Announcing…

I’ve been writing this post in my head for days now.

I wanted it to be special.

And it is… just not clever or cute or anything as it really should be.

Today the good doctor confirmed that come next March we will have a new son or daughter, and Eli will have a sibling!

I love this little statue of an elephant with her little elephant growing inside. (It also reminds me to give thanks for just nine months of gestation!)

In the meantime, at least in the foreseeable future, I will be much less present on this blog and in visiting so many of Β the wonderful blogs I follow.

It seems I don’t do pregnancy particularly well. Eli’s was a battle the whole way through, and while I was hoping this time around it would be smoother sailing it seems, thus far at least, to be a bit of a repeat of the first. If only morning sickness was limited to morning hours and didn’t include near constant light-headedness!

Poor Eli is having to adjust to a much less available Mama.

My husband is proving that, as I always expected, he is a superhero in disguise.

I am spending my time hugging mattresses, feeling incredibly hormonal (I’m usually not much of a crier but these days even car commercials seem unbearably touching), watching way too much television because I’m too tired to read, trying not to be insanely jealous of those who glow their way through the 9 months of gestation, dreaming of all things baby, and hoping eventually I’ll be able to become reacquainted with my sewing machine to make a few things before this baby comes.

But, really, if feeling this wretched now means we are in for another child as sweet as our first… BRING IT ON!

So, little one, years from now, when you get around to exploring the archives of your Mama’s blog to see what she wrote about you, please know that while getting you here wasn’t easy, it was worth every bit ofΒ torture discomfort and then some. We can’t wait to meet you, but wait we shall for a good long while yet. And while this first post announcing your existence isn’t exactly pin-worthy (will Pinterest still even exist?) it is written full of love and longing.

Grow well, little one!

31 Comments

  1. 312east5th said,

    July 18, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    Congratulations! That is exciting. I too am not a fan of pregnancy and am extremely envious of those who seem to actually enjoy it! I was very ill with both my boys. It is difficult but you will make it and the time will fly! Lavender spirits worked a little bit, if you have not tried that yet.

    • July 18, 2012 at 7:46 pm

      I have never heard of Lavender spirits before but will be looking into it. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Maysem said,

    July 18, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    Congratulations Karen! You will be in my prayers… praying for an easy pregnancy, easy birth, and a wonderful healthy baby. Boy or girl, he or she will, without a doubt, be welcomed with love by his or her mama, papa, and big brother:) Rest well and take care of yourself Karen. I look forward to meeting the new little one:D

  3. LubbyGirl said,

    July 18, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    That’s exciting news! Now I can’t wait to see if it’s a girl or a boy, and how excited Eli gets to have a new sibling.

    • July 18, 2012 at 7:56 pm

      Thank you! I’ll let you all in on the gender when we know… I’m not good at keeping secrets like that!

  4. July 18, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    Congratulations! My second pregnancy wasn’t much fun, either. Take care of yourself, you’ll forget the bad parts afterwards.

    • July 18, 2012 at 7:49 pm

      Thanks, Heidi! At least this time I’ve been there once before and while the bad parts aren’t particularly enjoyable at least they aren’t as frightening this time around! It’s true it fades from memory after a bit…

  5. dawn aldrich said,

    July 18, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Congrats to you all! What exciting news.

  6. taurusmom18 said,

    July 18, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Congratulations! I’m hoping, despite your rough start again, that this pregnancy lightens up for you. This one did for me. It started the same as the last one (Morning sickness? Try all day sickness) but after a month or two it all went away. If not, try Zofran if you are willing to take medication for the nausea. It was the only thing that allowed me to eat with my first pregnancy! Good luck! If you can bring yourself to post if and when you find out the gender, let us know! I could see you doing a fun gender reveal party! You are too clever and I know I would watch the fun way you would choose to reveal it.

    • July 18, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      It’s encouraging to me that yours started out like your first but then improved! Thank you so much for your comment! Zofran got me through my pregnancy with Eli… without it I think I would have lost him my weight dipped down so low, but this time since Eli is still not completely weaned it is contraindicated. We will definitely be asking to know the gender… how creative the reveal will be will depend on how I’m feeling by that time. Either way though won’t be able to keep the news to myself!

  7. Christine said,

    July 18, 2012 at 7:25 pm

    Horray! Congratulations, Karen! What fantastic news.

  8. July 18, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Congratulations! And take good care of yourself! πŸ™‚ Blessings, Katherine

  9. nitzus said,

    July 19, 2012 at 3:15 am

    Congrats Karen. Take care!

  10. randalin said,

    July 19, 2012 at 8:14 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! I am so thrilled for you! Eli is going to be such a great big brother πŸ™‚

  11. Nina said,

    July 19, 2012 at 9:29 am

    Karen, many congratulations to you, your husband and Eli! Wishing you well in your pregnancy.

  12. ReStitch Me said,

    July 19, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    YEAH!!!! Congratulations!!! How wonderful! I hope you get feeling better soon. I hated morning (all day!) sickness too. It’s hard, but SOOO worth it!

  13. July 20, 2012 at 6:01 am

    Congratulations! That’s such exciting news! πŸ™‚

  14. July 20, 2012 at 10:05 am

    Congratulatios!

  15. Rachel said,

    July 20, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    How wonderful! Congratulations!

    And I feel you on the tough pregnancy. Ali was easy, but Noah was… wow. Just wow. I hope you feel better soon!

  16. bcarlouet said,

    July 20, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    I was sick all the way through my pregnancies, as well. Best of luck and congratulations!

  17. Oster's Mom said,

    July 20, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    So wonderful! Congratulations! I bet Eli is going to be thrilled while preparing for a new little brother or sister. So much fun.

  18. mom2athruz said,

    July 23, 2012 at 4:04 am

    Congrats!!! πŸ™‚ I hope the all day sickness passes for you.

  19. July 24, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Congratulations Karen!! I’m so happy for you! Since everyone else is leaving their pregnancy sickness advice, I’ll throw in my two cents too. Eat lots of protein if you can get it down. I know it’s not always easy, but I found that helped me. Anyway, I will miss your posts. If you’d be interested in a guest post to help fill in the gaps while you’re not feeling well, let me know.

  20. Megan said,

    July 26, 2012 at 5:53 am

    How wonderful (well, not the sickness part)! Congratulations to you and your family!

  21. thecherryfarm said,

    August 1, 2012 at 9:46 am

    Congratulations, dear Karen!!! That’s wonderful news! I hope you will be feeling better very very soon. Get yourself lots of help if you can. I will be missing your posts… Take care! Big hugs

  22. August 24, 2012 at 10:40 am

    […] I mentioned before morning sickness has been especially cruel and relentless. Over the past couple of months […]


Leave a Reply

