Handmade Rabbit Ornament

My husband and I went to the county courthouse to apply for our marriage certificate it on a rainy day in late Spring. After completing our errand we were walking around the town talking even though it was sprinkling and getting dark. Ahead of us on the sidewalk and in the yard were a few brown wild rabbits. Amazingly they didn’t run off as we walked up to them. One even stood up on his haunches and sniffed my hand. It was a thrilling moment for animal lovers such as ourselves. We joked about what sort of symbolism this might have regarding our upcoming marriage. At the time, and all the way up to my pregnancy, we had planned on adopting so fertility issues weren’t something we were seriously considering.

I made this ornament for my husband the Christmas just before Eli was born (when I was 7 months pregnant.)  I actually had already made another ornament for him that year, but this one came to me in a dream on the night before we were to exchange gifts. Luckily it was very quick to make.

It is just two layers of felt. There are one ear and hind foot on each layer, and one layer also has the front paw. I blanket stitched them together and around the single layers, and then embroidered the mouth, arm and haunch details. Then I sewed on the glass bead eyes and cotton puff tail. I embroidered his name (erased for the photo) and the year. Finally, I strung together glass beads to make the hanger.

I’ve been featured!

Here’s where I’m linking up. (please see my Linky List for active links.)

Everything Under the Moonall crafts Homemade Projects ~ Add Yours {11/22}I'm topsy turvy tuesdaysPhotobucketDittle Dattle

madskillsbutton2_thumb1_thumb1_thumb[1]Feathered Nest FridayChic on a Shoestring DecoratingThe Shabby Nest2805www.thegrantlife.comThirty Hand Made DaysMaking Lemonadekojodesigns

Link Partylinkingpartybadge copy

14 Comments

  1. November 30, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Your rabbit ornament is adorable. I really like the blue against the white felt. Looks for sharing on how you made it. You husband must love it. Handmade is always so much better, so much more love goes into it. Thanks for sharing over at Sunday’s Best.

  2. Cindy said,

    November 30, 2011 at 10:02 am

    That is absolutely adorable! I love the blanket stitching outline!

  3. November 30, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    It’s very cute! I enjoyed your story!

  4. Leslie said,

    December 1, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Too cute! And what a great backstory!

  5. Shauna said,

    December 2, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    Very cute ornament. Thanks for sharing your story. Visiting from At the Picket Fence. I’d love for you to enter the giveaway I have going on right now by Green Beansie Cards.

  6. December 2, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    he’s gorgeous, love the story behind it too! just found you through kojo designs, nice to meet you! 🙂

  7. December 4, 2011 at 8:22 am

    He is absolutely adorable!

  8. Andi Winslow said,

    December 4, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    He is so cute, this past summer we were in Baxter State Park, in maine, and we had some wild rabbits around our cabin. Friendly. you did a nice job. A lot of love in him and your family a family treasure. Andi

  9. Sherry said,

    December 4, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Very cute! Thank you for joining me at Home Sweet Home!
    Sherry

  10. Pam said,

    December 5, 2011 at 4:51 am

    So, so cute. Love the blue blanket stitch agains the cream. Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    http://threadingmyway.blogspot.com/

  11. November 8, 2012 at 5:03 am

    […] Handmade Rabbit Ornament […]


Leave a Reply

