Colorful Fizzy Fun!

When I saw this idea from indulgy.com on Pinterest today I decided it was the perfect activity for my fussy feverish little boy.  Basically it involves a dropper, small containers full of food coloring and vinegar and a pan with a layer of baking soda.Side note: See the smaller bowl  of red? Supposedly it is blue. I spent way too much buying all natural food dye in our quest to avoid all artificial coloring in Eli’s food. My initial reason for buying it was to make Cookie Monster cupcakes for his birthday. They were made and served, but there is a reason why they never appeared on the blog. Interestingly the green dots in the baking soda below came from that bowl so the color isn’t as off as it would initially seem. Anyone out there with any suggestions for good food coloring options for people going the all natural route?

The little one didn’t seem in the least put out by the quality of his colors though. He just really liked watching them fizz.

It’s a great activity to work on pinch strength and control.

I’m a fan of any activity that lets a great little guy forget he feels crummy for a little while.

I didn’t get a picture of the best part of all. When we were all finished with the activity we dumped all of the leftover dye and baking soda down a sluggish drain in the bathroom. Then Eli gleefully added quite a bit additional vinegar. while exclaiming “Whoa!”

Here’s where I’m linking up!

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

What I Wore Sunday

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeC.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home,

Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful RisingSarahndipities ,

Everything Under the MoonThe Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkiethe space between,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchLil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately ArtisticWhatever WednesdayTrendy TotsWhimsy Wednesday

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit BearThriving on Thursdays

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805Pencilled Daydream

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

18 Comments

  1. LubbyGirl said,

    June 16, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    My friend’s kids would LOVE this activity! I have to share this on Facebook so she can see it.

  2. Kelley said,

    June 16, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    How fun! Defiantly trying this with Ryley! Hope Eli feels better! 🙂

  3. dirty30sblog said,

    June 16, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    I’m putting this at the top of our activity list! Looks so fun and easy enough for even me to execute! Thanks!!!

    • June 17, 2012 at 8:22 am

      That’s what I liked about it, being able to see the idea, grab a few materials already in the house and get it going in under 10 minutes! Have fun!

  4. Maysem said,

    June 18, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Isn’t it amazing the things that can distract the little ones? No need for any fancy toys or tv as a distraction. All that is need is some creativity and a simple project. I’m going to remember this activity when I need to entertain my little nephews or niece:)

  5. June 18, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    I love it! We’re definitely going to try this one soon. Thanks for sharing!

  6. blackpaws said,

    June 18, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    This looks great! I’ve been needing some activities recently for sick kids. Yesterday I did the yoghurt container, paint and marbles and we shook that around. Now I need to find some eye droppers to do this activity with! Love it!

    • June 18, 2012 at 10:03 pm

      I used the dropper from the empty infants’ acetaminophen container. Hope your little ones are feeling better soon!

  7. zayniej said,

    June 21, 2012 at 8:05 am

    I like this! I’m not sure if my one year old has the coordination to squeeze the dropper (in fact I highly doubt it) but I know she will love watching the fizzing and the colours.

    • June 21, 2012 at 4:12 pm

      You can file the idea away for later or do the dropper squeezing for her (or both!) Either way, it is a lot of fun. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  8. June 22, 2012 at 12:24 am

    […] Then it was time for painting by vinegar which I was inspired to do from here. […]

  9. June 22, 2012 at 2:03 pm

    I have this pinned, too – and have everything but the droppers. I need to find some stat!

    • June 22, 2012 at 2:41 pm

      I just used the dropper from the generic baby tylenol container. Considering Noah’s recent fever you may have an almost empty bottle of that around too. A real dropper would work better though because you could pull more up into it.

  10. July 13, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    […] recent interest in painting it seemed like the perfect time to give it a try. After being disappointed by the set of natural food colors I went ahead and picked up a pack of conventional food colors for this project. There are other […]

  11. September 20, 2012 at 5:26 am

    Reblogged this on Marilyn Lopez Pages.


Leave a Reply

