy yesterday. I’m missing you already… Please take care and we’re praying for you.

  6. September 26, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Oh this just melts my heart! What a joyful gift it is to be giving a sibling for Eli.

  7. katesurfs said,

    September 28, 2012 at 5:29 am

    Awww… so cute! They just love the belly! When the baby did come and my milk came back in, for my older daughter, it was like all her Christmases came at once! Now she calls them ‘my boobies’… I’m like, actually sweetie, they are attached to me!

    • September 28, 2012 at 10:35 am

      LOL… I hope Eli will want to nurse again as he is so not ready to be weaned yet. Since I had to stop nursing he’s begun using the word “eat” for cuddling and being held as well as for actual eating. He never did that before. He also looks at “his chi-chis” with such a sad, resigned expression on his face. I think that the new baby coming accompanied by milk should go a long way at smoothing over some of the sibling rivalry feelings, at least for a while!

  8. randalin said,

    September 28, 2012 at 4:17 pm

    This is really sweet. Don’t you wish the baby could just come out with a sweep of the arm?? Haha. I think Eli is on to something there!

    • September 28, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      I so agree! “Baby Out!” and *poof*…! If I can just figure out how to make the idea actually work … Oh, and then market it!


Leave a Reply

