A Beginning to the End of Babywearing

Today was the tipping point when I finally realized that using a stroller will be easier than carrying Eli in the Ergo. I’ve been getting comments for months now about how he looks as big as I do, and am I STILL carrying him in that thing?

But the truth was that babies grow gradually and I was okay with his weight. I love babywearing. I like the closeness, the extra snuggle time that gets added into my day. I like how I know what he’s looking at and can respond when he notices something and points. I like that I can talk to him without stopping to walk and having to bend down. I like that I don’t have to take  up all the extra space that one needs when navigating  a stroller.

Baby in buggy, 1935

Image via Wikipedia

But though they grow gradually, grow they do, and Eli’s 30 pounds make traversing our hilly neighborhood quite a workout these days. Especially with the diaper bag backpack added as a counter balance. I was so excited when I researched the Ergo as it says it can be used to 40 lbs and is tested to 90 lbs. I thought I’d be able to carry Eli this way until he was 3 or 4, or as long as he was content to be carried. But one must also add the mother’s stature into the equation, and I’m no Uma Thurman.

I will still use the Ergo from time to time. When Eli doesn’t want to leave a place it can be impossible to strap him into a stroller, but he calms down and stops squawking as soon as the Ergo straps are buckled. When he is tired or needs to nurse the Ergo is so convenient. But when we are  going to be leaving for an extended walk, I think I’ll have to start reluctantly using the stroller.

Unless a back carry position can buy me more time…

Baby carrier

Image via Wikipedia

7 Comments

  1. jrsgifts said,

    May 26, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    I envy you being able to carry Eli for so long, I had to stop even trying after 6 months because my back and hip just couldn’t cope with the extra weight 😦

    • May 26, 2012 at 6:03 pm

      I’m so sorry you couldn’t continue. It turns out I wrote that post prematurely as here we are many months (and pounds!) later and still going about this way. We found out a few months after I wrote that post that he has sensory processing disorder and really needs the tightly held-in sensation that the Ergo provides him. It is getting a bit difficult for me now though, and there are times when I just have to say no.

      • jrsgifts said,

        May 27, 2012 at 1:33 pm

        Aw, no! It’s a shame when you have something like that happen and you have no control over it. If he’s too heavy, he’s too heavy but it doesn’t make it any easier

      • May 27, 2012 at 4:12 pm

        We still use it a lot, but the 2 hours at the zoo this past week did me in for a few days. I also can’t carry groceries in or trash out while carrying him like I used to, so those times he has to walk. I feel horrible when he follows along behind me crying “Ergo, Ergo!” but then again learning that you aren’t the center of the universe is a hard lesson that comes along at this age. I’m ready for him with a lap and a tight hug as soon as we get back inside. When we are out for an extended time though his father is starting to have to be the one to carry him more and more. I think we may need to start gently trying to wean him from the Ergo so it won’t be sudden and traumatic when he is finally so heavy that I get injured carrying him and have to stop cold-turkey. I think that day may be just ahead on the horizon. I’m going to talk to his occupational therapist about ideas for doing this and maybe a substitute activity to meet this need he has.

      • jrsgifts said,

        May 27, 2012 at 5:18 pm

        I limit Roarke to short distances if he asks for a hug when we’re out and explain why I can’t carry him any further. It took a while but we got there 🙂 i’m sure you will too 🙂

  2. korrale said,

    July 7, 2012 at 1:33 am

    I Loved baby wearing James. I wore him up until about 18 months. Then he just decided that walking everywhere was better.

    James also has SPD. He is hypo-sensitive. He has a little backpack, loaded with toy vehicles, that he wears as often as he can. He also loves his heavy boots and bicycle helmet.

    • July 7, 2012 at 3:05 pm

      More than half a year after writing that post and Eli still loves to be carried. I’ve had to stop taking it with us places as now his weight really is too much for me. I’ve been trying to wean him from it gradually but now need to just make the final jump. I wish I could just keep wearing it as long as he feels he needs me to, but at least we’ve had a good long run. His dad can still carry him in it, but he prefers to just be in arms with my husband anyway… I think because of the good vantage point up there!


Leave a Reply

