Elfin Hat from Sweater

Here is the original sweater. I used the sleeves for fluffy-bottom sweater pants and the third photo is what remained.

I cut out the back panel. I cut strips out of t-shirt material to add as stripes. I wanted a kind of whimsical appearance to the hat so I cut the stripes a little bit wonky.

Then I pinned the stripes to the sweater back.

Next I sewed these down using a zigzag stitch.

I folded the now stripey sweater back in half and cut out my hat shape with a rotary cutter. I made the base of the hat 9″ across and didn’t begin angling the sides to the point until the first stripe, 5″ up from the bottom. I marked the lines I wanted to cut with a sliver of soap, visible on dark fabrics yet completely washable.

Now I put the hat pieces right sides together and pinned along the side edges.

Using the zigzag stitch on the sewing machine I sewed the pinned sides. I used a tight zigzag and went over it more than once to make sure there was no uncaught yarn ends.

Time to turn it right side out and think about embellishments.

I decided to put a patch with an airplane button below the first stripe…

and a tassel made from strips of the same t-shirts as the stripes.

Here is the finished hat!

I also had a lot of sweater material left from this pair of sweater pants, so I made this hat. It was a birthday present for a lovely five year old friend of ours this past weekend.

I’m honored to have been featured here:

Photobucket

Here’s where I’ve linked up:

madskillsbutton2_thumb1_thumb1_thumb[1]Confessions of a Stay At Home Mommy

linkingpartybadge copy

Dittle DattlePhotobucketmmm buttonPhotobuckethomeworkHope StudiosI'm topsy turvy tuesdaysClothes Upcycling Projects

The Shabby NestSortaCrunchyNetshabby creek cottage

My apologies if I linked up to you but don’t have your button here. My computer crashed after I had linked up with quite a few parties but before I had updated the post, so the buttons I had grabbed were lost.

14 Comments

  1. Shiloh said,

    November 8, 2011 at 4:54 am

    That’s such a cute hat. I especially like the wonky stripes.:) assymetrical is always good in my book.:)

  2. ReStitch Me said,

    November 8, 2011 at 6:12 am

    Love, love, love the hat!!!!! What a great upcycle!

  3. Erin said,

    November 8, 2011 at 6:18 am

    What a cute hat, and I love that it’s recycled/upcycled. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Lindsay said,

    November 8, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    What an adorable little hat! Awesome way to re-use something!

  5. Lou said,

    November 9, 2011 at 1:10 am

    This is a wonderful cap- i love to up-cycle too. I bet your boy has fun wearing it!

    • November 9, 2011 at 6:54 am

      I wish… He vehemently opposes the wearing of all hats. I’ll be putting this one in the Etsy store as he has another mama-made hat that just gathers dust already.

  6. sue frazier said,

    November 10, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    great upcycling project! thanks for the post on my blog…i think chickens are so funny…we have 6 real ones and they make me laugh everyday! have a wonderful day!

  7. November 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    […] made it from a discarded sweater. A larger hat from this same sweater can be seen here. The tassel is made of strips of thin knit fabric, each strand knotted at the […]

  8. November 14, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Love this cute hat!! Thanks for sharing @’Sew Cute Tuesday’! I’ll be featuring you tomorrow, so be sure to stop by and grab a ‘featured’ button!

  9. Maysem said,

    November 14, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Wow! That’s a super cute hat!! I want to give that a try:D Just need to find a sweater I don’t need!

  10. November 14, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    You are so talented!

  11. January 1, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    […] sweaters that are soft can be cut and easily turned into hats. A homemade elfin hat is a great way to upcycle an ugly or stretched out […]


Leave a Reply

