Chocolate Truffles

These melt in your mouth (and in your hands!) pieces of chocolate perfection are so easy to make it’s shocking! I think this richest, most fattening recipe I have ever made. I really don’t want to know  the calorie count.

I copied the recipe down on an index card many years ago for my own use, totally oblivious to the future advent of blogging. I did not create this recipe and would love to give credit where credit is due, but the source is long lost. If you recognize the recipe please let me know!

Ingredients:

1 stick unsalted butter

10 tablespoons cocoa powder

10 tablespoons powdered sugar

5 tablespoons heavy cream

*you can also add other flavorings like almond extract. I made these Mexican style with a few pinches of cayenne pepper and some very liberal dashes of cinnamon. Be creative! Of course, just plain chocolate will taste wonderful too!

In my photo you can see the cayenne pepper in the smallest bowl. I didn’t use it all, just a few about 4 pinches. (I forgot to show the cinnamon.) Also this photo shows the measured ingredients for 1 recipe. The in the following photos I have doubled all the ingredients for a double batch.

Melt the butter halfway. Turn off the heat and stir in the cocoa powder.

Add sugar (and any other flavoring ingredients) and whisk.

Remove from the stove and add the heavy cream.

Put the truffle mixture into the refrigerator until chilled and firm.

Roll into balls and coat with cinnamon or powdered sugar. I used a mixture of both. You could probably also use cocoa powder for an even richer truffle.

My double batch made 34 truffles. I think the small container of heavy cream has enough for one more batch. There are two more sticks of butter left in the package, and much more cocoa powder and powdered sugar. I haven’t figured out the math, but it comes out much, much cheaper than professionally made truffles, and these taste exquisite!

The powdered sugar was looking a bit splotchy when I photographed these, so I now have them covered with more of the cinnamon sugar mixture in the refrigerator to coat them more thickly until I am ready to package them for giving. I’ll put these in a nice box with the layers separated by parchment paper. They do have to be stored in the refrigerator as they soften and melt very quickly. I can’t wait to deliver this gift!

Someday, maybe I’ll learn how to coat them with melted chocolate like the store bought kind. Right now I can’t figure out how to keep the insides from becoming a puddle when covered with the hot chocolate. Maybe if you rolled the balls and then froze them… Any suggestions?

UPDATE: I just saw this truffle recipe here that describes how to dip frozen truffle balls into a melted chocolate coating.

Thanks for reading!

Karen

I’ve been featured!

Preview

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Saturday:

The Grant LifeThe Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My Hands,

Six Sisters StuffSerenity YouBe Different Act Normal

Sunday:

LambAround,   I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesPetite Hermine,

My 1929 Charmer Blog

Monday:

{aka}/ designGet Outta My Head PleaseMad in Crafts, Skip to My Lou,

The Gunny SackSew Can Do, Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeDittle Dattle,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet homeCraft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities 

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 PrincessesThe Creative Itch Boutique

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Sweet Peas & Bumble BeesMom On TimeoutSomeday CraftsPassionately Artistic,

Keeping the Christmas Spirit Alive 365

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageFun to CraftHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsA Glimpse Inside,

Between U & Me, Everything Under the Moon, Happy Hour Projects

34 Comments

  1. December 17, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    They look yummy!

  2. Kelley said,

    December 17, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Karen those look divine!! And you make it look simple too.. Ill pin it and try them soon! 🙂

  3. December 18, 2011 at 2:34 am

    oh what a YUMMY recipe!!! one that i am sure i will make! thanks for sharing and visiting me — i am now a follower : ) wishing you and yours the best holiday season ever! sending holiday hugs…

    • December 18, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Thank you for following me, Andrea! I always consider that such an honor. All the blessings of the season to you and your family as well 🙂

  4. December 18, 2011 at 5:17 am

    I want to try these so much… but then we would eat them ALL! I’ll have to wait until I have an event to take them to.

    • December 18, 2011 at 8:45 am

      Yea, these are definitely for giving or taking to an event! You can imagine the super-human amounts of will power I had to employ while making these as due to the cream and butter I couldn’t even sample. My better half had to be my guinea pig for determining how many pinches of cayenne and dashes of cinnamon were required. He didn’t mind one bit!

  5. ReStitch Me said,

    December 18, 2011 at 5:34 am

    Not fair. My mouth is watering, and it’s time for breakfast. A bagel will NOT be cutting it this morning! 🙂

    • December 18, 2011 at 8:49 am

      SO sorry to ruin what would normally have been a perfectly delightful bagel experience! I suspect you will feel much better after the bagel then you would after a jolt of these first thing in the morning though!

