Handmade Scrappy Folk Angel

This angel was super easy to construct. She is hand sewn entirely of scraps. I just made her up as I went along. It’s a good late night project to do while unwinding in front of the TV.

Her gown consists of four strips of left over fabric hand sewn together to form a tube using a long stitch. I then pulled the threads from the bottom of each seam to gather the fabric at the bottom. I left the bottom ends of my fabric strips raw edged.

I then made two narrow tubes of the lighter fabric for the sleeves of the gown. I folded in the sides of the top of the gown tube at an angle so I could insert the sleeves in raglan style. I ran the wire for the arms (a straight piece of 18 gauge curled on each end) and then stitched up the diagonal line where the sleeves meet the gown to hold it all together.

I made a small head shape from a piece of an old silk shirt, stuffed it, and secured it in the neck hole of the gown with a few stitches.

The hair was a fiber that a Christmas ornament I received as a gift was packed in. It is just secured with some stitching with white thread at the part line.

(I see on this photo that she picked up a stray thread while being photographed.  I don’t have time now to take a new picture sans sewing debris. My apologies!)

I sewed the outline of the wings on a folded piece of fabric and then cut out around the outline. There is a piece of wire inside to help them not sag or flop when the angel is hung. These are attached to the angel with a few stitches between the two wings.

Like the red angel, I left her faceless.

A spiraled piece of thinner wire connecting hand to hand finishes her. She is ready to hang!

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageFun to CraftHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful OrderSaved by Love CreationsA Glimpse Inside,

Between U & Me

Friday:

Simply DesigningWhipperberry733 BlogHappy Hour Projectskojodesigns,

Joyful StamperMaking Lemonade BlogThirty Handmade Days,

Release Me CreationsNaptime CraftersRomantic HomeFinding Fabulous,

Shabby NestChic on a Shoestring DecoratingFrench Country Cottage,

The Charm of HomeThe Grant LifeAt the Picket FenceFingerprints on the Fridge,

Stuff and Nonsense, One Art Mama

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My HandsSix Sisters StuffSerenity You,

Be Different Act Normal

Sunday:

LambAround,   I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo ToesPetite Hermine,

My 1929 Charmer Blog

7 Comments

  1. Kelley said,

    December 18, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    So cute Karen! You make the BEST stuff!

  2. Sherry said,

    December 21, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    Thank you for joining me at Home Sweet Home and have a very Merry Christmas!
    Sherry

  3. December 22, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    Really a cute scrappy angel. Very creative. Thanks for sharing over at Sunday’s Best and happy holidays!

  4. November 8, 2012 at 5:04 am

    […] Handmade Scrappy Folk Angel […]


Leave a Reply

