A Sewing Conundrum Resolved

Here are the knee-pleat pants that almost weren’t. (If interested you can read part 1 of this saga here.) Thank you so much to those who gave me advice about how to go about salvaging them! (And, of course, I am so appreciative of all those who offered support or said they would be praying for Eli’s testing as well!)
Pardon the blurry photo!

One interesting suggestion was to put in a diamond crotch gusset, which I had never even heard of before. I Googled it and learned that it is used to allow for greater range of motion by people with very active life-styles (read “Chuck Norris”). I think it would be a great idea for toddler pants. However I also needed to increase the amount of fabric around the waist and hips so I went with the bum-wedge in the end. I intend to explore the diamond gusset idea in the future though.

I opened up the seam running up the back of the pants.

I measured the necessary width for my wedge, REMEMBERING to include seam allowances this time!

Here it is sewn into place.

I took the tag from the back of the jeans I had taken all of the denim fabric from for these pants, removed the brand portion and sewed it into the back of the waistband. If nothing else these pants are “Original” (even if the tag is not)!

I had Eli model the jeans so I could quickly get some photos as it may be a couple of days before I get them to Alan.

Alan won’t fill them out quite as much and I think they will fit him just fine. You can see the knee pleat is rather below the knee. Once Alan grows taller and the cuff is flipped down I think it may be in the right spot. We will see if it still fits him well enough to still be worn when he is a couple of inches taller. If he is at all like 2 of his sisters, i think there is a good chance it will.

I had originally planned for this project to be used as a tutorial and took many pictures along the way. I don’t feel that I have much of a voice of authority for teaching others this time around though when I messed it up so royally. I do like the knee pleat idea though and will likely revisit it before too long and do a tutorial then.

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch Boutique

all crafts Homemade Projects ~ Add Yours! {1/3}

10 Comments

  1. Ajaire said,

    January 17, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    They turned out great! I think you could get away with a tutorial just for the knee part. It would be applicable to so many pants patterns that it could easily function as a stand-alone.

    • January 17, 2012 at 5:54 pm

      Thanks, maybe I will. Especially if I don’t get around to making a new pair soon.

  2. ReStitch Me said,

    January 18, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Great fix Karen! I will look forward to the knee pleat tutorial!

  3. Inder said,

    January 18, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    They look great! Well done! The skinny leg is super hip.

  4. Kelley said,

    January 18, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Awww.. they turned out great Karen! I love the original tag.. perfect for these one of kind jeans!

  5. Pam said,

    January 20, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    The contrasting fabric and pocket look great with the denim…

  6. January 20, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Thank you for linking up to Show Your Stuff last week, I have this week’s edition up and invite you to come back:

    http://juliejewels1.blogspot.com/2012/01/show-your-stuff-7.html

  7. January 25, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    […] I forgot to add seam allowances when I traced an existing pair of his pants for the patter. In the end the pants were salvageable, but I didn’t think they were worthy of putting out there in tutorial […]


Leave a Reply

