Knit Baby Pants: Guest Post from Growing Slower

I couldn’t be more pleased than I am to introduce you to Shannon of Growing Slower! I love her blog which is full of information on green and natural living, especially as it applies to the parenting of wee ones! She graciously offered to do a guest post to help me out during my early-pregnancy-induced break from blogging. While it was hard for me to choose from among the post ideas she offered, in the end I had to go with this adorable knit baby pants. A guest post is really the only way I am ever going to get any knitting on my blog in the foreseeable future, and few things feed baby fever for me as much as seeing knit baby clothing. One day I will learn to knit… in the meantime please join me in drooling over Shannon’s creation! Of course, if you are a knitter, you can do more than drool as she includes links to a free pattern. When you’re done here I highly recommend you head on over to Growing Slower… you’ll be glad you did!

If there is anyone else who might be interested in having a guest post on Folk Haven, please contact me. My schedule’s wide open. 😉
**********************************************************************************

I’m so thrilled to be guest posting here at Folk Haven! I always love sharing my favorite free knitting patterns, both original designs and those by others, so I knew this guest post would be the perfect opportunity for a little show and tell. 


 
 

I had been eyeing this adorable pattern for knit baby pants long before I ever became pregnant. Of course between pregnancy and then becoming a mom, there wasn’t much time for knitting. I’ve finally started getting some yarn back into my hands and it feels so wonderful! At last I have finished this little project! I knitted the 18-24 month size for my one year old BabyE, so hopefully he will still be able to wear them this fall. 


 
 

The free pattern is available from the ymymmytm blog. If you can make a hat, you can knit these pants.  I used three skeins (615 yards) of Berroco Weekend Yarn in Steel Blue #5930. It is almost a perfect match to Baby’s eyes.  As usual I needed to size down (to US size 4) to get the right gauge. As I was working the pattern, I matched it up to some of Baby’s store-bought 18 month pants to make sure I was getting the right size. I ended up needing to add quite a few rows to match the leg length. I added one more 2-row repetition to the moss stitch on the legs. Then I added 35 extra knit rows to the lower legs. 




This was such a fun project. I’m really enjoying these warm summer days, but these cozy pants are making me look longingly toward fall. 

Shannon is a stay at home mom and architect. She’s passionate about  green, natural, and healthy living; recycling; natural birth; knitting; cloth diapering; and of course her own lovely little family. She blogs about it all at GrowingSlower. For more free knitting and sewing patterns, click to subscribe to GrowingSlower.

**********************************************************************************

Thank you so much, Shannon! Love, love, love the pants… and your handsome model! It has been so much fun watching him grow over the past year! 🙂

10 Comments

  1. mamacravings said,

    August 2, 2012 at 7:46 am

    They are so, so very cute!!! I have to forward this to a dear friend who knits.

  2. August 2, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Those pants are adorable!

  3. Maysem said,

    August 2, 2012 at 9:34 am

    Too cute! I really need to learn how to knit too! I don’t know what I’m waiting for. 😀

    Karen: I hope everything is going well with your pregnancy. Been thinking about you and wondering how you are doing. Rest well. We miss you!

  4. Nina said,

    August 2, 2012 at 9:38 am

    Those pants are cute; well done!

  5. ReStitch Me said,

    August 3, 2012 at 4:18 am

    These look oh so comfy!! Can they be made in adult sizes? 🙂
    Hope you are feeling good Karen! It was nice to see your blog pop up in my email. Best wishes. 🙂

    • August 3, 2012 at 8:42 am

      Hehe, I’m sure it could be done! I don’t even want to think about how long it would take me to finish though. 🙂

  6. August 6, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    HI Karen,

    These are so stinkin’ cute! They fit well and they look comfortable – I am amazed at how many baby clothes are neither of those things. I think I am going to have to take up knitting this winter once the garden stuff settles down.

    We’re having our inaugural Eat Make Grow Blog Hop. We are looking for folks to link up who want to share what they have been eating with their families, growing in their gardens or making with all their creative impulses. If you’re interested, I hope you’ll hop on over and link up a couple of your posts. It’s a way for you to grow your readership and find other like minded mamas.

    Hope to see you there,

    Foy
    http://foyupdate.blogspot.com/2012/08/inaugural-eat-make-grow-blog-hop.html

  7. August 20, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    Those are CUTE! Makes me wish I could knit!

  8. October 6, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    […] I’m thrilled to be guest posting over at Folk Haven. She has been a little under the weather lately, but for a very good reason. She’s expecting […]


Leave a Reply

