A Week of Inspiration

Lately I’ve found a number of things that I just have to try. Here are a few I actually got to  this week.

My family loves all things coconut, so when I ran across this recipe for coconut macaroons at Hinna’s Kitchen Adventures I had to give it a try. These are the yummiest cookies I think I have ever made!  They certainly have the macaroons at the Barnes’ & Noble cafe beat hands down. I think I will try half dipping them in dark chocolate before long.

Coconut Macaroons

I found this post for Origami Dress Ornaments at My Very Educated Mother. It includes a link to a YouTube video tutorial. Here is my attempt. I’ll be making a few more and will hopefully improve along the way. I’m just loving the trend to decorate with old book pages this year! This particular page is from a book of short stories that I bought at a used book store in Madrid.

Make It Give It has a tutorial for Sophisticated Salt Dough Ornaments. These truly are not the lumpy salt dough creations I’ve seen in the past. While not quite as sophisticated I was mostly pleased with how mine came out. I glue gunned (is that a verb?) on glass beads to embellish mine, as well as used some paint and glitter. I painted over polyurethane to keep the beads from falling off, but found it gave everything a yellow tinge. Not horrible, except for the snowflake ornament. Not sure I want to commemorate yellow snow on my Christmas tree. I’ll be making more of these as well… without the yellow glaze.

Pear Salt Dough Ornament

Pear Salt Dough Ornament

Old-fashioned Bicycle Ornament

Old-fashioned Bicycle Ornament

Snowflake Ornament

My list of projects grows faster than I can cross items off. Now I’m just focusing of the Christmas themed fun as soon the holidays will be all over.

Thanks for reading!

Karen

I’ve been featured!

New Look Button

Here’s where I’m linking up.

Saturday:

The Gingerbread BlogToo Much Time On My HandsSix Sisters StuffSerenity You,

Be Different Act Normal

Sunday:

LambAround,  Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo Toes,

Petite Hermine, My 1929 Charmer Blog

Monday:

{aka}/ designGet Outta My Head PleaseMad in Crafts, Skip to My Lou,

The Gunny SackSew Can Do, Singing Three Little BirdsEtcetorizeDittle Dattle,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet homeCraft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities 

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope StudiosFunky Polkadot Giraffe,

Kammy’s KornerThe Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip Junkie,

Raising 4 Princesses,

all crafts Homemade Projects ~ Add Yours {12/13}

18 Comments

  1. randalin said,

    December 9, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    I’m definitely going to try the macaroons this weekend! I’m such a sucker for anything coconut! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Susanne said,

    December 10, 2011 at 4:08 am

    I know how its like, I have so many thing spinning in my head that I dont think I’ll ever get to try them all 🙂
    Dont think I’ve played with salt dough since the 90s but your ornaments look so good that I really want to try again… if I can find the time that is… 🙂
    Wish you a good weekend!

  3. ReStitch Me said,

    December 10, 2011 at 4:16 am

    I love the beads that you added to the salt dough ornaments! It really stepped it up a notch! Very pretty!!!

  4. Barb said,

    December 10, 2011 at 7:49 am

    Mmmm, those macaroons do look delish! You are doing some great work!

  5. Synnöve said,

    December 10, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Wow, your salt ornaments are fantastic !

  6. December 10, 2011 at 9:50 am

    Cute ideas!!! I’m excited to be following you and would love for you to return the “love” on your next visit!!!

    XO, Aimee from ItsOverflowing!

    PS I’m having my first linky party on 12/13. It will be “Christmas Scape” themed, tablescape ~ landscape or anywhere else in you home that you’ve added a touch of Christmas! I’d LOVE for you to link up! My blog is http://www.itsoverflowing.com/.

  7. December 10, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    Looks like some fun projects. It always feels good to get some of those things crossed off the “must try” list, doesn’t it. I really like your salt dough ornaments.

  8. Maysem said,

    December 11, 2011 at 7:25 am

    WOW! Those look so pretty! Especially love the old fashioned bicycle:) How did you get brown specks in your dough? I really like that. Will definitely be pinning this idea! Thanks for sharing:)

    • December 11, 2011 at 8:24 am

      The bicycle stamp is at Michael’s right now for just $1.50! As for the brown specks, those are just the grains of salt after I painted over the polyurethane… not sure why they turned so very dark but I liked the effect. Now that they have dried the yellow tinge is less than it was (I wrote the post while they were still wet.) Also the polyurethane was very old… maybe newer stuff would be clearer?

  9. December 11, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Great collection! I love the ornaments 🙂

  10. December 12, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Ooh let us know how the dress one goes!

  11. Shiloh said,

    December 12, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Macaroons are ALWAYS a good idea! I love that bicycle ornament. I think that yellow tinge suits it perfectly.

  12. lori said,

    December 12, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Wonderful projects – the sand ornaments are wonderful and that little dress is darling! Saw you on Artful Rising.

  13. December 14, 2011 at 10:05 am

    the ornaments are GORGEOUS!!! How crafty and creative! Love the glass beads around the edge.

  14. Natasha said,

    December 15, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Thanks for linking up to Serenity Saturday, hop to see you again this Saturday
    http://www.serenityyou.blogspot.com

    Natasha xx

  15. Katie said,

    December 16, 2011 at 9:48 am

    Those would make really great gifts! I’m loving the idea of giving ornaments this year! Feel free to come link up at our Crafty Christmas gift link up! http://raisingoranges.blogspot.com/2011/12/crafty-christmas-link-up-party.html

  16. Camille said,

    December 16, 2011 at 9:01 pm

    These are absolutely amazing! I am loving the pear ornament! Thanks so much for linking up to Strut Your Stuff Saturday! We hope that you will join us tomorrow!
    Camille @
    SixSistersStuff.blogspot.com

  17. November 8, 2012 at 5:04 am

    […] Salt Dough Ornaments […]


Leave a Reply

