Eli’s First Haircut

Eli has been looking more and more shaggy as of late.

I wasn’t sure how we were going to get his hair cut as he is always on the move and he is very wary of people he doesn’t know. He completely freaks out when he has to have his head circumference measured during his well child check ups, so I thought having a stranger go after his head with a pair of scissors might be more than he could take. This past week I snuck up on him from behind while he was otherwise distracted and manage to cut off the curls forming at the back of his neck. Not very straight or even but at least they wouldn’t be causing the tangles when his hair is washed any longer. The front however… not so easy to sneak up on him when it’s the bangs that need trimming.

Today I saw that the Supercuts was empty when we had finished our grocery shopping. On a whim, since there would be no waiting involved, I decided to give it a go and see how he’d do.

It went pretty well! He looked like he was about to cry the whole time and whimpered a bit, but no actual crying. I held him on my lap all the while and held his hands so he wouldn’t try to grab the scissors. I wish I had a picture of the experience but with no camera and hands otherwise occupied it wasn’t to be. He squirmed a fair amount as one would expect, so the bangs are rather uneven, but they look so much better than they did hanging in his eyes.

Next up? We really need to attempt the first visit to the dentist.

Wish us luck!

5 Comments

  1. Jacki Sellers said,

    November 30, 2011 at 6:35 am

    Eli looks great! His bangs are “tres chic”! Very stylish!!

  2. November 30, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a sweet comment! What an adorable little boy you have!

  3. November 30, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I try to cut my son’s hair myself. That way I can cut for a little while then he can go play. Then cut again. I am getting better good each time I cut his hair.

  4. November 30, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    Oh, the dentist! I DO wish you luck!
    Eli is precious!

  5. randalin said,

    December 1, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    We just gave Kale a cut this past weekend too! I’m still nervous about bringing him somewhere so I do it myself (and it shows). I don’t know how we’ll ever deal with the dentist! Eek!

    Eli looks so grown up with his haircut – it’s amazing how much a little trim seems to change their appearance.


Leave a Reply

