Replacing a Broken Snap with a Button

I bought a box of clothing for Eli from someone on Craigslist many months ago. I just pulled out these pants from storage as he is going up a size, and found that the snap is broken.

It’s one of those pants with the adjustable waistband. (I’d love to shake the hand of the genius who first put the buttonhole elastic in the back of toddler jeans!) Not a pair of jeans I wanted to shrug my shoulders and cut up for another purpose.

First I used a small sharp pair of embroidery scissors to trim out the broken snap.

Then I cut a small circle of denim from another old pair of jeans. I was lucky to have one that was a very similar shade of blue in my stash.

I then stitched it into place using a blanket stitch to contain the raw edges of both the denim patch and the jeans.

  

Afterward I thought that I should have made sure the fabric grain was matched up a bit better. Oh well, next time…

The “button hole” had never been cut open as with a snap it had just been sewn for looks. I used the embroidery scissors to do the honors.

 

I chose a button that would fit through the button hole opening and sewed it on. If the stitching around the patch or the button threads seem to bother Eli when he wears the pants I can always go back in and sew a piece of shirt fabric over the whole thing, but if it isn’t necessary nobody will be seeing this side of the patch when he wears the pants.

Here is the finished repair. I’m glad I didn’t just toss these jeans.

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutBear Rabbit BearSorta Crunchy,  Saved by Love Creations,

Happy Hour ProjectsAnything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry,  Happy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFrench Country Cottage,

The Charm of HomeThe Grant LifeAt the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge,

Stuff and NonsenseOne Art Mama2805

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

Sunday:

LambAround,  Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo Toes,

Petite HermineMy 1929 Charmer Blog

Monday:

{aka}/ designGet Outta My Head PleaseMad in Crafts, Skip to My Lou,

The Gunny SackSew Can Do, Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeDittle Dattle,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet homeCraft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities Just Winging ItEverything Under the Moon

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch Boutique

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Someday CraftsPassionately Artistic

 

26 Comments

  1. Jacki Sellers said,

    January 5, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    Karen, you never cease to amaze me! Eli is SO lucky to have you as his Mom, and I’m lucky to have you as my sister-in-law! xoxo

  2. January 5, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Thank you, Jacki. I think I’M the lucky one on both counts!

  3. ReStitch Me said,

    January 6, 2012 at 5:01 am

    Great tutorial and clear pictures!!!

  4. January 6, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Great tutorial!! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Maureen said,

    January 7, 2012 at 10:38 am

    This is awesome! My little Pomeranian Dax liked to eat the buttons off of my jeans…I have at least 4 pairs that I will now be fixing thanks to you!
    Thank you for linking up to Fresh Fridays on Release Me Creations!

  6. Elise said,

    January 7, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Awesome! I’m definitely filing this idea away for future reference. 🙂

  7. January 9, 2012 at 7:23 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog {cupcakes & cucumbers} I also started a new blog recently that is still growing that you might enjoy at http://blueberrysquash.blogspot.com

    The fix is very practical, and useful — but my favorite part about this post is definitely the first image. It is so beautiful.

  8. Donene Jones said,

    January 9, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    Thanks for your nice comments and I love your tutorial!!

  9. Kelley said,

    January 10, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    You are so crafty Karen! I love how you can fix anything! 🙂

  10. January 11, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    What a great post, I have so many pants where the snaps no longer “grab” anymore. Need to call you the “fixin” lady. Great detail, don’t worry about the grain this time since once it’s button no one sees it. Now I’ll tackle mine. Thanks for sharing at Sunday’s Best with all your inspiration!

    • January 13, 2012 at 9:10 pm

      Thank you for your kind comment, Cathy! I hope this does prove helpful to you. 🙂

  11. Sherry said,

    January 11, 2012 at 5:17 pm

    Great idea! Thanks for showing how you did it. Thank you for linking it to Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  12. January 12, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    GOOD idea. Lots of jeans in this here house and this might come in handy!

  13. six sisters said,

    January 12, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    We love this! Thank you for linking up to Strut Your Stuff Saturday. We would love to have you come back next Saturday and share more of your incredible ideas. -The Sisters

  14. Natasha said,

    January 14, 2012 at 4:44 am

    genius!!!

    Thanks for linking up to Serenity Saturday link party
    Hope to see you there again this week
    http://serenityyou.blogspot.com/search/label/Serenity%20Saturday

    Natasha

  15. January 14, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    I love it! That is a great idea. We have had snaps get ruined on jeans before and it seems like such a waste!

  16. January 31, 2012 at 4:11 am

    Thank you so much for this post. I have bookmarked your blog, such a wealth of information, thank you! I have a pair of jeans that needed sorting and you’ve given me the motivation to get on with it!!
    I’m hosting a weekly linky which is all about seasonal celebration and would love it if you popped over and linked this post! It would be great to introduce your blog to my subscribers! Seasonal Celebration Linky http://naturalmothersnetwork.com/seasonal-celebration-sunday/seasonal-celebration/ Really hope to see you there! Rebecca x

  17. November 11, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    […] may remember these jeans from last January when I posted this tutorial about how to replace a broken snap with a button. (That repair job is still holding quite well, by […]

  18. Cara said,

    December 4, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    Everything is very open with a clear description of the challenges.
    It was truly informative. Your website is very
    helpful. Thank you for sharing!

  19. Jessica said,

    February 2, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    My son’s pants just did this! Thank you. I really did not want to throw them away.

    • February 2, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      I’m glad it was helpful! My son has now worn holes through both knees of these pants and worn out one of the patches I used to mend them and the button still holds perfectly well.


Leave a Reply

