Bookins

I love getting packages! Today’s package was from Bookins. If you have never heard of them it is an easy way to recycle your books and earn credit to receive new books.

When I was actively selling used books on Amazon.com I soon learned that if a book’s price dropped below $10 it ended up costing me more than I earned to sell it by the time Amazon took their cut, I had paid the postage amount above the shipping fee paid by the customer, packaged it and taken it to the post office. So when I had to delist books from my online store I needed to get rid of them another way.

Enter Bookins. You list each book on their site. If another user out there requests it, they pay a shipping fee to Bookins who notifies you and sends you a shipping label. Print the label, wrap up the book and leave it out for the postman  to pick up. You don’t even have to take it to the post office! I have sent off many a book to a happy new owner this way. For each book you share you receive a certain number of points depending on the title. You can redeem these points for books that you want from other people’s lists. When a match is made you will be charged $4 for shipping, but nothing for the book (except for points).

I find this works especially well if the books you request are best sellers. These are books that many people have bought and read, but don’t necessarily want to keep. Because there are so many being offered you don’t have to wait so long for your copy, and they don’t require many points.  Some of my favorite Bookins aquisitions are  Animal Vegetable Miracle, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Love & Logic books, and books from the Dr. Sear’s library.

Today Little Princes (One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal) arrived on my doorstep. I can’t wait to read it, but realistically, it may not be read for a while. My project list is SO long right now!

1 Comment

  1. randalin said,

    November 5, 2011 at 8:30 am

    I’m definitely going to check this site out. We sell our books on Amazon and when it’s old text books, we do end up making money, but when it’s fiction – we lose!


Leave a Reply

