Commemorative Ornaments

Front Side

I give my husband an ornament each year, usually handmade and commemorating something that happened that year. Unfortunately most of them were lost after I was inspired to pack up all of the special ornaments somewhere easily accessible in case we had to evacuate during the Southern Californian fire season or after an earthquake. Not so easily accessible if I can’t even find them at Christmas time 3 years running! I imagine I’ll find them if we ever have to move… at least, I hope I will! But I digress…

Back Side

This year I am giving him an ornament made from part of a fabric bag that contained tea that he brought home from one of his business trips to Kenya. This bag actually was from a trip during a previous year, but I came across it in my stash just recently, and he DID go to Nairobi in October 2011 so I think it counts.

The other commemorative ornament I’m giving this year is to Eli’s Aunt Eileen. We don’t do much gift exchanging between the siblings in my husband’s family, but this year Eileen is training for a 100 mile bike-a-thon to raise money to fight leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin’s disease and myeloma with the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society‘s Team in Training. The team is riding in honor of a 6 year old girl named Kimie who is battling a rare form of leukemia. Kimie has recently been in the hospital and asked one of the team members who was visiting her, “But how will Santa find me?” Happily, she now gets to go home in time for Christmas!

Eileen has named her trusty bike Sadie the Hill Slayer and goes on 40 mile training rides every Saturday. On Sunday she blogs about her experience for the rest of us to  follow along. If you would like to read her blog or to make a donation to support the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society you will find it all here.

Bicycle Pin

I am so impressed and inspired by Eileen’s dedication to this and I thought it would be fun to give her a bicycle ornament to remember this experience by. I had received this cool fair trade recycled jewelry pin for Christmas as a gift, but it has just sat in a drawer because I don’t really wear pins. I simply removed the pin from the back and added a hanger and a tag with Eileen’s name and the date. Easy peasy! I hope she likes it!

Bicycle Ornament

Bicycle Ornament

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageFun to CraftHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsA Glimpse Inside,

Between U & Me, Happy Hour Projects, Anything Goes Linky Party,

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry733 BlogHappy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFrench Country Cottage,

The Charm of HomeThe Grant LifeAt the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge,

Stuff and NonsenseOne Art Mama

7 Comments

  1. Jacki Sellers said,

    December 22, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Aunt Eileen squealed with joy when presented with the ornament! She is SO busy at work, that I am reporting on this, so that Karen and everyone else knows how special and meaningful this ornament is. Karen you are simpy THE BEST!!! Eli’s Aunt Jacki

    • December 22, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      I’m so happy that she seemed to really like it! Her reaction was everything I had hoped for 🙂

  2. December 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    oh my gosh I love it.
    I love the idea and I love the outcome.
    you are crazy creative for sure.
    T

  3. Maysem said,

    December 23, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    That’s such a wonderful and sweet idea…both ornaments! I love keepsakes that have a story behind them…makes them more meaningful and special:) I second that motion:D You are very creative!!

  4. November 8, 2012 at 5:04 am

    […] Commemorative Ornaments […]


Leave a Reply

