Popcycle of Tucson’s 4th Ave.

Fourth Ave. in Tucson, AZ is an interesting place to spend some time poking around.  We tend to make a visit every time we are in town visiting family. There are funky shops, great little cafes and restaurants, and a large Value Village thrift store.

One shop in particular caught my attention on this visit. Presenting Popcycle.

As per the back of their postcard above, they carry “recycled, upcycled, green & sustainable gifts, accessories, apparel, & furniture.”

I liked these signs made with old license plates.

Here were a few whimsical robotish creations.

Notebook covers made from old vinyl records.

Monster-head design were in abundance around the store.

I’m not sure how comfortable these belts made from old car seat belts would be.

But they would certainly be more comfy than the cactus bikini… at least for the person on the receiving end of a hug.

Old door knobs… decorated hanging pegs?
 There were many more things but someone official told me they only allow a few photos per visitor. Ooops! I’d already taken more than a few so I stopped at that point. I suppose they have to protect themselves from people who get inspired and then make things themselves… especially if they have blogs and share ideas with other easily inspired sorts.
As my goal isn’t depriving them of their livelihood, but rather just sharing something that I find interesting. (‘Cause if you know me at all you know I love putting old junk to new use!) If you happen to be in Tucson you can find this store at 422 N. 4th Ave. (520-622-3297) or you can find them on the web at www.popcycleshop.com. It looks like they sell to wholesalers but not individual consumers online.
(It should also be noted that I am in no way connected with this store. They did not ask me to do this post nor are they aware of it’s existence – unless perhaps they google themselves someday. I am not receiving any compensation for anything I have written.)
Here’s where I’m linking up:

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady Porch,  Lil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately Artistic

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageFun to CraftHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsA Glimpse Inside,

Between U & MeHappy Hour ProjectsAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFrench Country Cottage,

The Charm of HomeThe Grant LifeAt the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge,

Stuff and NonsenseOne Art Mama2805

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

Sunday:

LambAround,  Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo Toes,

Petite HermineMy 1929 Charmer Blog

18 Comments

  1. ReStitch Me said,

    January 11, 2012 at 6:10 am

    My sister recently moved to Arizona. Would love to visit this store someday! Thanks for telling us about it!

  2. January 11, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    What an interesting store!!!

  3. January 12, 2012 at 10:37 am

    Very cool and I LOVE that you’re a babywearing family!! I like to think of it as getting my hugs on-the-go. I live in the suburbs with strollers aplenty, so a lot of people find it odd that I’d go to the effort of carrying my daughter around when I can so easily put her on wheels.

    And I feel the need to apologize that store because I totally got some ideas just reading your post. 🙂 Oh well – I wasn’t planning to visit AZ anytime soon…

    • January 12, 2012 at 11:14 am

      I love baby-wearing and our son much prefers it to the stroller. We also live in the suburbs and have friends, family and neighbors who find it odd, but that’s ok. It’s what works for us. (Never tried to nurse my baby while he’s in the stroller, but I bet it would be a bit less discreet and comfortable!) Unfortunately I’m quite small and Eli is now over 30 lbs so I’m not sure how much longer I can do it with this one.

  4. Judy said,

    January 12, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    LOVE the vinyl notebook cover…simply awesome! I think I would be willing to try those belts too 🙂

    • January 13, 2012 at 9:04 pm

      I was wondering how difficult it would be to cut the record that way. The edges weren’t chipped of anything. But even if I got it cut right I wouldn’t know how to make a perfect spiral binding.

  5. January 13, 2012 at 9:56 am

    I would love to poke around in that shop! It’s a great find!

    • January 13, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      It really was a lot of fun. I hope to go back and spend more time someday without a curious toddler wanting to touch everything in tow!

  6. Susan said,

    January 13, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Very unique shop. Must be fairly new. I’ve been on 4th Avenue many times. I don’t recall a Goodwill, though. I think I remember a Value Village…similar to Goodwill. Thanks for the memories. Susan

  7. January 13, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Thanks for the correction, I changed it in the post. 🙂 I think the store is new as I didn’t see it when I was there last summer, or the previous Christmas.

  8. Kelley said,

    January 13, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    I love this post! I read it earlier in the week but didnt comment. Your pictures are great.. such a unique little place for sure 🙂

    Thanks for sharing this at my Friday link party Karen.. youre the best!

  9. January 14, 2012 at 6:56 am

    Thank you for linking up last week for Show Your Stuff, I have this weeks edition up and running:

    http://juliejewels1.blogspot.com/2012/01/show-your-stuff-6.html

  10. ann said,

    January 14, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    Those robot tins are fantastic!!! I especially love the record albums (little play on words there). I would love this shop–my kinda place.
    Ann

  11. amy said,

    January 16, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    How fun!! Looks like a great place to browse! Thanks for sharing at Shine on Fridays!

  12. January 17, 2012 at 11:33 am

    I want to go, looks like a fantastic place to shop! Thanks for linking up to Refresh Your Nest Friday!

  13. Dr Sonia S V said,

    January 18, 2012 at 12:37 am

    I loved the ideas you have shared. I am a big recycle fan myself!

  14. Natasha said,

    January 19, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    such a great shop

    Thanks for linking up to Serenity Saturday
    Hope to see you next time

    Natasha xx


Leave a Reply

