Happy Father’s Day!

My beloved husband,

Before I ever met you, when thinking of the sort of man I wanted to marry, the most important characteristic was that he be a good father.

Over the past two years you have surpassed any vision that I had of what that would look like. You were with me the entire time during the labor and delivery, giving me so much support through your calming presence.You have never flinched during or deferred from diaper duty. You know how to sooth and comfort even when the object of your kindness sounds like a fire siren 3 inches from your ear. You endure nightly encounters with a restlessly sleeping toddler’s fists, knees and elbows without complaint. You have spent countless hours dancing, bouncing and singing Eli to sleep when I feel like I can’t nurse another minute. You are so patient and help to ground me when I’m at my wit’s end after a long day of toddler care.

You know how to cut a rug with Eli in a way I could never do. You delight in your son in so many different little ways, and make sure I share the moment as well. You spend quantities of time giving Eli focused attention in a way many other fathers don’t until their children are much older. And many other fathers never will at all.

And I could go on and on, but you are coming in the door with Eli after spending time together outside.

I thank God that he answered my prayer said for so many years, so many years ago. In you He gave me all I asked for and so much more!

Happy Father’s Day!

14 Comments

  1. June 17, 2012 at 11:37 am

    We are pretty lucky ladies with very lucky kids to have the kind of dads they have ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. June 17, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    ah, patience a lovely trait

  3. Misa said,

    June 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I love the photos.Jeff is great!! We are both soooo blessed with wonderful husbands ne!? โ™ช( ยดโ–ฝ๏ฝ€)

  4. mamacravings said,

    June 17, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    Love, love, love this!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. ReStitch Me said,

    June 18, 2012 at 9:30 am

    So much love and appreciation! A beautiful post.

  6. Inder said,

    June 18, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Aw, so sweet! I’m also blessed with a husband who is a stellar dad. He spent father’s day in Las Vegas going to a friend’s bachelor party – a much deserved break from being a stay-at-home dad! Happy father’s day to all of the wonderful dads out there!

  7. Maysem said,

    June 18, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Beautiful post Karen. Without a doubt your husband feels the same way about you:)

  8. June 18, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    What a lovely, lovely tribute! Sounds like you have quite the keeper. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Liesl said,

    June 19, 2012 at 9:48 am

    What a beautiful post. And what a lucky boy (and lucky lady) you are to have him in your lives.


Leave a Reply

