Celebrating the Cherry Blossom

Yesterday I uncovered this gem in my cupboard, a tea made of cherry blossoms preserved in salt that my sister-in-law Misa gave me last year. It is called Sakurayu and is substituted for green tea at special occasions like weddings.

I had enjoyed it for a while, but as I didn’t drink tea as often in those days it eventually got hidden behind other things in the cupboard and forgotten. (Active baby who insists on being held much of the time + hot beverage =  recipe for disaster!)

It was the perfect time to make the rediscovery! Spring (and therefor cherry blossom season) has arrived, and I can now enjoy a hot drink around Eli without likely mishap. It was so nice to find this unusual and special treat again.

Oops... I fogged up the camera lens with the steam. It does look kind of dreamy though.

You could rinse the salt off beforehand I suppose, but I just brush the flowers off a bit. I like the salty taste combined with the subtle sweet and tart cherry flavor. We’ve also been battling a string of viruses here lately and drinking this tea a little bit salty feels good on a sore throat.

Taken from a bit off to the side things are a lot clearer.

Most of all I love to see the flowers bloom when placed in the water. So beautiful and relaxing!

Kevin and Misa

And drinking this tea makes me feel a little bit closer to my brother and his wife who are now living in Kyoto.

cherry blossoms

cherry blossoms (Photo credit: Peter Lee(이원희))

As I wrote this post, I found I wanted to learn more about cherry blossom (Sakura) season. One of the first articles I hit upon was this one from abcnews. It was there I learned that this month is the 100 year anniversary of the 1912 gift of 3,000 cherry trees given to Washington DC by the city of Tokyo.

The National Cherry Blossom Festival, running annually since 1937, is now in full swing.

Cherry Blossom festival commemorative stamp

Japanese cherry trees (Sakura), a gift from Ja...

Japanese cherry trees (Sakura), a gift from Japan in 1965, adorn the Tidal Basin in Washington, D.C. during the National Cherry Blossom Festival. The Washington Monument is visible in the distance. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

11 Comments

  1. March 28, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    I feel so relaxed after reading your post.

  2. ReStitch Me said,

    March 29, 2012 at 5:12 am

    I’ve heard of this tea before, but never have seen it. The blossom is so pretty in the tea cup! Maybe a silly question, but, do you drink the blossom? 🙂

  3. March 29, 2012 at 6:11 am

    Beautiful pictures and great post! We travel frequently to DC with students. Last week was the peak of the blossoms, it was gorgeous! We posted about it on Tuesday, with pictures. I think I’ll go get a cup of tea now!

    Blog post: http://scholasticablog.com/2012/03/26/national-cherry-blossom-festival-in-washington-d-c/

  4. dawn aldrich said,

    March 29, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Such a sweet pic of Kevin & Misa. Please give him our best when you speak with him. Praying for you today.

  5. Misa said,

    March 29, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    Karen, lovely pixes! I’m glad you’re enjoying the SAKURA tea. We live in the town called ” Sakura-goka” which means ” cherry blossoms hill”. There are many Sakura trees along streets and we’re looking forward to enjoying them soon. You konw, Sakura trees look like dead in winter… black and dry brances without any leaves. But when spring comes, suddenly they come to life and bloom beautifully. It riminds me that God makes all things beautiful in His time. I’ll be praying for you and your family, especially His loving eyes on Eli.
    BTW, you can eat the blossoms!

    • March 29, 2012 at 6:31 pm

      Thank you for your prayers, Misa.

      I am so curious as to how people eat the blossoms, other than to preserve them for tea?

  6. April 15, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    […] little while back I wrote  a post about the cherry blossom tea I was enjoying thanks to a gift from my sister-in-law, Misa. Well, my brother and his wife are now […]

  7. May 1, 2012 at 10:51 am

    […] Celebrating the Cherry Blossom (folkhaven.wordpress.com) Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tags: Anthocyanin, Cherry, Cherry blossom, fruit, funny poems, George Washington, humor, humorous poems, poem, poems, Prunus, vitamin C Comments RSS feed […]


Leave a Reply

