Corn Pudding Recipe

Corn Pudding has long been a Thanksgiving dish in my family. Whenever I have brought it to share at other Thanksgiving gathering I’ve always had at least one person request the recipe. With Eli having a dairy allergy I was feeling a bit sad that he won’t have this as part of his holiday tradition (unless he outgrows the allergy- fingers crossed!) as it has evaporated milk. But then I got to thinking, was it possible to find a substitute for the evaporated milk? After a little Googling I found my answer.

Frugalliving.about.com says that

“Evaporated milk is simply fresh milk that has had about 60% of its water content removed.”

So if I use his goat’s milk powder, but only reconstitute it with 40% of the water called for, shouldn’t that work? As my husband likes to say,  “Only one way to find out!”

The Original Corn Pudding Recipe
2/3 c. sugar
3 T. cornstarch
1/4 t. salt
2 eggs, beaten
2 cans creamed corn
1 T. vanilla
2/3 c. evaporated milk
1/4 c butter, melted

Mix the cornstarch into the milk, then combine all ingredients.  Pour
into a lightly greased casserole dish. Place the casserole dish in a
larger pan containing water. Bake at 375 F for 1 hour or until knife
inserted in the middle comes out clean.

I made a few other changes to the recipe this time around. I only had one can of cream style corn, so I slightly blended a can of whole kernel corn with a bit of cornstarch for the second can. I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup (actually, it is still pretty sweet, I think it could be decreased even more) and decreased the amount of butter (or in our case Smart Balance) a bit. We really don’t use much canned food anymore since learning about the dangers of BPA. I’m wondering if next time I can make this with frozen corn, thawed and blended with a bit of cornstarch. Any thoughts?

Final verdict on the goat’s milk substitution? Not quite as good as the original but still worth making. Eli ate it but didn’t seem super enthused. He hasn’t been eating so well lately anyway though, so I’m not sure it was the best timing for an accurate taste test.

Here’s where I’m linking up: (Please see my Linky List for active links.)

Dittle DattleMaking Monday Marvelous Linky PartyAt Home With KI'm topsy turvy tuesdaysall crafts Homemade Projects ~ Add Yours {11/22}Everything Under the MoonFeathered Nest Friday

BLOG TITLE

7 Comments

  1. November 22, 2011 at 1:30 am

    I’ve never heard of corn pudding, it sounds great though.

  2. Erika said,

    November 22, 2011 at 7:06 am

    I have heard of corn pudding but never really knew what it was; I will have to try this out!

    Thanks for linking up,

    Erika
    It’s a Wrap Link Party at Artful Rising

  3. Michelle said,

    November 23, 2011 at 5:51 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and sharring your link parties page! I’ll be linking up to them for sure!!

  4. November 23, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    I love corn pudding (I’m from the South!) and your recipe is perfect and easy! Thanks and have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Barb said,

    November 23, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    I love corn pudding too – I just made some, but as muffins. Good for you for finding an alternative for your little guy!

    • November 23, 2011 at 8:04 pm

      What a great idea to make them as muffins! It would maximize the amount of the crusty part, which is my favorite. 🙂

  6. Kelley said,

    November 26, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Yum!! I love anything with corn 🙂


Leave a Reply

