Sharing the Laundry Love

When I first began sewing it was to dabble in the realm of quilting. I got most of my fabric from thrifted men’s shirts, but occasionally I would splurge on fat quarters of new fabric. There was a delightful little quilt shop just half a block away from my apartment… so dangerous when you live on a tight budget, yet a great source of inspiration, advice and camaraderie.

So what does all of this have to do with laundry? Well, all of the quilting fabric had to be pre-washed. I had to be especially careful with the new fabric as it could bleed and stain the other fabric or clothing in the load with it. The coin washers and driers in the apartment building where I lived were pretty expensive to use. I couldn’t afford to run separate loads for the small quantities of new fabric I would buy. When sewing I wanted to be able to grab whichever fabric struck me as the right one in the moment, not having to wait until my new fabric reached a “critical mass” before being pre-washed and dried for use.

Shout Color Catcher Dye-Trapping, In-Wash Cloths - 24 ea

Then I discovered Shout Color Catchers. These are little disposable sheets you throw in with your wash. They grab any free dye in the water and fix it so that it can’t be absorbed by other fabric in the load. Now I could wash all of my recent fabric acquisitions, all together, with my other laundry… FULL LOADS! Eeek!

I’m no longer quilting (at least for now) and most of the fabric I use is repurposed from old clothing, but I still have need of the old color catcher. Now it’s more a matter of being lazy and not wanting to separate my laundry. I just want to let enough for a load accumulate and then wash. (Not that I never get behind in doing laundry… that still happens.) I often even use the washer itself as a laundry hamper.(Hey! Don’t judge!)

Now I don’t use the disposable Shout Color Catchers  but this handy dandy reusable cloth called the Carbona Color Grabber.

It claims to be good for up to 30 wash loads. Not so. The first one I had I used multiple times a week for over a year before it seemed to be losing it’s ability to grab errant dye. You are also not supposed to dry it in the dryer, but mine was forgotten when laundry was moved between machines more times than I would care to admit.

Here you see the recently retired, over-a-year-used cloth. It used to be bright white as well.

To show you the wonder that is this product I thought I’d invite you along for its maiden voyage. This is a load of red clothing, including towels that 8 years after the wedding for which we received them still bleed. I threw in a wee white sock as well for dramatic effect.

There you have it. The white cloth no longer white and the sock still as white as it was going into the wash.

I love this product! And since I can’t get my Amazon Associates links to work for me, rest assured that there is nothing in this post for me other than the joy of sharing a little something that has made my life easier and less expensive.

Thanks for reading!

Karen

 

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

What I Wore Sunday

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeC.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful RisingSarahndipities ,

Everything Under the MoonThe Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkiethe space between,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchLil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately ArtisticWhatever WednesdayTrendy TotsWhimsy Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805Pencilled Daydream

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

14 Comments

  1. sally Rawlings said,

    June 20, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Great info!! Thanks Sally In Alaska

  2. adohrenwend said,

    June 21, 2012 at 4:17 am

    WoW! This is so helpful. I love to dye fabrics and old clothes and there is always a risky load or two in there until all the extra dye washes out. I avoid a lot of detergents because of all of the perfumes and other stuff in them, but this reusable towel looks great! You should still try to get your Amazon account up. I’d love to buy one of these and then you’d at least get something for the great post!

    • June 21, 2012 at 6:52 am

      The only active ingredient in the product is treated (ionized) terry cloth, no fragrances or preservatives. What I forgot to mention in the post is that when you can’t use it anymore you still have a sturdy washcloth or rag, just one of questionable color, but still perfectly useable for other purposes. I tried contacting Amazon for help with the account but they haven’t responded. (Not my usual experience with Amazon). I wonder if it could be something to do with the fact my blog a WordPress free account.

  3. faerylandmom said,

    June 21, 2012 at 6:22 am

    I have always loved color catchers…now I want this cloth thingy! Woohoo!

    • June 21, 2012 at 6:57 am

      Yeah, I was thrilled to find the cloth version. It’s so much cheaper to use and when your done you’re still left with a useable rag.

  4. ReStitch Me said,

    June 21, 2012 at 6:37 am

    Sheesh! Where have I been?? I’ve never heard of such a thing! Thanks for sharing and I will be looking for these.

    • June 21, 2012 at 6:55 am

      The disposable sheets I can find in a grocery store, but the terry cloth reusable one I’ve only seen online. I was a little afraid I’d be posting something that everyone already knew about and was using. I’m glad to see I’ve actually been helpful. Yay!

  5. Inder said,

    June 21, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    Wow, I pretty much figured this was a scam – how could such a thing work? Now I need to try it!

    • June 21, 2012 at 6:37 pm

      Yea, it comes in the category “if it seems too good to be true…” but this time you won’t be disappointed!

  6. LubbyGirl said,

    June 21, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award please go to this link to accept and add to your blog: http://remissionary.wordpress.com/2012/06/21/one-lovely-blogger-award-this-is-amazing/

  7. June said,

    June 24, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Great tip, Karen! I had never heard of this product either, and will definitely be passing this tip along!

  8. Maysem said,

    June 25, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Ah so neat! I get lazy washing my new fabric.. as well as like to just throw laundry all at one time too.. ssh don’t tell the laundry police;) Thanks for sharing a very useful laundry secret!

    • June 29, 2012 at 6:24 pm

      Really such a simple thing… but it’s been so useful to me. Hope you find it helpful as well!


Leave a Reply

