Sakura Revisited

Giveaway Closed. Thank you to all who entered. ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

A little while back I wrote ย a post about the cherry blossom tea I was enjoying thanks to a gift from my sister-in-law, Misa. Well, my brother and his wife are now here from Japan to spend some time with my mother (and the rest of us as well).

And they came bearing gifts!

This was the wrapping covering the box of delicious Sakura (cherry blossom) pastries we received. Shamelessly ripped open as you can see.

In my original post I received a comment asking if the cherry blossom was edible. I knew it couldn’t hurt you to eat it but I had no idea it could be used in such a delicious confection!

I can’t go back and get a shadow free photo because these didn’t last long! The outside is made of mochi, a paste made of pounded glutinous rice. If you are not familiar with mochi ice cream (and can indulge) try out the mochi covered ice cream balls they sell at Trader Joe’s. You’ll thank me.

Sliced open, the cherry blossom paste filling is revealed! SO creamy, sweet, delicious… and now gone (shuddering sob-stifling sigh….)

I wondered if Eli, super-picky eater extraordinaire, would like it.

Um,… that would be yes.

So now to reward you for reading through a post about an incredible treat you probably can’t find to buy, and I can’t give a tutorial about how to prepare (yea, sorry about that…), I am happy to announce that Kevin and Misa brought me an extra container of cherry blossom tea.

A cup of sakurayu

A cup of sakurayu (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, if you would like to try the tea for yourself leave a comment below. I’ll choose the winner at random next Sunday (4/22/12). If you didn’t see my post about the tea and want to know more go here.

Good luck!

Karen

8 Comments

  1. Kelley said,

    April 15, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Ohhh.. that does look delish! And what a fun giveaway! Youre too kind!

  2. dawn aldrich said,

    April 16, 2012 at 5:33 am

    Karen,

    Please give our best regards to Kevin and Misa. We’d love to reconnect with him if he’d allow it. Such a nice photo of all of you.

    Dawn

  3. ReStitch Me said,

    April 16, 2012 at 4:46 pm

    How fun for you–a giveaway AND a visit with family!

  4. mamacravings said,

    April 17, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Oooh!!! I can’t help but drool over that gorgeous pink color! How fun! And it looks delish.

    It looks like you guys had a wonderful family visit. What a blessing!

    Giveaways are ALWAYS fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • April 23, 2012 at 3:45 am

      You won! Please send me an email (folkhaven@gmail.com) with your mailing address. Thank you for entering. Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. manda said,

    April 22, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Might be too late but I would love to try the tea! Great giveaway!


Leave a Reply

