Spanish Graffiti

When one hears the word “grafitti” images of ugly gang-land scrawl usually come to mind. A few years ago I had the opportunity to visit Spain with my husband. The graffiti I saw in Granada amazed me.

"Thank you spacemen"

Vibrant, playful or serious, simple or complex, these layered images decorated the steep, narrow alleys and streets.
They were quite helpful to us as visitors when it came time to retrace our steps back to the bus station after a long day’s wandering.
I took many pictures to use to make notecards which I sold for a while in a local coffee shop.
I’m making up some new cards now for my Etsy shop and I thought I’d share some of these delightful images here.
Enjoy!

"I am a free bird"

 

7 Comments

  1. November 1, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Great photos!

  2. ShannonSews said,

    November 3, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    Really cool cards! Very unique – I’ve never seen anything like it. Thanks for bringing a bit of the culture back with you to share with all of us!
    ~Shannon

  3. November 19, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    […] Spanish Graffiti (folkhaven.wordpress.com) […]

  4. February 28, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    nice portraits

  5. March 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    […] In September 2006 I had the privilege of accompanying my husband on a business trip to Ireland and Turkey. (After business was completed we stopped by Spain on the way home. Some photos from that part of the trip can be found here.) […]

  6. November 4, 2012 at 7:51 am

    I really like these cards, Karen. You’re giving me ideas for pix from El Salvador!!


Leave a Reply

