Baby Shoes!

There is a wonderful tutorial for making cloth baby shoes from Stardustshoes here that I followed to make shoes for Eli in the months before his birth. Let me tell you… So fun!  Of course, the days when the baby fits into those little shoes pass quickly.

I was recently provided with a new excuse to make a pair again.  I have a friend who has what must be the world’s largest 4 month old. It is hard to find clothing for him as already many 18 month sized clothing is too tight, yet at 4 months he doesn’t need the less comfortable, more rugged clothing toddlers require.

I used the pattern provided in the Stardustshoes tutorial but made it slightly bigger and used an additional 2″ of elastic in each shoe to accommodate Eduardo’s chubby feet. Every piece of fabric and the buttons are all upcycled from discarded clothing.

I figured I’d see if they fit, and if not, I’d see where I needed to make adjustments before making another pair. They fit perfectly… but just! It won’t be long before they are outgrown, especially if he has on a pair of socks as well.

I’m glad to have another excuse to make a new, slightly larger pair!

I just love sewing for adorable babies!

5 Comments

  1. October 23, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    Cute! I’ve used this pattern several times. The last pair I made was as slippers for my oldest when she was almost three. Just keep enlarging the pattern… it works!

    • October 23, 2011 at 10:14 pm

      Thanks! I’m actually now making slippers for my 19 month old who has really big feet. I’ve been trying to make a pattern by measuring his current shoes. I will try simplifying my life by just enlarging this as you suggest if these ones don’t work. I’ll also just enlarge it for Eduardo’s next pair. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Inder said,

    October 24, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    OMG. Those legs!!! You’re killing me!

  3. Baby Bouncer said,

    October 28, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Sewing baby shoes is fun and an exciting experience indeed. I have a nephew and I decided to buy him shoes. Picking the right shoes for babies is not that easy at all. I’ve done several thinking before purchasing it. I think sewing baby shoes is a better idea than buying one.

  4. July 3, 2012 at 5:58 am

    […] store donation. It worked great for this project though, and I get excited thinking about how many baby shoes I can get out of it as […]


Leave a Reply

