Sewing Again… Pajama Bottoms

Please excuse the fact that my blog’s appearance may be changing fairly frequently for a little while. I’m feeling the need to tinker, but am slow and inexperienced so it may be  a while before I settle upon something I absolutely love and decide to stick with.

I finally felt up to rescuing my sewing machine from beneath her 4 month layer of dust this past week as thankfully it seems that most of the morning sickness has fled! Eli has been in rather desperate need for more pajama bottoms for quite a while now. In fact I had cut out the pieces for the green pair just before I got sidetracked by early pregnancy. I’m using the pattern for the Kickin’ Back Sweats found in Sewing For Boys. (The green pants were made from a men’s t-shirt and the blue from two men’s button down shirts with incurable cases of ring around the collar. On the back side of the blue pants I used the pocket from the printed shirt as a back pocket on the light blue side.)

It turns out Eli was just fine waiting. It has been so hot lately that he’s been sleeping in shorts and, as you can see in the picture, these size 2/3 pants are still rather large on him… 4 months and pre-recent-growth-spurt ago they would have been way too huge! I’m glad they are on the large side though because I’m sure these will see him through next Spring even if he continues his incessant rapid rate of growth.

My boy is growing up in more than just stature! Whereas before he’d run away from me whenever I’d try to get him to try on something I’d just sewn for him, now he is so excited to do so. Also, he will now actually stand there and let me take his picture! No more chasing a little whirl-wind taking 237 shots just to get one that isn’t blurry of the newest Mama-made project. Best of all, as soon as I helped him pull the pants up he turned around and kissed my cheek! Really, there is no better thank you. 🙂

And for those who’d like a sneak peak at the little one… Here she is last week at the end of her 15th week of gestation. I say “she” as the doctor was 75% sure that’s the case. It is still early to tell gender though, so I’m not getting rid of Eli’s more boyish baby clothes and any baby sewing will stay pretty gender-neutral until after a more definitive report next month (if the baby decides not to be too bashful.)

17 Comments

  1. 312east5th said,

    September 18, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    i like the new look!

  2. ReStitch Me said,

    September 19, 2012 at 5:41 am

    I too, like the new look. I smiled when reading Eli kissed your cheek. As moms we really don’t ask for a lot when we make something for our kids–a simple kiss makes the time and energy spent worth while. Any names picked out yet for your little one? 🙂

    • September 19, 2012 at 8:59 am

      If the baby’s a boy we’re pretty set on the name Asher with the middle name still in flux (but with quite a few possibilities we agree on). For a girl it’s another story, the names I like my husband doesn’t and vice versa. Since the news last week we’ve been hitting the baby books again in search of a compromise. Wish us luck!

  3. Inder said,

    September 19, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    Yay! Glad you’re feeling better! The pants are super cute, I’ve been meaning to whip up a couple pairs of those for Joe too. Great idea using them as PJ pants. And I’m excited to hear the more “definitive report”!

  4. September 19, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Oh yea! SO glad you’re back! That’s so exciting you’re having a girl! There are so many cute projects for girls!

  5. kate said,

    September 19, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    congrats on the little girl (probably!) ! That is so exciting!

  6. Nina said,

    September 19, 2012 at 7:05 pm

    I agree; nice-looking layout. And how exciting to sort-of find out the gender. My doctor guessed my toddler’s gender too at around the same time—16 weeks—and she was right!

  7. Maysem said,

    September 20, 2012 at 10:55 am

    Aw congratulations Karen!! It’s so exciting to know the gender even if it isn’t a confirmation yet:)

    I always prefer sewing things for the kiddies on the bigger side so it can last longer.. mainly because if I worked hard on it I would like to see it last at least a couple of years if possible!

    The new blog layout is very much you… it has a calm and natural effect to it which I love!

    • September 20, 2012 at 11:12 am

      AT this stage I’m very lucky to squeeze a year of use out of Eli’s clothes as he’s still growing so fast! After a while though that should slow down a bit and we’ll get a bit more milage out of his Mama-mades.

      Thanks for the feedback on the blog design. 🙂

  8. deedeemallon said,

    September 20, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    oh you son Eli is so, so cute! and you will be happy with a boy or a girl, no doubt. You remind me of all the pj bottoms I’ve sewn over the years for my guys… and now I am cutting them up for quilts for them. Glad the morning sickness has passed!

  9. September 21, 2012 at 7:31 am

    How are you feeling with the pregnancy? Feeling better?

    • September 21, 2012 at 8:02 am

      The morning sickness has mostly passed! (Strangely enough the food aversions haven’t, but I’m gaining weight now so it’s all good.) I’m still incredibly fatigued, but just keep reminding myself that I’m getting a lot more done than I was a month ago even if it isn’t all I want to get done. It was like this with Eli, and I know how incredibly worth it it all is!

      • September 21, 2012 at 2:35 pm

        That’s great to hear. Of course, any pregnancy and all its ups and downs is all incredibly worth it in the end. Strangely enough, eating apples and ginger snaps helped with my fatigue and food aversions when I was pregnant with Lucas.
        Enjoy it!!! =)

  10. September 25, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    I like how you cut down men’s shirts to make the PJ pants, especially piecing together the two blue shirts!

  11. thegrantlife said,

    September 28, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Oh my! Eli is getting so big!! He is such a handsome little man! And the pajama bottoms are the cutest! ANDDD!!! Congrats on the baby girl!! Oh my oh my oh my!! So exciting 🙂


Leave a Reply