  6. Maysem said,

    December 18, 2011 at 9:04 am

    Oh WOW! Those look so yummy!!! Gotta try them:D

  7. K said,

    December 18, 2011 at 10:41 am

    Yum, yum, yum! I have got to try these!!

    I think they’d be fine if you freeze the them (like you mentioned) then dip in melted chocolate and quickly get them back in the freezer or fridge before they can melt.

    I’m definitely going to try these. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Kate Wilson said,

    December 18, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Hi Karen! Thank you for stopping by my blog! I took your link back and so glad I did! I’m making jars of truffle varieties for my family to all take home this Christmas, and I’m going to try this one to add to the stash! Thanks for sharing! They look so delish!

    • December 31, 2011 at 7:58 am

      Jars of truffle varieties?! You are going to be the most popular relative this year I think!

  9. December 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Wow, Karen…these look so yummy! Thank you for visiting Take Six. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas!

  10. Sher said,

    December 19, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Thanks for sharing this recipe! I’ve never made truffles before but I think I can do it!

    • December 19, 2011 at 8:54 am

      You’re welcome! Really… it is so, so easy! The hard part is not gaining an instant 5 pounds by the next day!

  11. December 19, 2011 at 8:43 am

    I just love recipes that look easy enough that even I could pull it off. So going to try this for the holidays. Thanks for sharing at Etcetorize!

  12. Memories for Life Scrapbooks said,

    December 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm

    YUM!!! I love recipes that include chocolate…and only 4 ingredients 🙂

    I would think freezing them would allow you to dip them in melted chocolate…then into the fridge 🙂

    (Hopping over from the Artful Rising Linky Party)

    • December 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks for the visit and comment! I’ll be trying a chocolate coated version one of these days. 🙂

  13. Melanie said,

    December 20, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Oh my goodness, mouth is watering!

  14. December 20, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Omg, love this idea! Looks so yum! Thanks for sharing! Saw you on Tipjunkie. I’m having a linky party on my blog too! Please feel free to link up! Here is the address! http://www.thesouthernproductqueen.com/2011/12/20/linky-party-2/

  15. December 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Oh Wow. Those look unbelievably amazing!!! I want them and I don’t all at once.

    • December 20, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      They are extremely rich! I when I’ve made these in the past I found the 1/2 of one at a sitting will suffice to cure the chocolate craving. So maybe even though they must be astronomically high on the calorie count, if I can only eat a small bit, perhaps in the end it works out better than eating a whole Snickers bar. I just kept telling myself that…

  16. December 21, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    I bought heavy whipping cream the other day because it was on sale, but had nothing in mind for it! NOW I know why I bought it!!!! These look, delicious and I can almost taste them. Sorry for drooling on the keyboard, ole’ hubby of mine! 🙂

    • December 21, 2011 at 9:05 pm

      Have at it! Isn’t it great to see a new recipe and already have the ingredients on hand!

  17. Melanie said,

    December 23, 2011 at 8:25 am

    SO delicious looking! Thanks for linking to Things I’ve Done Thursday! Merry Christmas!

    Melanie
    http://www.bearrabbitbear.com

  18. December 23, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    yummy! I would so have to dip them in chocolate, I would have icing sugar eveyrwhere!

    • December 23, 2011 at 2:03 pm

      Yeah… next time I’m making them I will definitely dip them in the chocolate!

  19. Michelle said,

    December 24, 2011 at 10:25 am

    I LOVE truffles! And these sound pretty easy to make – what a delicious combination! 🙂

  20. maria said,

    December 27, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    These look so fancy and impressive. Thank you so much for linking this to my T’ Time Party last week. I almost always start my party on Monday nights but due to motherhood of four children…{blush} I just started it a few minutes ago. Hope to see you this week! Have a lovely day, Maria http://caribbeanmissionarywife.blogspot.com/

  21. Heidi said,

    December 31, 2011 at 2:20 am

    Thanks for your comment on my pink pigs 🙂 So glad I found this *incredible* looking recipe – can’t wait to try it!

    Heidi

  22. Lily Sooklal said,

    May 4, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    This was such a great recipe especially since it was so easy to make and tasted delicious!
    Thanks LambAround for linking to this blog! 🙂

  23. December 29, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    […] Chocolate Truffles. […]


Leave a Reply

