Quilted Baby Pants

Last week I used an old quilt to make a Baby Sleep Sack. After completing that project I still had a lot of quilt left over.

I decided to make some toasty, snuggly baby pants! I had a pattern piece left over from the days when Eli wore 0-3 months size. I think I probably made it by tracing some of his pants, but I don’t really remember for sure. I like that this pattern is only 2 pieces. There are a lot of baby pant tutorials out there so I am just going to explain the parts where I had to do something different because I was using a quilt instead of single ply material.

As you can see in the photos below, I cut out the pieces, but removed the top portion that would have been folded over to create the elastic casing.

 

I sewed up the legs. The inside seam was too thick to be left to rub against the baby’s legs, and couldn’t just be sewn down flat. I cut strips of knit material from a t-shirt and hand stitched them over the seam. After sewing the two legs together I gave the crotch seam the same treatment.

  

Now I trimmed the top of the pants so both sides were even. I measured the across the top and cut a 2″ strip of t-shirt material the same measurement plus seam allowance. After sewing the two ends of the strip together I folded it in half lengthwise and pinned it raw edges up around the waist of the pants.

  

After sewing around I trimmed away as much of the quilt from the raw edge as I could without weakening the seam. I then sewed the raw edge of the knit waist band down all the way around trapping the raw edge of the quilt underneath. I apologize for the fuzzy picture.

  

Now I opened the inside of the waistband with a seam ripper to insert the elastic and hand stitched the seam closed again. The bottom of the pant legs were still raw edged. Again, to fold them up to hem them would make for a very thick and bulky hem, so instead I used a 1″ width piece of t-shirt material to bind the bottoms of the pant legs. Sew the binding fabric onto the front. Clip away any excess quilt. Turn the pants inside out and flip the material around to the other side. Sew it down around the pant leg.

 

There was a small hole in the quilt. I patched it with a small t-shirt heart shape and embroidery floss.

 

Front and back views of the quilted baby pants!

 

We live in Southern CA, so the amount of time during the year when pants this warm are really needed is short. The chances of our next child being a little girl and wearing 0-3 month size clothing during that window of time is small so I would like to give these away. If you would like me to send you these pants leave me a comment saying so. I will choose a recipient at random on Saturday, December 10, 2011.

Thanks for reading!

Karen

Here’s where I’m linking up. Please see my Linky List page for active links.

Sunday:

LambAround,  Homemaker on a Dime,  I {heart} Naptime,  Flamingo Toes,

Petite Hermine

Monday:

{aka}/ design, Get Outta My Head Please, Mad in Crafts, Skip to My Lou,

The Gunny Sack, Sew Can Do, Singing Three Little Birds, Etcetorize, Dittle Dattle,

C.R.A.F.T.,  diy home sweet home, Craft-O Maniac, Sew Chatty, Artful Rising,

Sarahndipities 

Tuesday:

At Home With KNot Just a HousewifeHope Studios,

Funky Polkadot Giraffe,  Kammy’s Korner,

The Kurtz CornerI’m Topsy TurvyTip JunkieRaising 4 Princesses,

The Creative Itch Boutique

Wednesday:

Sew Much AdoFrugally SustainableThe Shady PorchTea Rose HomeLil’ Luna,

Sweet Peas & Bumble BeesMom On TimeoutSomeday CraftsPassionately Artistic

Thursday:

Mom On TimeoutSomewhat SimpleThrifty DecoratingBear Rabbit Bear,

The Crafty BlogstalkerThe Shabby Creek CottageFun to CraftHouse of Hepworths,

Sorta Crunchy, Delightful Order, Saved by Love Creations

PhotobucketPhotobucket

13 Comments

  1. Inder said,

    December 4, 2011 at 11:38 am

    These are soooooo cute. I love them. Super cozy and nice! Love the seam treatment. So neat and clean.

  2. December 4, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    How cute and creative! Nice job!

    Thanks for your comment at The Turquoise Piano (.blogspot.com).

    Kelli

  3. Leovi said,

    December 4, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Beautiful creations, you’re a great seamstress. Greetings.

  4. ReStitch Me said,

    December 4, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    So sweet and what a creative use of your quilt remnants!

  5. December 5, 2011 at 7:32 am

    What a cute idea. Somebody’s baby is going to be toasty warm this winter~ Thanks for linking up at Etcetorize!

  6. December 7, 2011 at 5:27 am

    Being a sewer myself, I can appreciate the quality of your work. This are so cute and any baby will snuggly warm in them. I also like how you repurposed your quilt. Thanks for sharing at Sunday’s Best.

  7. December 7, 2011 at 5:58 am

    How adorable! Just when I think I’ve seen it all… 🙂

  8. December 9, 2011 at 7:20 am

    These are just adorable…and COZY too!Thank you so much for linking up your lovely project at Get Schooled Saturday. We will be open for business again Friday night-Sunday night!
    Kim @ Too Much Time
    http://www.kim-toomuchtimeonmyhands.blogspot.com

  9. Melanie said,

    December 9, 2011 at 7:38 am

    These look cute AND comfortable! Thanks for linking to Things I’ve Done Thursday!

    Melanie
    Sew Rugged @ bear rabbit bear
    bearrabbitbear.blogspotcom

  10. Natasha said,

    December 10, 2011 at 3:36 am

    these are just adorable

    Thanks for linking up to serenity Saturday. Hope you can join us again this week
    http://www.serenityyou.blogspot.com

    Natasha xx

  11. Marci said,

    July 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    I love the idea of recycling a quilt into snuggly clothing! Genius! -Marci

  12. nicholl said,

    July 15, 2012 at 10:25 am

    love this super creative project!

    come say hi over at nichollvincent.blogspot.com

    have a wonderful day!


Leave a Reply

