Greeting Card Ornament

I saw a tutorial at The Space Between Blog where Karah made Christmas tree ornaments from her wedding cards. I have been saving the birthday cards Eli received for his first birthday this past year and thought this would be a great way to use them. I think I will do this every year. It will be fun to pull them out and remember as the years go by.

First I took out the cards and traced a circle around the part I wanted to cut out.

I was bummed not to ba able to use this handmade card from his cousins, but 3D wouldn’t work here.

Then I cut out the circles which I then folded in half.

The resulting half circles were then glued together to form the two halves of the ornament.

Before gluing the 2 halves together I glued in the ends of the ribbon hanger.

Here it is hanging on our tree.

I like how Karah’s ornaments look with the glitter on the edges of the circles. I will probably end up doing that too, but I have to buy the glitter first!

This project is a quicky. I think it took me about 20 minutes start to finish.

5 Comments

  1. ReStitch Me said,

    November 28, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    I LOVE this idea! I am going to share it with my daughter to do with my little granddaughter and (soon) grandson. What wonderful keepsakes through the years–much better than a memory box full of cards.

  2. November 28, 2011 at 4:53 pm

    Holy smokes that is cute! Thank you so much for linking back to my wedding card ornament post. I love that you’re thinking of making it an annual thing. What a fun tradition that Eli will enjoy being a part of when he is a little older. Happy Holidays!

  3. SheilaG said,

    December 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    This is too cute! Love the idea! Not sure how I found you, got lost roaming around the blogosphere, but enjoying my tour here! 🙂

  4. November 8, 2012 at 5:03 am

    […] Greeting Card Ornament  […]


Leave a Reply

