An Open Letter to California Legislators

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author of this guest post and do not necessarily reflect the official position of Folkhaven or its associates.

**********************************************************************************

Dear California Legislators,

Let me introduce myself. My name is Eli. In a mere 16 years I shall be an active constituent and as such I feel it is never too early for my voice to be heard!

Let me shake your hand.

I would like to bring to your attention my thoughts and feelings about our current state Child Safety Seat Laws. They state as follows:

Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat. 

Now I think you may find cause to reconsider once you can see what a happy place the back seat can be in the absence of the dreaded child safety seat.

 Be sure to note the sparkling eyes and the open mouth grin. Surely every family with chronologically-challenged members in the state of California deserves to experience more of this sort of happy moment of conviviality in their lives as they prepare to rush about to their various destinations.

Just look at the range of movement allowed! I can look all the way to the side without finding me nose smashed in the side of the head protector thingy.

And surely you remember how fun it was to play in the backseat unfettered during your childhood back in the 1950’s, 60’s and 70’s. You probably stood on the back seat and played with your matchbox cars on the back dashboard, waved at the people driving behind you, or stretched out luxuriously on the backseat for a delicious nap when the journey got a little long (assuming, of course, the rest of the seat wasn’t packed full of siblings!) How can you now deny such pleasures to the rest of us who are also yearning to breath free in the back seat?!

But no! We are strapped and restrained mercilessly, even to just go to the corner grocery store. And now I learn that I have to look forward to 6 more years of this inhumane treatment?!

Please tell me you will reconsider, and will look at this issue from the viewpoint of those most affected by your decisions!

You are our only hope!

(Car accidents, you say…  road safety studies? What are those?)

Sincerely,

Eli

5 Comments

  1. Maysem said,

    April 13, 2012 at 9:23 am

    LOL! That’s an adorable letter;) I think Eli would have a large following if you rallied and petitioned! 😀 Thanks for the good laugh Karen:) Suraya just turned 8 last week. She tells me that she doesn’t need the booster anymore. She may be right since it is based on weight and height in Illinois (if I remember correctly reading it a few years ago). I guess I should look it up again… just maybe I’ll have some great news for her! Until then, in the booster she shall remain:D

    • Jason Shepard said,

      April 14, 2012 at 11:25 am

      Hi, Maysem:

      In Illinois, the law states that the child must remain in a booster seat until the age of 8 or until the child exceeds 80 pounds or until the child’s head is higher than the back of the booster/seat when seated properly. Once your child meets any of those 3 conditions, she may be removed from the booster legally 🙂

  2. Sleeping Mom said,

    April 13, 2012 at 1:36 pm

    Ha! My kid could have written that when he was still in the bucket car seat. Now that he’s in a bigger carseat he doesn’t mind. Oh the things we do for their safety!! lol

  3. Kelley said,

    April 13, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    HA!!!! I laughed out loud (in the dark living room.. alone..). This is too stinkin cute! That little boy has such a great personality 🙂

  4. Petra said,

    April 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    He is sooooo cute. Yeah, we survived! lol. As Ava always says, “It’s hard to be a kid.”

    On the other hand, those kids are always like, “No! Don’t start the car! I’m not strapped into my seat yet!!!”


Leave a Reply

