Images of Ireland

In September 2006 I had the privilege of accompanying my husband on a business trip to Ireland and Turkey. (After business was completed we stopped by Spain on the way home. Some photos from that part of the trip can be found here.)

We were only actually in Ireland for a day and a half, and it was raining much of that time, but there was a few hours when the rain subsided and our gracious hosts took us on a drive through the countryside of County Cork to the Glengarriff Nature Reserve.

Here, in no particular order, are some of the lovely sights we were treated to that day.

I have always had a thing for old cemeteries. I wish I could go back and spend a long while there reading any stones that are still legible and imagining the lives of the people resting there. (Yes, I’ve been told many times that I’m a bit strange.)

This looks like a storybook cottage to me. So peaceful…

Wouldn’t it be great to spend a day like you’re 9 years old again, exploring this stream and enjoying a picnic on a mossy bank?

We saw the ruins of a small castle.

Here is a view from inside the tower.

And what about this red-haired, blue-eyed beauty? I had thought all cows had brown eyes. I was delighted to find I was wrong.

I had always wanted to see Ireland since I was a young girl. Now I fervently hope to be able to go back one day as my short time there just whetted my appetite for more.

Thanks joining me on my little trip down memory lane. Have a wonderful St. Patrick’s Day. 🙂

Karen

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Sunday:

Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesMy 1929 Charmer Blog,

Monday:

Get Outta My Head PleaseSkip to My LouThe Gunny SackSew Can Do,

Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeDittle Dattle,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet homeCraft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities Just Winging ItEverything Under the Moon,

The Cure for the Common Monday

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch BoutiqueSchwin and Schwin

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately ArtisticWhatever WednesdayTrendy Tots

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love Creations,

Between U & Me,  Anything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestFrench Country Cottage, The Charm of HomeThe Grant Life,

At the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge, One Art Mama2805

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

18 Comments

  1. Janean said,

    March 13, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    Thanks for posting. Im Irish, so this was really fun to see where my ancestors are from. Found you from Tip Junkie!
    Thanks. xoxo janean@howikeepsane.

  2. jai long said,

    March 14, 2012 at 1:35 am

    i’ve been to ireland once, loved it

  3. March 14, 2012 at 2:39 am

    Beautiful pictures.

  4. ReStitch Me said,

    March 14, 2012 at 6:07 am

    Lovely pictures!!!

  5. Kelley said,

    March 14, 2012 at 11:20 am

    Beautiful pictures Karen! Ireland is one of the places I want to visit 🙂

  6. Maysem said,

    March 16, 2012 at 6:46 am

    Beautiful pictures! They inspire to want to make a trip there too:) I love old stuff too (maybe not as much so cemeteries..lol;) )… I can just feel the history and I too try to imagine people’s lives and how they lived. Thanks for sharing your trip and your memories:)

  7. Rogene said,

    March 16, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    Absolutely beautiful!

  8. Mimi said,

    March 17, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    Thanks for sharing these amazing images of Ireland.

  9. maria said,

    March 18, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    wow, these are lovely. Someday I’m gonna visit Ireland too!

  10. March 19, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    Isn’t Ireland the best?!? I have been twice and can’t wait to get back again. My first trip made me believe in genetic history since upon smelling a peat fire I thought “I am home!” (I am part Irish). And I loved walking around the church cemeteries checking the names and dates and doing just as you do, wondering about their lives (so you are not weird!). Visiting from diy home sweet home’s Monday linky party.

  11. March 20, 2012 at 11:27 am

    I want to go to Ireland so bad! It’s looks so beautiful and that’s where my relatives are from. Thanks for sharing those pictures!

  12. March 20, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    Enjoyed your trip down memory lane. I’ve also wanted to go to Ireland, such a beautiful country. Love that cottage, so would want to live there. Also I didn’t know cows had blue eyes! Great pics. Thanks for sharing your creative inspiration at Sunday’s Best!

  13. momontimeout said,

    March 21, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    So picturesque! I’ve always wanted to visit Ireland. Thanks so much for sharing at Mom On Timeout!

  14. March 21, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    Beautiful photos!!! I would love to go.

  15. Sherry said,

    March 22, 2012 at 8:41 am

    Beautiful! Thank you for joining me at Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  16. April 10, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    These photos are so awesome. Those are some of my favorite countries…everyone is always surprised to hear our favorite vacation was to Turkey. Thanks so much for sharing. 🙂

  17. April 22, 2012 at 2:40 am

    […] trip that I was able to share with my husband that I’ve bloggged about in the post of the photos from Ireland. After leaving the Emerald Isle we went on to […]


Leave a Reply

