I’m Back! (Well, kinda…)

Hello there.

It’s been a while, and I gotta say I’ve missed meeting up with you all here and around the blogging community.

The first trimester is finally over! (Do you hear the Hallelujah Chorus like I do?) We (finally) got in to see the Ob-Gyn last week and got our first glimpse at the little one.

English: 4D echographie. Fetus 12 weeks. Españ...

English: 4D echographie. Fetus 12 weeks. Español: Ecografía en 4D, a un feto de 12 semanas. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Turns out we are about eight days farther along than we had thought, which still has us scratching our heads, but I certainly don’t mind being that much closer to the end! And of course it’s a relief to have made it beyond the point where miscarriage is a great risk. The adjusted due date is just two days before Eli’s 3rd birthday.

As I mentioned before morning sickness has been especially cruel and relentless. Over the past couple of months I’ve tried everything from Seabands (which stimulate acupressure points) to peppermint, ginger, B6 vitamins and countless other safe home remedies recommended to me but nothing did more than bring the level of suffering from a 10 down to a 9. I had wanted to make it through this pregnancy without taking any medication, but after seeing the scale dip down to 96 lbs I was more than ready to accept the anti-nausea prescription from the doctor when we saw her. And now that we’re in the 12th week, I’m finding I’m only needing it about once a day (instead of the 3 times allowable). Hopefully I soon won’t need it at all.

I am slowly regaining a bit of energy, although fatigue is still a huge issue for me. I’m looking forward to easing back into the rhythm of life. My little boy has been missing me, and I him. My husband is really ready to get back to the work of job hunting and taking on more freelance opportunities. And, oh the list of things I want need to sew! I also hope to get back in the swing of things with this blog, but it will most likely remain a bit lower on the list of priorities for a while yet. At the very least I need to get Eli’s latest letter done… It’s only now over 2 weeks late!

15 Comments

  1. August 24, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    So glad you’re almost back! I look forward to seeing all the wonderful sewing projects you have up your sleeve when you feel up to it! I remember I had big plans for all the sewing of maternity clothes I would do during my pregnancy, but I only ended up making one shirt! Oh I had a lot to learn! 🙂

    • August 26, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      Before pregnancy I had thought if I got pregnant again I’d make all of these wonderful clothes I’ve seen tutorials for. Now that I’m actually pregnant I think that the clothes I saved from my last time around should work just fine! Baby things are much more fun to make, even though they won’t be used all that long either!

  2. adohrenwend said,

    August 24, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Hi Karen! So glad to hear that things are getting better with the pregnancy. Please just take care of yourself and your baby. We’re happy to hear from you when you’re READY. Enjoy the pregnancy naps! I miss them.

    • August 26, 2012 at 12:14 pm

      Thanks! I won’t be pushing myself, don’t worry. I don’t think I could even if I want to. I do look forward to not feeling like such a lazy bum someday though! Yea, especially after a second child I imagine naps are a pretty endangered species if not extinct altogether.

  3. ReStitch Me said,

    August 25, 2012 at 5:49 am

    I’ve missed seeing your posts, but have thought of you often, wondering how your pregnancy was progressing. It’s good to hear you are feeling a little better. 🙂 96 lbs!!! I hope you feel up to eating soon! Please, please, take care!

  4. faerylandmom said,

    August 25, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    I somehow missed the announcement – Congratulations! I’m a labor doula & childbirth educator, so if you ever need to talk, or have questions, I’m here. 🙂

  5. Maysem said,

    August 26, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Welcome back Karen!!! You’ve been greatly missed around blogland:D I’m so happy to hear that you are doing much better and I hope you continue to do so. Fingers crossed that this one won’t be like the first… praying for an easy pregnancy, labor, & delivery this time around! I can’t wait to see what you have in store for us:)

  6. randalin said,

    August 29, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Welcome back! I’ve missed you.

    I had terrible morning sickness for the first 18 weeks of my pregnancy. I also caved into taking the meds, but found that they left me soooooo fatigued. Every day I had to decide – do I want to throw up all day or do I want to stay awake? During the week, I’d often have to go with “stay awake” (or I probably would have lost my job!). I hope you start feeling more like yourself very soon!

    • August 29, 2012 at 12:50 pm

      Thanks, Randalin! It looks like things are starting to head back toward getting better. I’m pretty sure if I had been employed during either Eli’s or this pregnancy I would have lost the job. It was a lot easier to just wait it out last time without having a little one to take care of at the same time. I don’t know how folks who have lots of kids do it!

  7. Rachel said,

    September 6, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    You poor thing!! I’m so glad you’re getting over the worst of it. I understand – it’s SUCH a hard phase!

  8. Steenie320 said,

    October 17, 2012 at 12:27 am

    Hey Karen – Congratulations!!! I didn’t realise – I have not been blogging much myself! Wow! You must be over the moon. I am sorry to hear about the sickness though, I never had it and can only imagine how horrid it is. A friend of mine ate ginger buscuits the whole time… got rid of the sickness, but she also gained a lot of weight!! Perhaps not the way to do it. Hope everything goes smoothly from now on and you can start to enjoy the pregnancy more.xxx


Leave a Reply

